Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#1 Post by lenovot530 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:04 am

I have T530 (i7 with nVidia 5400M) with FHD screen. The mother board dead... friend has a T530 (also i7, CPU is slightly faster then mine, also has nVidia 5400m), but his screen is 1366x768. He is willing to sell to me for a dirty cheap price.
I am wondering if i can just swap the lcd lid assembly so that my FHD screen works on his T530, and his 1366x768 panel works on my T530?
If it works, I plan to replace the motherboard of my T530 so I can use it for some automated testing.

Thanks

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20400
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:32 am

Straight swap of the complete lids will work.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#3 Post by lenovot530 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm

Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:59 pm

lenovot530 wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 pm
Thanks! Sorry one more question, do they use the same LCD cable? I am thinking to swap the panel probably is easier then the complete lcd asemmbly. If they use the same 40 pin cables, then I probably will just swap the panel. So would that work?
I know at least with the T420/30 that they use different cables for the HD+ and HD screens so your best bet is just to do a lid swap.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

lenovot530
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:56 am
Location: toronto, on, canada

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#5 Post by lenovot530 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:02 am

Thanks! Asked the same question on lenovo forum, I was told by admin they use the same cable, I will give it a try!

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-T ... se#M133475

Thanks!

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Swap LCD assembly between two T530?

#6 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:22 pm

When I upgraded my T520 from its original HD to FHD the original cable was used and worked.
lenovo "Super" T420 i7 2670qm WQHD 16GB
lenovo T500 P9700 Radeon 3650 WUXGA 8GB
lenovo T601F T7500 NVS 140m SXGA+ 8GB

Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests