Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
vroomZOOM
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:01 pm
Location: Tottenham, Ontario CA

Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

#1 Post by vroomZOOM » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:12 pm

Hello

I have this super old t61 that everyone makes fun of running windows 10 x64 pretty well. I would like to put a better processor in it, so far it seems like a QX9300 has the same socket, but from what i have read I need middleton BIOS to make it work. I have a merom board with a T7700 currently. I also put the wifi card into it from a t60 b/c my old one burned out, but the new one doesnt seem to be working. The wifi card is recognized, but the wifi will not turn on worth a can of beans. I have a 1680x1050 display. Will the middleton bios make all this work? I am currently running an 850 evo ssd I found in my basement and put in after my old WD blew up. As far as I know the sata speed will go up with the new bios as well?

Thanks

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1108
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States

Re: Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

#2 Post by theterminator93 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Welcome to the forums. There is a lot of good info here with lots of detail specific to your questions. In a nutshell, however, T61 uses 800 MHz FSB Core 2s. All the Core 2 Quads are 1066 FSB and the fastest CPU that will work without modification is the X9000. However...

QX9300 can work on the T61, however it requires CPU/CPU socket modification, soldering jumper wires to the motherboard, cutting traces on the motherboard, flashing the BIOS with one from Highsun, and flashing the SPD of your memory. Thermal management will be a problem and two of the cores will always be running at the lowest frequency without third party software to handle SpeedStep. Read all about the 1066/Quad mod in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=110620

You can do the 1066 mod without doing the quad mod (avoid having to drill out/modify the CPU or socket and a little less soldering) and get T9900 support - the fastest dual core Core 2 - while maintaining reasonable (factory) TDP levels.

The Middleton (and highsun) BIOS will remove the wifi card whitelist, unlock SATA-II speed, enable Penryn support and update SLIC code to 2.1 (for OEM Windows 7 activation). There are a few other minor things it will do as well. It does not support the 1066 FSB CPUs.
T480 | T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T601F T9900·NVS 140m·LED AFFS UXGA
T420 IPS FHD | X220 IPS FHD | T61p·T61·43·42p|X220T·301·61T·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770E|760XD|760EL|365XD|701C|755C

vroomZOOM
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:01 pm
Location: Tottenham, Ontario CA

Re: Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

#3 Post by vroomZOOM » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:17 am

hmmm... cpu world said that the qx9300 was also a socket p 478 pin, just like my current one. I am planning on buying a new computer sooner or later so I might as well mod the hell out of this one, idk they have sleeper cars, make a sleeper computer! Is there any better parts in the t60 that I could pop into the t61 as well?

Thank you

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16810
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Tue Oct 01, 2019 5:44 pm

vroomZOOM wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:17 am
hmmm... cpu world said that the qx9300 was also a socket p 478 pin, just like my current one.
That's completely irrelevant for this particular discussion.
I am planning on buying a new computer sooner or later so I might as well mod the hell out of this one, idk they have sleeper cars, make a sleeper computer!
It all depends on your skillset and your budget.
Is there any better parts in the t60 that I could pop into the t61 as well?
Not really. You can use the keyboard, wireless card and RAM, but none of that qualifies as "better", just as compatible.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20979
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Is middleton BIOS compatible with my setup?

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:24 am

After installing Middleton's BIOS, I suggest you put in the Intel T9300 CPU, best bang for your buck.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes's I Am Pilgrim)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests