Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

R51 Intel SXGA+

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
ryer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:11 pm
Location: United Kingdom - Londinium

R51 Intel SXGA+

#1 Post by ryer » Tue May 15, 2012 2:19 pm

Hi there

I know that there are two polarising points of view here with some people saying it can, and others it can't. That is T43 15" SXGA+ screen to an Intel GPU 15" R51 unit.

I have an old T43 with 15" IPS SXGA+ screen, on its last legs and just about going to ThinkPad heaven after many years of good service. The screen however is still pristine.

I also have an ultra-clean 2GB RAM/120GB Disk R51 with 15" XGA screen and an Intel GPU. The XGA is not a nice screen, almost fuzzy dual-scan/DSTN like (remember those...) - I would love to replace it. It's bearable.. until you see the T43 screen.

Has anybody actually done this???? Can they confirm it?? Or is it a fact it *cannot* be done?

My screwdriver is ready :)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21542
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: R51 Intel SXGA+

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue May 15, 2012 2:54 pm

Welcome to the forum.
What you want to do is not possible: R51/Intel cannot drive an SXGA+ LCD.
However, what CAN be done, is put the T43 motherboard and LCD in your R51 machine, provided the T43 mobo is still good.
If your T43 mobo is shot, I have an R52/Intel mobo, that WILL drive your SXGA+ LCD in your R51 (or old T43).
You will need to transfer the CPU, RAM and PCMCIA cage from your T43 mobo onto this R52 mobo.
You can re-use the fan from the R51 on this R52 mobo.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

limbrooke
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:04 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: R51 Intel SXGA+

#3 Post by limbrooke » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:49 am

Slight hi-jack but I wondered if an XGA 1829 R51 could support an upgrade to the SXGA unit? The model I have should be the 15".

Image
Image

Current screen is 'ok' for an old TFT unit but seems a bit dated. Not a huge deal to upgrade as I barely use the R51 anymore but since I recently decided to go for a new CPU (M 745) I figured to check if a screen would be viable as well.

Saw this on ebay: https://tinyurl.com/s9mppop
Current: R51 1829-D7U 02/2017-...; T43 2668-CTO 07/2017-...; T60 2007-62U 07/2017-...; T61p 6458-CTO 08/2017-...; W530 2441-A75 09/2017-...;
T460s 20FA-S0YS05 01/2020-...
Gone but not forgotten:X250 20CL-S18S00 03/2019-07/2020; T30 2366-86U 2013-2017; 600D 2001-20??

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1725
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: R51 Intel SXGA+

#4 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:18 pm

limbrooke wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:49 am
Slight hi-jack but I wondered if an XGA 1829 R51 could support an upgrade to the SXGA unit? The model I have should be the 15".
Current screen is 'ok' for an old TFT unit but seems a bit dated. Not a huge deal to upgrade as I barely use the R51 anymore but since I recently decided to go for a new CPU (M 745) I figured to check if a screen would be viable as well.

Saw this on ebay: https://tinyurl.com/s9mppop
Well as said before, no you cannot without switching out the motherboard.
Also, I have bought from that seller before. While his screens are indeed brand new and working, they are NOT genuine IBM FRU parts, but rather compatibles. This means when I went out to buy an UXGA display listed for a T6x, I got an UXGA display that works just fine but is not IPS and the viewing angles are about the same as a typical ZXGA display. So this means you will also get a screen that is not IPS and to be honest if you are gonna replace the mobo to make this work, you might as well go the extra mile and get an IPS one.
And you probably wanna use the MTM function up above and search up the entire 7 character long model number and see if it is a 14.1" or 15".
Physically I find these R5x difficult to differentiate between the sizes compared to T4x units. Perhaps one other thing you can look for is the distance between the touchpad buttons to the front edge of your laptop. The 14.1" barely have any distance there (thus cracks very easily) while the 15" have about a thumb of distance there.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests