Is it possible 16GB of ram

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
alsohere
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:30 pm
Location: Toledo, OH

Is it possible 16GB of ram

#1 Post by alsohere » Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:23 pm

Is it possible to install 16GB of ram into a T400? I know that you can install 8GB in a t61, which is only supposed to take 4gb.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2914
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#2 Post by Neil » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:26 pm

Have you located some 8GB PC3-8500 modules?
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E

icantux
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Canada

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#3 Post by icantux » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:49 pm

Topic also covered here: --> http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=101624

Consensus was that the T400 won't take 16GB ram as the chipset won't allow for anything more than 8GB (which Lenovo states is already unachievable).

alsohere
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:30 pm
Location: Toledo, OH

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#4 Post by alsohere » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:11 pm

Neil wrote:Have you located some 8GB PC3-8500 modules?

16GB (8GB x 2) DDR3 PC3-10600 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR3-1333 1.35V

From KomputerBay??

The PC3 part is different, but the it is the same PC3 that crucial says is compatible. I read the other thread as well, even before I posted this.

jayton4
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Location: United States

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#5 Post by jayton4 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:44 pm

alsohere wrote:I read the other thread as well, even before I posted this.
The answer is still the same as the other thread. No way possible it will ever work no matter where it is bought from. If you have plenty of disposable income or are wealthy, then by all means, try it and report back your findings.

Also, Crucial does NOT say that it is compatible: http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... es&Cat=RAM
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi, Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB SSD w/ microSATA adapter
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB SSD, Crucial M550 512GB mSATA SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage

whizkid
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:40 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Contact:

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#6 Post by whizkid » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:10 am

A use on the Y Combinator forums claims to have 16GB in his T400. Anyone here tried it lately?

link: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=10039306 (search for T400 on the page)
Machine-Project: 750P, 600X, T42, T60, T400, X1 Carbon Touch

precip9
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Location: Dresher, PA

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#7 Post by precip9 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:19 am

I put the question to a small Silicon Valley memory fabricator who supplied 2X4GB DDR2 modules for the X61. Could they do 16GB DDR3 for the T400 ? Their answer was no, the chipset does not support it.
Last edited by precip9 on Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
W500x3 with T9900, , T400 highnit 1280x800 with P9600, X61sx3, X61Tx3.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15726
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania

Re: Is it possible 16GB of ram

#8 Post by ajkula66 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:24 am

whizkid wrote:A use on the Y Combinator forums claims to have 16GB in his T400. Anyone here tried it lately?
Unless the user in question has managed to swap in a quad-core CPU in their T400, they are unlikely to be telling the truth.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R61

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests