Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220 Blown Back light Fuse

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#1 Post by allann9 » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:04 pm

Hello, I recently bought some x220 tablets and I left the battery on while replacing the screen. I have read that it may be fuse F1, F2, F6. I have a voltmeter how can I check the fuses and how can I replace them? All the help I can get will be appreciated. Thanks

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#2 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:05 pm

You have to check F1 fuse which is under the LCD connector - just measure its resistance. Good fuse has zero resistance.
Here's F1 on X230 board. I have no boardview for X220, but these boards are very similar, so most probably this is how X220 board looks like as well.

Image

Once you find it, desolder it and put a new one. The whole job can be done using iron, without hot air station or hot tweezers. Before you replace the fuse, make sure backlight power rail is not shorted to ground. To do that, connect LCD cable to the motherboard and measure resistance between ground and both F1 pads. If any measurement is near zero - you have to fix a short before proceeding with fuse replacement.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#3 Post by allann9 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:31 am

Thanks, I still cant seem to find it and also were could I buy the fuse? Thanks again

http://i.imgur.com/RnBpic2.jpg

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#4 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:49 am

You're looking at the wrong side of the board. By 'under the LCD connector' I meant 'on the opposite side of the board, under the LCD connector'.
You can order it on Aliexpress.

Also, according to the picture you provided you have X220T, which has different motherboard layout. My picture shows layout of ordinary X230 model (which is similar to ordinary X220).
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20559
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Jul 04, 2016 12:19 pm

Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#6 Post by allann9 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:10 pm


allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#7 Post by allann9 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:14 pm

nitrocaster wrote:You're looking at the wrong side of the board. By 'under the LCD connector' I meant 'on the opposite side of the board, under the LCD connector'.
You can order it on Aliexpress.

Also, according to the picture you provided you have X220T, which has different motherboard layout. My picture shows layout of ordinary X230 model (which is similar to ordinary X220).
Thanks I found it and the only fuse that im getting 0 resistance is F2, does that mean I have to replace F6 and F1? Thanks

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#8 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:47 pm

What are the resistance measurements of F6 and F1?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#9 Post by allann9 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 4:40 pm

nitrocaster wrote:What are the resistance measurements of F6 and F1?
F6: .8 and F1: 0.L

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#10 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 05, 2016 4:08 am

allann9 wrote:F6: .8 and F1: 0.L
Which units? What's "0.L"?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#11 Post by allann9 » Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:59 am

nitrocaster wrote:
allann9 wrote:F6: .8 and F1: 0.L
Which units? What's "0.L"?
Its just .8 ohms and O.L means Open "Open Loop" . Thanks for you help

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#12 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:12 pm

Replace only F1. Don't forget to check for a short to ground.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

allann9
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Hyattsvile, Maryland

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#13 Post by allann9 » Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:40 pm

nitrocaster wrote:Replace only F1. Don't forget to check for a short to ground.
Thanks!! I will let you know what happens.

Egido
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:54 am
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#14 Post by Egido » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:00 pm

Hello. I´m having the same issue with a x230. Just the shipping cost for the fuse is 22€ to spain. I´m seeing the specs is 3v 32A. Would these be compatible? https://www.ebay.es/itm/5-Unidades-Fusi ... SwtAlbuIsW These are available in Spain right now.
Thank you

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20559
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: X220 Blown Back light Fuse

#15 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:09 am

Yes, they would be the correct ones.
Piggy-back solder the new fuse on top of the old one.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests