Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16285
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#31 Post by ajkula66 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:49 am

Muse wrote:
I suppose one could substantiate the 8GB actual usage by doing benchmarks using 4GB and 8GB in a T61 and comparing the results. Has anyone done that?
I don't know where you're going with this. In a 64-bit environment, *61-series (excluding "Z" units) can most certainly use 8GB of RAM. When Intel first announced this chipset, 2GB was the largest single DIMM produced and that's where the 4GB limit cited by both Intel and Lenovo comes from.

It's really *that* simple.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19383
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#32 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:39 am

Fact is also that T61 will always run at 667MHz FSB, even with DDR2-6400/800MHz modules.
The main reason for recommending/using DDR2-6400 modules is, that they run cooler than DDR2-5300 (and quite often they are also cheaper).

Some more info: http://www.zdnet.com/article/clearing-u ... confusion/

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#33 Post by Muse » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:48 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
I don't know where you're going with this. In a 64-bit environment, *61-series (excluding "Z" units) can most certainly use 8GB of RAM. When Intel first announced this chipset, 2GB was the largest single DIMM produced and that's where the 4GB limit cited by both Intel and Lenovo comes from.

It's really *that* simple.
Thanks for the clarification!
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#34 Post by Muse » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:49 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:Fact is also that T61 will always run at 667MHz FSB, even with DDR2-6400/800MHz modules.
The main reason for recommending/using DDR2-6400 modules is, that they run cooler than DDR2-5300 (and quite often they are also cheaper).

Some more info: http://www.zdnet.com/article/clearing-u ... confusion/
Thanks for this info. I had no idea concerning why PC2-6400 was suggested/recommended.
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#35 Post by Muse » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:22 pm

I just received my 2 4GB sticks of Elpida PC2-6400 and swapped out my 2GB sticks and now the machine reports 8GB. No surprise there. I think the thing to do is run memtest86 to make sure I don't get any errors. I suppose a single pass is sufficient.
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

excal32
Sophomore Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:55 am
Location: Banned

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#36 Post by excal32 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:13 pm

Good thing I decided to do the free Win10 upgrade on my T60, then?
The X61 remains running Windows 7 as Run10 rubs me the wrong way.... don't like Cortana waiting for me to talk to her.
1x R500 (P8600), R61e [T9300], X61 (T7300) - RIP T420 (replaced by HP Z420 workstation)

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#37 Post by Muse » Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:58 pm

excal32 wrote:Good thing I decided to do the free Win10 upgrade on my T60, then?
The X61 remains running Windows 7 as Run10 rubs me the wrong way.... don't like Cortana waiting for me to talk to her.
You can eliminate Cortana annoyances, etc.

How to reclaim your privacy in Windows 10, piece by piece:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2971725/ ... piece.html:
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

Sweater Fish Deluxe
Freshman Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Ukiah, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#38 Post by Sweater Fish Deluxe » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:51 pm

Muse wrote: I have had persistent 2-5 minute timeouts almost daily ever since... until I installed Windows 10 five days ago. Not one since then. There were days I must have had 1/2 dozen such timeouts... they were very aggravating. The computer would become completely unresponsive. Windows Event Viewer Windows log showed iastor() timeouts with the storage device, obviously the SSD.

It seemed I was the only person on the planet who had to say that moving from a HD to an SSD was a terrible experience, all things considered.

Running Intel SSD Toolbox's Optimizer (weekly, and then daily) seemed to slow down the frequency (I may be mistaken there), but it certainly didn't resolve the problem. I thought the SSD might have been bad, but I was uncertain and I let the 3 year warranty slide by. One person posted that if I tried to RMA the SSD, I'd have a very frustrating experience.
I'm glad the update to Windows 10 solved the problem for you, but just in case anyone else is suffering with this and doesn't want to install Win 10, the problem is caused by Device Initiated Power Management (DIPM), which can be turned off in the Intel SSD Toolbox. The program will complain that it's a recommended feature, but the slight increase in power consumption is more than made up for by not having these periodic freezes.

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#39 Post by Muse » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:52 am

Sweater Fish Deluxe wrote:
Muse wrote: I have had persistent 2-5 minute timeouts almost daily ever since... until I installed Windows 10 five days ago. Not one since then. There were days I must have had 1/2 dozen such timeouts... they were very aggravating. The computer would become completely unresponsive. Windows Event Viewer Windows log showed iastor() timeouts with the storage device, obviously the SSD.

It seemed I was the only person on the planet who had to say that moving from a HD to an SSD was a terrible experience, all things considered.

Running Intel SSD Toolbox's Optimizer (weekly, and then daily) seemed to slow down the frequency (I may be mistaken there), but it certainly didn't resolve the problem. I thought the SSD might have been bad, but I was uncertain and I let the 3 year warranty slide by. One person posted that if I tried to RMA the SSD, I'd have a very frustrating experience.
I'm glad the update to Windows 10 solved the problem for you, but just in case anyone else is suffering with this and doesn't want to install Win 10, the problem is caused by Device Initiated Power Management (DIPM), which can be turned off in the Intel SSD Toolbox. The program will complain that it's a recommended feature, but the slight increase in power consumption is more than made up for by not having these periodic freezes.
I never noticed the option to turn off DIPM in the Intel SSD Toolbox. Anyway, AFAIK I've had no freezes since installing Windows 10. Windows 10 hasn't been a big problem for me so far and it's solved a huge issue on that machine.
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

pechter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Holmdel, NJ

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#40 Post by pechter » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:41 pm

I've got 2 4's running in my T61... no problem. Fired right up.
Latest Lenovo bios, SSD, Win10 64 bit, Ubuntu 18.04.

The only problem was the annoying huge cost for the 4gb sticks compared to the 2's.
That's also why my T420's only got 8 on it. 16 is more than the price of the laptop.

I now have 4 T61's live -- 3 running Win10,Ubuntu 18.04.
1 running IPFire as the house firewall (laptop battery is built in battery backup).
Adding a PCCard gigabit ethernet worked well. Also they all run a cheap USB3 plug in card for backup speed improvements. Helpful when moving from the disk to ssd once I got all the windows playing to correctly
set up Win10 64 bit running.

Brad
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 1870
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Long Island New York

Re: Win7--->Win10 evidently solved a bad problem with T60

#41 Post by Brad » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:24 pm

Welcome to the forum!

This thread is nearly 2 years old.

Happy ThinkPadding...

Brad
Long Island New York
T43p 2669-Q1U, A22p's UTU A21p HXU
Transnote, 770's 8AU, 600, 701CS, 755CD

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pm23885 and 20 guests