Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.

Would you pay $54 for such kit for X220T/X230T?

Yes
92
90%
No
10
10%
 
Total votes: 102

Message
Author
life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#511 Post by life_on_marx » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:37 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:59 am
It pays to READ the Forum and especially this thread!
Read onward about SPB3/4 from here: viewtopic.php?p=790256#p790256
thanks mate, appreciated

life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#512 Post by life_on_marx » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:32 am

LP125WF2 SPB4 were out of stock at win0win's store, so I bought a LP125WF2 SPB3. Hopefully it's fine anyway.

BigT0ny
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:24 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#513 Post by BigT0ny » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:28 am

I took delivery of an SPB3, but I think it's been damaged during transit - there's weird marks under the surface of the screen, and the panel itself looks a little bit twisted... :oops:

Sadly I can't even test it as I don't have my FHD kit yet. :P
W520 + CF-W9 :help:

life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#514 Post by life_on_marx » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:09 am

BigT0ny wrote:
Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:28 am
I took delivery of an SPB3, but I think it's been damaged during transit - there's weird marks under the surface of the screen, and the panel itself looks a little bit twisted... :oops:

Sadly I can't even test it as I don't have my FHD kit yet. :P
where did you buy it ?

BigT0ny
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:24 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#515 Post by BigT0ny » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:18 am

life_on_marx wrote:
Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:09 am
BigT0ny wrote:
Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:28 am
I took delivery of an SPB3, but I think it's been damaged during transit - there's weird marks under the surface of the screen, and the panel itself looks a little bit twisted... :oops:

Sadly I can't even test it as I don't have my FHD kit yet. :P
where did you buy it ?
I bought it from a European ebay seller who I've bought from before, no problems with them so far.
W520 + CF-W9 :help:

boutch55555
Freshman Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#516 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:20 am

Sometimes it's just bad luck, last one I got looked like this :cry:

Thinkpad4by3
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 715
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#517 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:32 am

LCD screens are little cracked demons. Why do they deal with this do often???? It seems like every other panel is broken :(
The only acceptable use for a MacBook is to shop for a Thinkpad.

There's too many TouchPads. Too many MacBooks. Making too many problems. And not much nubs to go round. Can't you see this is the Land of Confusion.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#518 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:16 pm

Today I finished flashing and testing of the 2nd batch remainings. Next 22 paid orders will be shipped until the end of this week.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#519 Post by life_on_marx » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:33 am

http://www.ebay.it/itm/Compatible-Led-L ... 1277695358?

is this SPB4 suitable for the x220?
My only doubt is that I don't see the holes for the screws in the picture.
thanks

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17730
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#520 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:51 am

The SPB4 is one of the best (I have one).

But if you read seller's post:
You are looking at a Brand New (Original Equipment Manufacturer) replacement screen this is guaranteed to be fully compatible with the LCD part number or laptop model specified in the title of this listing.

Notebook manufacturers use different types of screens when assembling a single model of Laptop. As a result, more than one type of screen can be used by the same laptop model.

You will receive a screen manufactured by one of the big brands like LG Philips, Toshiba, Samsung, AUO, INNOLUX, CMO or CLAA if the exact part no. is not available in stock.
You better verify that you ONLY receive the exact LP125WF2-SPB4 screen with 3 mounting holes each on the left and right short sides, NOT a compatible one!

life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#521 Post by life_on_marx » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:55 am

will do thanks! unfortunately win0win ran out of those.

derchriseu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#522 Post by derchriseu » Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:49 pm

I added myself to the Pre-Order list, before you made the changes.
Have now re-added it, hope this is ok.
Looking forward to a confirmation.

miketl
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:15 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#523 Post by miketl » Sun Aug 13, 2017 9:46 pm

life_on_marx wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:55 am
will do thanks! unfortunately win0win ran out of those.
I ordered an SPB4 from notebookaid here. Hopefully it will arrive safely and be in good shape.
ThinkPad X61s // 7668-CTO // ThinkPad X230

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17730
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#524 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:05 am

We can't warn against that often enough!
When it says in the title or description: for xyz, or compatible one, all your hair should stand up!
Because I'm afraid that's what you'll get.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#525 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:13 am

It's OK if you confirm the exact model with the seller.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

life_on_marx
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:03 am
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#526 Post by life_on_marx » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:49 am

miketl wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 9:46 pm
life_on_marx wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:55 am
will do thanks! unfortunately win0win ran out of those.
I ordered an SPB4 from notebookaid here. Hopefully it will arrive safely and be in good shape.
Ehi thanks, I've contacted the seller. Let's see how it goes.
finding a LG LP125WF2-SPB4 is proving to be more complicated than I thought!
I also contacted other UK sellers but most of them sell compatible models such as the Samsung LTN125HL02-301.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#527 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:18 am

LTN125HL02-301 is probably fine too.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

miketl
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:15 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#528 Post by miketl » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:29 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:13 am
It's OK if you confirm the exact model with the seller.
Yes, the seller confirmed they had both SPB3 and SPB4 in stock, and just to let them know which one I need. We'll have to see if they get it right.
ThinkPad X61s // 7668-CTO // ThinkPad X230

post_break
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:24 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#529 Post by post_break » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:45 am

When I submitted there wasn't a deposit, do I need to resubmit and put a deposit down?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#530 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:55 am

It works just as before in that regard. The difference is that now I will be taking partial payments before I have tested kits.
I'm checking the BOM with suppliers and will start accepting deposits once they confirm that every critical part is in stock.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

derchriseu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#531 Post by derchriseu » Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:35 am

Can you give an estimate how many people are on the pre-order list?
As I said I had put myself up before the deposit change, and have now re-added it

megavolts
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: Fairbanks, AK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#532 Post by megavolts » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi All,
I was wondering if anybody know which kind of paste Louis is using in his video at 14:42 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBvfJ0EHtcY&t=886s ?
@Nitro, I just got my mod and I am looking forward to install it.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#533 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:36 pm

That's flux. Amtech NC-559-TF.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests