Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200/X201/X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300/X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8512
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1261 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:27 pm

cookbl, your images are too wide and stretch the forum even on FHD resolution, so I removed the img tags. Imgur has a way to generate thumbnails of a variety of sizes for every link; feel free to use it.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

yongmh
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:53 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1262 Post by yongmh » Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:55 am

hi
any buyer or member here coming from malaysia? i need help on this MOD... thanks

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7414
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1263 Post by BillMorrow » Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:15 pm

yongmh wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:55 am
hi
any buyer or member here coming from malaysia? i need help on this MOD... thanks
hello and welcome to the forum..
"here".. where exactly IS "here"..?????
your IP shows singapore and you entered someplace else as your location.. i changed the location to match your IP location..
you are asking for a more experienced thinkpad owner to meet up with you to give you hands on help..
so where are you located.. ? :)
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

yongmh
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:53 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1264 Post by yongmh » Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:10 pm

My x220 in Malaysia with my brother. We have upgraded it quite a lot and reluctant to change to newer model. To us this is a legendary model. Lolz...

Well, we are totally newbie when comes to any mod required on the motherboard or something need soldering. We are seeking whether any members here are from Malaysia able to help us out on this mod.

Mrtn
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1265 Post by Mrtn » Fri May 01, 2020 11:38 am

Hi all,

I still have troubles with building the patched FHD coreboot for my X220. I managed to build the non-patched one, and flashed it successfully, but I would like the FHD patch of course... :)

I tried multiple times on different versions of Linux. This is on a Ubuntu 14 VM, running with gcc 7.5.0.

I get stuck on the make process:

Code: Select all

In file included from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2crypto.h:11,
                 from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2api.h:23,
                 from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/vb2_api.h:18,
                 from src/commonlib/include/commonlib/cbfs.h:21,
                 from src/commonlib/cbfs.c:17:
3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2sysincludes.h:16:10: fatal error: ctype.h: No such file or directory
 #include <ctype.h>
          ^~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
Makefile:355: recipe for target 'build/bootblock/commonlib/cbfs.o' failed
make: *** [build/bootblock/commonlib/cbfs.o] Error 1
Could somebody help me please?

tabasku
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 4:20 am
Location: Haarlem, NL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1266 Post by tabasku » Sat May 09, 2020 4:33 am

Hi all and big thanks for nitrocaster!

This might be stupid question but is it safe to start x220 without attaching internal display cable to motherboard/mod first? I'm asking this because I would like to test my soldering after installing mod just to see does laptop even boot. If its fried I can just skip ordering screen :)

Update 31.5
I finally received my screen (LP125WF4-SPB1) from win0win and installed it. First I only had screen power on and backlight controls but after resoldering pins and reseating cables I got picture! Now I'm typing this with my FHD modded X220 which just got 5 years of more lifetime (at least) :D
I will look at reflashing my coreboot with dadukes version to get rid of ghost screen, but for now I just enjoy these glorious amount of pixels!

tabasku
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 4:20 am
Location: Haarlem, NL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1267 Post by tabasku » Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:12 pm

Mrtn wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 11:38 am
Hi all,

I still have troubles with building the patched FHD coreboot for my X220. I managed to build the non-patched one, and flashed it successfully, but I would like the FHD patch of course... :)

I tried multiple times on different versions of Linux. This is on a Ubuntu 14 VM, running with gcc 7.5.0.

I get stuck on the make process:

Code: Select all

In file included from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2crypto.h:11,
                 from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2api.h:23,
                 from 3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/vb2_api.h:18,
                 from src/commonlib/include/commonlib/cbfs.h:21,
                 from src/commonlib/cbfs.c:17:
3rdparty/vboot/firmware/include/../2lib/include/2sysincludes.h:16:10: fatal error: ctype.h: No such file or directory
 #include <ctype.h>
          ^~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
Makefile:355: recipe for target 'build/bootblock/commonlib/cbfs.o' failed
make: *** [build/bootblock/commonlib/cbfs.o] Error 1
Could somebody help me please?
You probably had this already sorted out but Ill write it up if someone else is stuck:
I also had problems when compiling dadukes fork. I decided to re-apply FHD patch without VCC3P power mod to recent coreboot master fork and it works for me. I had to enable "Hardware init during option ROM execution" option under payload so I see POST screen on boot (otherwise screen turns on only on OS start).
So here is yet another fork, x220_fhd branch https://github.com/tabasku/coreboot/tree/x220_fhd. See commit 230b475 if you want to apply only changes I made.

Thanks for daduke for this patch!

dedero
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 6:20 am
Location: Starnberg, Baviera DE

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1268 Post by dedero » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:48 am

Hello all,

New here in a near future upgrade to FHD of my X230, do you guys have any experience with BOE NV125FHM-N62 in rev.6?, I've seen that some guys had some problems with it and it's getting tricky to buy LG LP125WF4-SPB1 and LG LP125WF4-SPB4 nowadays...

And hint before buying BOE NV125FHM-N62 will be appreciated!

Cheers,
Bruno

dthompson
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 1:52 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1269 Post by dthompson » Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:11 pm

Hey everyone,

I've had my ups and down with the nitrocaster FHD installation, and now I'm stuck. I've been able to see the screen working a number of times. First with the power cable soldered onto the motherboard as in the instruction manual, then by shorting J1-F1 after flashing coreboot with daduke's patch. However, I've had trouble with the PTH connections staying put. I've resoldered the board a number of times due to connections breaking due to the stress of removing the eDP or LVDS cables. After some fiddling I felt like I finally had everything well secured, did a final test boot, confirmed the screen the still worked throughout the entire boot process (SeaBIOS -> grub -> Linux), and began reassembling. Once I had the keyboard bezel snapped back in, I thought it would be a good time to test again and... nothing. The screen doesn't even power on anymore. I checked a few things: Plugging the original screen back into the LVDS port works, multimeter continuity test passes on the F1 fuse on the nitrocaster board, continuity test passes on the F1-J1 solder bridge, continuity test passes on the sense wire. Other replies in this thread mention fuses on the motherboard blowing if cables were disconnected while the battery was in. I don't remember the exact order of operations I took the last time I disconnected everything so it's possible that is where I made my big mistake. I haven't been able to find anything showing me where the fuses are located and I'm reluctant to rip off all the black protective layer searching for them. Is it possible for it to be a blown fuse on the motherboard if the original screen still works? Any other ideas for things to check? It was really rewarding to see the FHD screen work for the short while that it did. Definitely learned a lot in the process and would really like to fix this (hopefully) final issue.

fiesh
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:07 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1270 Post by fiesh » Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:10 pm

Alas I'm also having my struggles with soldering. Coreboot and everything working like a charm. Can somebody please confirm to me that bridging J1 means soldering these two contacts next to 3A / 32V on the left of the nitrocaster board together?

fiesh
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:07 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1271 Post by fiesh » Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:38 am

I have this weird phenomenon. Everything used to work (with hard-wired 3.3V power supply, bridging what I believe to be the J1 jumper and patching coreboot with the additional "power on"-patch didn't work). Then under X, the screen was dimmed due to inactivity. Now it *stays* dimmed, but only once X11 is started. I power up the laptop, the display works normally. Then the crypttab password prompt appears, also works normally. Then X11 is turned on, and the backlight is turned off entirely.

After leaving the laptop turned off and without power for a while, it went back to normal operation, although initially the X display was still a bit dimmed and then reset to full brightness.

Is there something I could have done incorrectly to cause this?

Thanks!

Edit: I guess something is loose since the backlight just starting turning off and on several times before resuming normal operation. Is this the sense wire? Or some contact?

2nd edit: OK, I found a good way to resolve my problems after more fiddly on/off issues: I through away the laptop and will pre-order a Purism Librem 13. Never again soldering on a mainboard.

Phils3r
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:16 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1272 Post by Phils3r » Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:28 am

I just wanted to install the mod and I'm currently in a situation where I don't know where to continue. I used a rev6 one.

I did a decent job soldering everything, but I get a black screen when connecting the display.
What could be the issue?
The power auxiliary cable looks good and the sense wire too.
If the sense wire doesn't work I will still get a picture when booting into linux and the X Server starts?

The LVDS display still works as expected (haven't tested brigthtness control).

I'm not sure if all 7 solder joints from the holes are soldered properly. Some of them indeed are, because I cannot move the nitrocaster board anymore.

One thing that doesn't get out of my mind. In this howto on figure 15 the solder point of the auxiliary power wire is on the bottom left. In figure 28 the wire is soldered into the middle of the bottom part of the adapter.
https://nitrocaster.me/files/x220.x230_ ... 5_v0.2.pdf


What guys do you recommend. I have a multimeter and minimal electronic knowledge. What can I test if I soldered everything correctly

kimsin
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1273 Post by kimsin » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:32 am

I am in a similar situation right now. After unsuccessfully trying to solder the mod to the motherboard, I got frustrated and forgot to remove the battery while fiddling with the original screen. As a result of this, I believe I blew the fuse or fuses for backlight display. I’ve tested with VGA connection and external monitor and everything works fine, confirming my theory that backlight fuse is blown.

Next step I guess is to find where is located the fuse and test for continuity. Based on my research, some people say its F17 and F18, but they are 10A and according to one forum member it should be F3 or/and F4 as they are 0.5A and 1.0A.

Not to mention that my fried tried to remove the bridge solder with a knife and as a result it removed the capacitor where the mods small sense wire was connected.

I don’t know if I should just get a new motherboard (working condition for £50) or for parts and not working for £25 and use it as a donor. Another possibility might be to just find and order the capacitors online which I have no idea from where.

Phils3r
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:16 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1274 Post by Phils3r » Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:16 pm

Hi all,

jfyi about the soldering job and testing all the connections. Except the sense wire you can test all soldering joints you made with a multimeter easily.
A second person for helping is recommended. Set your multimeter for testing ohm to check the connection. Use one multimeter cable on the solder joint of the nitrocaster board and the second on the back side of the case inside the docking connector. Test for all 7 solder points if they connecting with the docking port.

To test the power wire just set your multimeter to check for DC Voltage. Power on your device and then put the red multimeter onto the point you soldered onto the nitrocaster board and the second one on a cable connectors ground to close the electronic circuit. It should output a clean 3.3 volt. So you can check if your soldering was correct.

I got mine working finally. My issue is quite embarassing. I just didn't plugged the eDP cable 100% into the monitor. So I resoldered all solder joints just to find out everything had to functional from the start.

@kimsin. Please don't use a knife. I bridged the fuses many times but with flux and the correct soldering tip they can be easily removed.
But I wish you all the luck I have. Unfortunately I'm just a electronics layman so I can't help you either with this issue.

/e: please forgive my poor english electronic expressions

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/X201/X220 and X300/X301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests