Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1111 Post by boutch55555 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 6:02 am

henry5 wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:37 am

here is this board but I dont have any instructions how to build this in.

You can use superbuy to order stuff from taobao. It is fairly easy.
AFAIK you won't be able to get it alone, KK only do installs, doesn't sell DIY kits. This one you can get as a kit. Install is similar to nitro's board, solder sense, pass it through, solder the rest. Worth noting that this board uses USB for backlight control instead of mirroring. There is an app for windows on 51nb (pm me for a google drive link) and I made this crude wrapper for linux. +1 for superbuy.

carcuevas
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:53 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1112 Post by carcuevas » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:33 pm

Guys,

if there is anybody interested I am going to sell my second Nitrocaster's board (not used) + LG LP125WF2-SPB4 (not used from WIN0WIN); SOLDI meant to buy it for my sister's x230 but when she saw my FHD MOD in my X230 she told me that the screen was so small for that resolution :roll: :oops: :oops: ... so if any of you is interested in the combo, please send me some PM ...

BTW I am from Europe.

Thanks guys
Last edited by carcuevas on Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Running Debian on x230 (i5-3320m-12GB-250GB Samsung 850EVO-FHD mod by Nitrocaster + LP125WF2SPB4)

5had0w5talk3r
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:34 am
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1113 Post by 5had0w5talk3r » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:24 am

Long time lurker, first time poster.
Greetings fellow X-series users! :)

I traded a couple of emails with Pavel (nitrocaster) a couple of months ago. It seems he's trying to set up an Amazon store, but is having a hard time with things so he's not been following through with Google Forms orders. He said he'll updated the OP as soon as there's any update on that.

carcuevas wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:33 pm
Guys,

if there is anybody interested I am going to sell my second Nitrocaster's board (not used) + LG LP125WF2-SPB4 (not used from WIN0WIN); I meant to buy it for my sister's x230 but when she saw my FHD MOD in my X230 she told me that the screen was so small for that resolution :roll: :oops: :oops: ... so if any of you is interested in the combo, please send me some PM ...

BTW I am from Europe.

Thanks guys
Sent you a PM.

gts250gamer101
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 8:02 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1114 Post by gts250gamer101 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:49 pm

Hey,

I've been lurking here for quite a while debating whether or not this is worth it for me. I will be rebuilding my X230 almost entirely next summer, with 16GB RAM, an i7 motherboard, new battery, keyboard, chassis, etc. too. So, during that upgrade, I was hoping to bite the bullet and run the Nitrocaster FHD mod on it, since I will have it all opened up and everything.

My question to everyone is, what display are you all using? I would really appreciate a recommendation, I don't have too much cash to spend, as the other replacements and upgrades are extremely expensive for me as a student.

Thanks!!

CrazyTPFan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:55 pm
Location: Winthrop, Massachusetts

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1115 Post by CrazyTPFan » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:35 pm

gts250gamer101 wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:49 pm
Hey,

I've been lurking here for quite a while debating whether or not this is worth it for me. I will be rebuilding my X230 almost entirely next summer, with 16GB RAM, an i7 motherboard, new battery, keyboard, chassis, etc. too. So, during that upgrade, I was hoping to bite the bullet and run the Nitrocaster FHD mod on it, since I will have it all opened up and everything.

My question to everyone is, what display are you all using? I would really appreciate a recommendation, I don't have too much cash to spend, as the other replacements and upgrades are extremely expensive for me as a student.

Thanks!!
Nice to see that your on this forum!
ThinkPad T440p|i5-4300M|16GB Ram|HD 4600|1600x900 HD+ Display|Intel AC 7260 Wireless|Non-Backlit Keyboard|SmartCard|Zheino 256GB M.2 SSD|Kubuntu 18.04|9-Cell Battery

Collection: R400, R52, R31

mixtour
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:54 am
Location: Germany, Munich

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1116 Post by mixtour » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:59 am

Hi there,

i bought a x220 with a non-succesful try of the fhd-mod ....

i figured out, he remove the wrong resistor on the board. checked the board, an was the R459 (placed in the "hole" of nitrocasters pcb).
i checked the circuit-plan of the x220, but there is no information about the value of R459

know anybody, where i can find these type of information?

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1117 Post by boutch55555 » Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:09 am

Labeled 0R2J-2, should be a 0402 size, 0 ohm resistor. You could replace it with a wire, but it shouldn't be too hard to find a replacement if you have an old dead laptop motherboard around.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19702
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1118 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:04 am

But you'd almost need a microscope to replace that sucker!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

mixtour
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:54 am
Location: Germany, Munich

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1119 Post by mixtour » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:18 am

boutch55555 wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:09 am
Labeled 0R2J-2, should be a 0402 size, 0 ohm resistor. You could replace it with a wire, but it shouldn't be too hard to find a replacement if you have an old dead laptop motherboard around.
Thanks!
so i think, i will place a wire as "short" :mrgreen:



RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:04 am
But you'd almost need a microscope to replace that sucker!
i have a lot of solder-experience, worked 4 years in the electronic-development - size 0402 i solder just sometimes with glasses..... :eek:
maybe this time, because ist hidden in the second pcb (nitrocaster mod-pcb)



thanks guys for your help

schhlomoslab
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:28 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1120 Post by schhlomoslab » Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:55 pm

Hello friends,

Is there anyone in North America who could do the panel swap and soldering of the board for me? I have the x230 and the board from Nitrocaster as well as a display panel.

If so please send me a PM with the price and where you are located. I really appreciate it!

Thank you,

_S

Mrtn
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1121 Post by Mrtn » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:36 am

What's the current status of a patched Coreboot on the X220? On the X230 I read some success stories, but nothing about the X220?
Would like to struggle less when connecting another screen :)

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1122 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:40 am

A long promised store is here: nitrocaster.me/store. Hopefully this will make both buying for you and shipping for me easier!
Please note that there may be delays with shipping because I'll be using a completely different process - but eventually it will get fast and smooth.

A few tips:
  • Create an account to track status and history of your orders
  • For Russian buyers: PayPal не разрешает валютные переводы между резидентами РФ, поэтому переключайте валюту в рубли!
Let me know (here or by email) if you have any problem placing the order and paying for it.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

ac427
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:29 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1123 Post by ac427 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:01 pm

I looked on Win0win for a BOE NV125FHM-N62 but their eBay ad says they may ship a LP125WF4 SPB1 instead!

Is the LP125WF4 SPB1 compatible?

Also, are there any screen with a colour gamut higher than 50% ?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1124 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:42 am

LP125WF2-SPB1 is not compatible. You have to ask the seller for the exact model. That's how it works.
To my knowledge, screens with >50% color gamut are not available.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

dwhacks
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:57 am
Location: Grand Forks, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1125 Post by dwhacks » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:29 pm

ac427 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:01 pm
I looked on Win0win for a BOE NV125FHM-N62 but their eBay ad says they may ship a LP125WF4 SPB1 instead!

Is the LP125WF4 SPB1 compatible?

Also, are there any screen with a colour gamut higher than 50% ?
I wouldnt get the BOE model anyway! read back a page. Theres another user and myself that have problems with the screen not always coming on. Mine doesn't come on when I boot up my x220, so I have to log in when I hear the sound and then Fn-F4 to put it to sleep and then wake it up and the screen comes on. If my screen turns off to save power or whatever I have the same problem. No one has commented with any ideas so I would say, steer clear of BOE.

thrilleratplay
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:03 am
Location: Albany, NY, USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1126 Post by thrilleratplay » Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:51 am

Mrtn wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:36 am
What's the current status of a patched Coreboot on the X220? On the X230 I read some success stories, but nothing about the X220?
Would like to struggle less when connecting another screen :)
Currently, only the X230 FHD patch is being developed https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950

If you read through the comments, a lot of the delay has to do with finding different people to test it. Given how close the x220 and x230 are, after the all of the quirks with the x230 FHD have been worked out, I would reach out to Angel Pons and ask for the same changes to be made to the x220 if you are willing to test it.

thrilleratplay
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:03 am
Location: Albany, NY, USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1127 Post by thrilleratplay » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:11 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:40 am
A long promised store is here: nitrocaster.me/store. Hopefully this will make both buying for you and shipping for me easier!
Please note that there may be delays with shipping because I'll be using a completely different process - but eventually it will get fast and smooth.
Nice. I see there is a rev 6 but can't find what is new about it. You may also want to bump the rev version in the instruction manual.

ac427
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:29 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1128 Post by ac427 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:55 pm

dwhacks wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:29 pm
ac427 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:01 pm
I looked on Win0win for a BOE NV125FHM-N62 but their eBay ad says they may ship a LP125WF4 SPB1 instead!

Is the LP125WF4 SPB1 compatible?

Also, are there any screen with a colour gamut higher than 50% ?
I wouldnt get the BOE model anyway! read back a page. Theres another user and myself that have problems with the screen not always coming on. Mine doesn't come on when I boot up my x220, so I have to log in when I hear the sound and then Fn-F4 to put it to sleep and then wake it up and the screen comes on. If my screen turns off to save power or whatever I have the same problem. No one has commented with any ideas so I would say, steer clear of BOE.
Will do. I was only going by the contrast ratio value in the specs. The BOE has 800:1 contrast where as the LG screens have 600:1
http://www.panelook.com/NV125FHM-N62_BO ... 29324.html
http://www.panelook.com/LP125WF2-SPB4_L ... 24654.html

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1129 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:07 pm

The kit is in stock again. More will be available by the end of February, after I get new eDP cables.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests