Cloning and Imaging T60P

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#31 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:53 am

That FRU is the correct one for the Lenovo part.

How large ot a drive can I put in an Ultrabay? Before I upgrade to Win 7, my OS is Vista. Is there any restriction to the size of mobile drive I use?

If I were to clone to the Ultrabay drive, does the T60P and the OS know to boot from the original drive, or is there the possibility of a conflict between the two drives?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6625
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#32 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:56 am

I would not suggest booting with both drives connected after the clone. Vista/7 are supposed to be smarter than XP, but strange issues due to drive letter assignments can happen (look for my linked post earlier in this thread).
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#33 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:16 pm

What about making images, or bootable images on the Ultrabay drive? Can the Ultrabay drive stay connected in such a scenario?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6625
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#34 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:35 pm

I think so.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#35 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:38 pm

Any idea on how large a capacity drive can be used?

Shredder11
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:25 pm
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, England

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#36 Post by Shredder11 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:00 pm

I've only used the original HDD drives in the Ultrabay, as I have usually been replacing them with an SSD. So most of those were not that big, e.g. as little as 160GB but I am pretty sure I have read of other people using 500GB and maybe more.
Z61p x3 (C2D T7600, 3GB, 500GB SSD, BCM70015, Advanced Dock x1, Mini Dock x2)
X61 (C2D T7500, 3GB, 250GB SSD, BCM70015)
X61s (2GB, 120GB SSD)
X60s (CD L2400, 3GB, 160GB)
T43p (P M 760, 2GB, IBM Port Replicator II)
G40 x2 (P4 2.8GHz, 2GB, 60GB)
G41 (P4 3.46GHz, 2GB, 40GB)

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1431
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#37 Post by Cigarguy » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:03 pm

I've got a 1 TB Hitachi in mine. I'm sure it will accommodate 2 TB if and when they make 2 TB 2.5" HDD easily available.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#38 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:30 pm

There's this:

https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Drives-2 ... B00MBLX332

I've never been a fan of Seagate, and it's only 5400 RPM, but it is 2 TB. Has anyone tried it?

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17381
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#39 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:58 pm

I have a very similar one in my desktop: Lenovo 4XB0F18667, which is a 3.5" 2TB 7200rpm 6Gbps drive.
The Lenovo drive turned out to be a Seagate ST2000DM001-1ER164, I got it brand new last October for a song ($51.80).
I run Seatools for Windows every week, so far no problems.
But if I had known that the Lenovo drive was a Seagate, I wouldn't have bought it.
Anyway, it gets backed up regularly on an external Samsung HD.

Bought that Lenovo drive after my TWO Toshiba E300 1TB 5700rpm desktop drives both failed on the same day after only 3-1/2 months!
Toshiba refunded me fully for those failed drives, but I'll never buy Toshiba again!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#40 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:45 pm

My current drive is a Western Digital Scorpio Black 500 GB, which I like very much. Now the line is simply called Black, and goes up to 1 TB in the form factor the T60P can use. I wish they made a 2TB or larger. I also had good luck with Hitachi, which is now owned by WD, althought the Hitachi original brand supposedly lives on in a subsidiary HGST.

I bought and returned a 4TB WD My Passport, thinking it would be good for storing multiple images from this and another laptop. Amazon sent it in a ridiculously thin bubblewrap envelope, in contrast to WD's apparent policy of double boxing with 2 inches of bubblewrap. I bought an Anker powered USB hub to power the drive.

Now I'm torn between an Ultrabay Drive for images or cloning, the My Passport for imaging, or a separate USB enclosure for swapping and cloning, external to internal.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#41 Post by taichi » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:13 am

Still wondering if an UltraBay mounted hard drive overcomes the "potential" problem encountered in cloning to an external drive. Also, as I broached before, is the UltraBay mounted drive ever looked at by the OS as a boot drive (or a C Drive), or does the OS always default to the primary internal as boot drive?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6625
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#42 Post by dr_st » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:25 am

taichi wrote:Still wondering if an UltraBay mounted hard drive overcomes the "potential" problem encountered in cloning to an external drive.
Not knowing what the "problem" is, it is hard to answer that. To the best of my knowledge, there was never a definitive root cause and explanation, just a bunch of folks for whom it didn't work.
taichi wrote:Also, as I broached before, is the UltraBay mounted drive ever looked at by the OS as a boot drive (or a C Drive), or does the OS always default to the primary internal as boot drive?
The BIOS determines which drive to boot from. Once booting, "boot" drive and "C" drive need not be the same thing. The letter assignment process by an OS can get somewhat complicated and not always easy to predict.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#43 Post by taichi » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:44 am

I first encountered the problem when I tried to use the Apricorn Hard Drive Upgrade cloning...always successful with my A21P...with the T60P. the failure led me back to Apricorn, who told me that the drives must be swapped, to clone into the newer laptop. Then I read that this was a peculiaroty with later Thinkpads, and may have been designed in for security in Enterprise environments.

Since then I have read about the "problem" in many places, but I realize that some programs seem to overcome the hurdle. And I read of some who were able to clone, with seemin success, but were unable to boot from the clone, or encountered other problems. And of course there are others for whom this wasn't true.

I know that you can go into the BIOS to change boot options, but I was basically talking about defaults. But you're right about the trickiness of drive letter assignments.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ac12, fatpolomanjr and 11 guests