Got a nice IPS x220t from ebay, realize I have Computrace woes now

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
devconk
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:28 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Got a nice IPS x220t from ebay, realize I have Computrace woes now

#31 Post by devconk » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:15 pm

Digitalhorizons wrote:The entire laptop won't even turn on, or did the SSD just die? The one that came with mine didn't even have anny name or numbers on the casing.
The SSD died about 10 minutes after I first turned on the computer. Complete drive failure. I tried to boot from USB, and couldn't do that. That's when I just decided to return it.

Digitalhorizons
Freshman Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA

Re: Got a nice IPS x220t from ebay, realize I have Computrace woes now

#32 Post by Digitalhorizons » Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:14 am

I wonder what prevented booting from USB, I know the bios UEFI settings are a pain if you've never navigated them before, let us know what your next thinkpad find is. Hopefully you'll have better luck.

Digitalhorizons
Freshman Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA

Re: Got a nice IPS x220t from ebay, realize I have Computrace woes now

#33 Post by Digitalhorizons » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:30 am

devconk wrote:
Digitalhorizons wrote:The entire laptop won't even turn on, or did the SSD just die? The one that came with mine didn't even have anny name or numbers on the casing.
The SSD died about 10 minutes after I first turned on the computer. Complete drive failure. I tried to boot from USB, and couldn't do that. That's when I just decided to return it.
OH, there was somethign important you should do, but it's up to you, you should tell ebay he's knowingly selling computrace activated laptops and only weasewording his way out of it by not looking in the bios to see if it's activated before sending it to you, that's why he said he wouldn't "knowingly" send me a computer with computrace on it, and then he doesn't warn newer buyers like you that it's on there, and neglects to check if it's activated, it's unethical and underhanded. And I'm sure everyone here would agree.

apojoga
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:33 am

Re: Got a nice IPS x220t from ebay, realize I have Computrace woes now

#34 Post by apojoga » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:45 pm

Did Absolute ever remove computrace from your machine? I had a ghastly experience calling them about an X230, eventually they yelled at me to stop calling because they had "done all they could". The original owner (some big company in the US) does not give a d*mn.
X220 i7-2640M | FHD IPS 12.5" | 16GB @ 1866 | 256GB mSATA | 2TB 5400 HDD

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests