Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
longlake
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Saint - Petersburg, RUS

Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#1 Post by longlake » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:03 am

Hello, people. I don't want to start a new topic, so sorry for some offtopic. I have a T410s now, and I'm pretty happy with it, but I'm looking for some upgrade in a future. I love 14" screen size and the light weight of my T410s, so I think the upgrade will be to T4x0s. I don't like T430s keyboard, so is T420s the only candidate?
I have some questions to the owners of T420s, you can help me understand, does it makes any sense an upgrade from T410s to T420s.
1. Is the T420s CPU soldered to MoBo just like my T410s i5-560M? There are i5 and i7 T420s options, so can I buy T420s with core i5 and then replace the CPU?
2. What's the max amount of RAM on the 420? I have 8GB on my 410 and that's all. Could I put 16GB in 420?
3. What's size of internal SSD/HDD? My 410 has 1.8" 128G SSD, and that's ok, but if 420 have 2.5" one - that will be cool.
4. Que about Video. There are Intel HD 3000 AND NVS4200M, or Intel HD OR NVS4200M?
I have a NVS3100M, and it's not pretty good...
Thanks.
Thinkpad T410s (i5-560M, 8Gig, SSD 128Gig, NVS3100m). +500Gig HDD in UltraBay(c) slot.

English is not my native language. I apologize for some mistakes in my posts...

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Upgrade T420s wifi

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:29 am

You should have created a new thread, because your question is way off-topic. :roll:

1. Soldered.
2. 16GB
3. SSD options are mSATA or standard 2.5 inch SATA drive.
4. Never had a laptop with discrete graphics, so I can't answer this question. In any case, according to Notebookcheck.net, NVS 4200M is roughly equivalent to a Geforce GT 520M-- unsuitable for any serious gaming.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

longlake
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Saint - Petersburg, RUS

Re: Upgrade T420s wifi

#3 Post by longlake » Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:49 am

[quote="axur-delmeria"][/quote] Thanks for your reply. I don't play games on T410s, but I use it for CAD / CAM software, especially Rhinoceros and ArtCAM. i5 560M is pretty good for that, but I wonder if T420s i7-2640M will be much better...
Thinkpad T410s (i5-560M, 8Gig, SSD 128Gig, NVS3100m). +500Gig HDD in UltraBay(c) slot.

English is not my native language. I apologize for some mistakes in my posts...

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6840
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#4 Post by dr_st » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:03 am

The 2nd generation Core CPUs are more efficient, less power-consuming and cooler-running than 1st generation Core CPUs. I don't know about "much" better, but it should be better.

The HD 3000 is integrated into the CPU, so you always get it. Therefore it's HD 3000 and NVS 4200M.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

longlake
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Saint - Petersburg, RUS

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#5 Post by longlake » Sun Feb 19, 2017 1:28 pm

Thanks for creating a new thread. I went to Cpuboss and compared i5 560M and i7 2640M and didn't see MUCH difference... I've expected for 50% at least. So, no reason to upgrade from 410s to 420s? Unless 16Gig RAM support (that's very good for me, haha). I don't think NVS 4200M is nessesary upgrade, cause 3D applications use only CPU/RAM, and not often GFXcard...
dr_st wrote:.
what about T430s you have?
Thinkpad T410s (i5-560M, 8Gig, SSD 128Gig, NVS3100m). +500Gig HDD in UltraBay(c) slot.

English is not my native language. I apologize for some mistakes in my posts...

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:21 pm

50% ? If your workload is CPU intensive (I don't know if your CAD software eats up more of the CPU than the GPU), then an upgrade to a laptop with a quad-core i7 CPU should give you a noticeable performance boost.

Perhaps the quad-core model of the W520 is a closer match to what you require.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

longlake
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Saint - Petersburg, RUS

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#7 Post by longlake » Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:20 pm

[quote="axur-delmeria"][/quote]
Yeah, sure, the W5x0 series is awesome, but much more expensive and not so slim/lightweight.
Thinkpad T410s (i5-560M, 8Gig, SSD 128Gig, NVS3100m). +500Gig HDD in UltraBay(c) slot.

English is not my native language. I apologize for some mistakes in my posts...

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Ottsville, Pa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#8 Post by jaspen-meyer » Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:42 pm

The T420s uses a 7mm (thickness) hard drive. Only half of my SSD's fit, the other half are 1mm too high on one side...perhaps one could file away some of the hard drive casing -- I haven't tested this.
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; x24 xiphmont led; x60s libreboot, led; T400 Q9100

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18077
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:28 pm

SSDs are relatively easy to open.
Take the top-casing off, put some Kapton tape over the exposed parts, and off you go...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6840
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#10 Post by dr_st » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:51 am

jaspen-meyer wrote:The T420s uses a 7mm (thickness) hard drive. Only half of my SSD's fit, the other half are 1mm too high on one side
That's surprising. I would have thought the complete majority of SSDs were 7mm (and offered with adapters for 9.5mm caddies). Guess I was wrong. :)
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Ottsville, Pa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#11 Post by jaspen-meyer » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:52 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:SSDs are relatively easy to open.
Take the top-casing off, put some Kapton tape over the exposed parts, and off you go...
Brilliant!

Now ALL of my SSD's fit into the T420s.

A quick test:
MMBRE16G5MSP is 9.32mm.
Remove the top and it's 6.9mm.
Remove the top and bottom and it's 4mm (thickness of the sata interface).
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; x24 xiphmont led; x60s libreboot, led; T400 Q9100

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#12 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:11 pm

It's possible to install a quad-core i7 on a regular (not slim) T420, but based on reports from fellow Thinkpadders that performed the upgrade, full CPU speed cannot be sustained due to inadequate cooling (the CPU will reduce its clock speed to prevent overheating).
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Ottsville, Pa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#13 Post by jaspen-meyer » Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:52 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:It's possible to install a quad-core i7 on a regular (not slim) T420, but based on reports from fellow Thinkpadders that performed the upgrade, full CPU speed cannot be sustained due to inadequate cooling (the CPU will reduce its clock speed to prevent overheating).
Were they using the 45W TDP or 35W quads?
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; x24 xiphmont led; x60s libreboot, led; T400 Q9100

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#14 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:37 am

^
IIRC only Ivy Bridge had 35w quad-cores, which won't on those T420's unless they had coreboot installed (which I doubt).
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Ottsville, Pa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#15 Post by jaspen-meyer » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:09 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:If your workload is CPU intensive (I don't know if your CAD software eats up more of the CPU than the GPU), then an upgrade to a laptop with a quad-core i7 CPU should give you a noticeable performance boost.
AutoCAD is a single core application. Single-core performance difference between i5 560M and i7 2640M is 33%.
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; x24 xiphmont led; x60s libreboot, led; T400 Q9100

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#16 Post by TankPad » Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:00 pm

The 430s gives you a newer gen processor and updated integrated graphics, as well as running a bit cooler. I agree on the keyboard but that can be replaced with a classic style one anyway.

They're not too expensive these days so if it were me, I'd be looking for the best processor/graphics option and worry about the keyboard later. :)
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Upgrade from T410s to T420/s

#17 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:50 am

If you feel like fiddling a little, you cam install a xx20 in a xx30 machine. I use both a x230 and x220 on a daily asks and the x230 is significantly faster. BTW before my T430s died, it was one stellar machine! Definitely recommend the keyboard swap!

Sent from my E6553 using Tapatalk
With great power comes great responsibility!

A lesson Lenovo has not cared to learn yet.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests