Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#1 Post by sgfault » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:06 pm

Hi.

I have Thinkpad T61 with nividia 140m (6460EDG). I've tried to replace LCD panel with Dell's LQ154M1LW02 , but it didn't work. Then i've tried to install CCFL lamp from Dell into old working original (LG) panel, and it (panel) works. So, it seems, lamp is working fine with the Thinkpad's invertor. And there is, probably, the problem with matrix itself. Probably, i've damaged Dell's panel when removing metal brackets with a file. I didn't test it before, because it's difficult to connect it, when brackets are in place.

So, before buying the next one, i want to make sure: is LQ154M1LW02 panel compatible with mine Thikpad model?

Johan
Moderator1
Moderator1
Posts: 1983
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#2 Post by Johan » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:21 pm

Welcome to the forum!

The reason why the (ex-Dell) panel you tried to install in yout T61 doesn't work might be because the lack of the (proper) EDID-chip. Try search this forum for more info about what this "EDID" is all about... e.g. use this search method.

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:58 pm

This does not have anything to do with EDID; those panels are a drop-in replacement, after you VERY carefully remove the excess of their mounting holes.
(And you don't use a file for that!)

sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#4 Post by sgfault » Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:13 pm

Ok, thanks. So, i've just damaged it.
Just curious: what should i use to remove metal brackets? Though, if i order another one, i may just use metal frame without brackets from broken one..

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:49 pm

For cutting off those Sharp mounting brackets,
see this: viewtopic.php?p=785950#p785950
and this: viewtopic.php?p=798367#p798367

Do NOT try to reuse the 'clipped' frame!
You'll only damage another screen!

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#6 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:29 pm

I used a grinding wheel to file down the two mounting brackets on my LP154WU1 TL C1 (formerly from Dell Alienware Area-51 M15X) now in my T500. Probably not the best thing to do since it got very hot but I've been using the screen two months and it's working fine.
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#7 Post by sgfault » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:18 am

Hi again.

New screen've arrived aaaaaaand..... ....it didn't make it.

Well, in fact, i didn't touch it at all: i just connected to Thinkpad and the picture was the same as before, - grey screen with white blurs. Then i've connected external monitor and checked EDID. Both Sharp screens does not respond over i2c. Here is dump with nouveau driver:

Code: Select all

# i2cdetect -l
i2c-0   smbus           SMBus I801 adapter at 1c60              SMBus adapter
i2c-1   i2c             nouveau-0000:01:00.0-0                  I2C adapter
i2c-2   i2c             nouveau-0000:01:00.0-1                  I2C adapter
i2c-3   i2c             nouveau-0000:01:00.0-2                  I2C adapter
The 1st is external monitor (NEC):

Code: Select all

# i2cdetect 1
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-1.
I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 37 -- -- 3a 3b -- -- -- --
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 49 -- -- -- -- -- --
50: 50 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 59 -- -- -- -- -- --
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

# i2cdump 1 0x50
No size specified (using byte-data access)
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-1, address 0x50, mode byte
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f    0123456789abcdef
00: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 38 a3 bf 68 01 01 01 01    ........8??h????
10: 2b 16 01 03 0e 30 1b 78 ea 0e a5 a4 56 4f 9f 26    +????0?x????VO?&
20: 12 50 54 bf ef 80 81 00 81 40 81 80 81 c0 95 00    ?PT????.?@?????.
30: 90 40 b3 00 a9 c0 02 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c    ?@?.???:??q8-@X,
40: 45 00 dc 0c 11 00 00 1e 00 00 00 fd 00 38 4c 1f    E.???..?...?.8L?
50: 53 11 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fc 00 45    S?.?      ...?.E
60: 41 32 32 34 57 4d 69 0a 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 ff    A224WMi?    ....
70: 00 32 58 31 30 31 33 35 32 54 42 0a 20 20 00 78    .2X101352TB?  .x
80: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
90: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
a0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
b0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
c0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
d0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
e0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
f0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
(you may see the model EA224WMi there)

I don't know what the second is, but it responds fast:

Code: Select all

# i2cdetect 2
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-2.
I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
The 3rd is internal LCD and it responds slowly with both Sharp screens (i see how dashes are drawn line by line):

Code: Select all

# i2cdetect 3
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-3.
I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
As you may see, the port 0x50 is closed.

And here is result for 3rd bus with some other replacement screen (AUOptronics, if i remember correctly). It responds fast:

Code: Select all

# i2cdetect 3
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will probe file /dev/i2c-3.
I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
Continue? [Y/n] y
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
50: 50 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
# cat i2cdump-3.txt
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f    0123456789abcdef
00: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 06 af 7b 19 00 00 00 00    ........??{?....
10: 01 11 01 03 80 21 15 78 0a 87 f5 94 57 4f 8c 27    ?????!?x????WO?'
20: 27 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01    'PT...??????????
30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 5e 33 90 5e 61 1a 1e 40 80 70    ??????^3?^a??@?p
40: 36 00 4b cf 10 00 00 18 00 00 00 0f 00 00 00 00    6.K??..?...?....
50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 fe 00 41    ......... ...?.A
60: 55 4f 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fe    UO?         ...?
70: 00 42 31 35 34 53 57 30 31 20 56 39 20 0a 00 71    .B154SW01 V9 ?.q
80: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
90: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
a0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
b0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
c0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
d0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
e0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
f0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff    ................
(this optronics screen works)

So.. of course, it's possible, that second screen was damaged during shipment or even sent already broken (the sticker holding dell invertor was damaged, i.e. someone tried to connect the screen to other invertor (may be to test, that it works?)). But does broken lcd panel (during removing brackets as with first sample or whatever) has something with edid chip? I.e. may be the not responding edid chip is a different problem?

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:28 am

Sad to hear that the screen did not work.
All Sharp screens that I have used (ca. 20) still had the Dell inverter on the back on a separate panel.
This comes off easily after removing just 2 small screws and some tape.
After that I use the Wiss cutters to take off most of the brackets along the top.
Then plug in the T6x inverter and connect the LCD-cable.
Bingo, every single one worked out of the box!

No idea what you are trying to show in all your Code printouts.
Are you sure that your T61 motherboard is still OK and not damaged?

sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#9 Post by sgfault » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:12 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:28 am
Sad to hear that the screen did not work.
All Sharp screens that I have used (ca. 20) still had the Dell inverter on the back on a separate panel.
This comes off easily after removing just 2 small screws and some tape.
Hm.. on mine there was no screws: tape and two hooks, and the invertor was between two bottom brackets.
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:28 am
No idea what you are trying to show in all your Code printouts.
That's what i've read in links, which Johan posted before. Here is the EDID update guide, which i've followed (well, only the "edid reading" part) https://blog.voodoo-arts.net/content/ed ... C3%A4ndern . And there are many other links confirming, that LCD edid usually available at address 0x50 on corresponding bus. So, i've just tried to obtain EDID of the sharp screens, and nothing works. And that seems strange to me: why does edid chip not respond? May be the video cable pinout is wrong? Can you confirm, that you've tried this screen on T61 with Nvidia graphics (quadro nvs140m particularly)?

Here is photo of screen (first sample)
https://s26.postimg.org/klw15b28p/DSC_0457.jpg
Maybe it's a different revision or something?
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:28 am
Are you sure that your T61 motherboard is still OK and not damaged?
Well.. no longer. It seems, in the last of many screen switches (between optronics and two sharps) i forgot to disconnect power cable first and now the invertor or video cable died. But before that, in the first attempt - yes, i'm abosolutely sure, that everything was ok.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#10 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:20 pm

Oops, I have to correct some info.
It's the 15" UXGA Sharp screens that have the inverter on the back.
The 15.4" WUXGA Sharp screens indeed have the inverter along the bottom (or just the metal clamps for it).
Either way, for both sizes it's remove (Dell) inverter, cut off brackets and put it in.

Also, there is absolutely NO need to check the EDID, it works as-is for both models!

I have tried the 15" in T60/R60/R61 and T601 Frankenpads with Intel and nVidia GPU.
And the 15.4" in T61 with Intel and both nVidia NVS140M and FX570M, as well as in R500/T500 with Intel and ATI graphics.

Both their pinouts are the same as in the above-mentioned Thinkpads.

If you remove the LCD without disconnecting power, the minimum damage you do is blowing a fuse.

Below is a list of common T61 fuses.

Code: Select all

The functions of the fuses were taken from the schematics of part number 42W7622,
 hoping that the differences to the 41W1487 aren't too big. 
The page column refers to the schematics linked to before. 
(PTC) are resettable fuses, it should never be necessary to replace them (in theory). 
name/current/P/N 	page 	function 
F1 	(PTC) 	  	29 	resettable fuse (PTC), connects VGA pin 9 with VCC_5B 
F2 	7A 	429007 	75 	DC in 
F3 	3A 	466003 	28 	3.3V for LCD panel 
F4 	2A 	434002 	71 	5V for fan 
F5 	0.5A 	434500 	78 	power for EC etc. from docking station 
F6 	(PTC) 	 	63 	3.3V for touchpad 
F7 	3A 	466003 	28 	20V for LCD inverter 
F8 	0.5A 	434500 	28 	3.3V for LCD panel (LEDs on inverter PCB?) 
F9 	0.5A 	434500 	78 	power for EC etc. from main battery 
F10 	0.5A 	434500 	78 	power for EC etc. from secondary battery 
F11 	10A 	451010 	78 	secondary (ultrabay) battery 
F12 	10A 	451010 	78 	main battery 
F13 	NO_ASM 	- 	55 	not assembled 
F14 	(PTC) 	 	59 	connects pin 171 of docking port with VCC5M 
F15 	(PTC) 	 	63 	5V for touchpad 
F16 	0.5A 	434500 	28 	connects VCC5B with pin 78 of LCD connector (WebCam ?) 
F17 	(PTC) 	 	47 	connects pin 6 of MDC connector with VCC3M
YOU need to check F3, F7 and F8.
F7 is the most likely "shot" one.
All 3 are near the LCD connector on the mobo.
You'll need to take the mobo out of the chassis, and lift up some black tape along the top inch of the mobo.

sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#11 Post by sgfault » Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:09 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:20 pm
Oops, I have to correct some info.
It's the 15" UXGA Sharp screens that have the inverter on the back.
The 15.4" WUXGA Sharp screens indeed have the inverter along the bottom (or just the metal clamps for it).
Either way, for both sizes it's remove (Dell) inverter, cut off brackets and put it in.

Also, there is absolutely NO need to check the EDID, it works as-is for both models!
I understand that, but EDID had worked in your cases, didn't it? I.e. monitor responds over i2c, etc, etc. So, that was just another check, which can be made with two dead screens. But now that's no longer matters)
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:20 pm
YOU need to check F3, F7 and F8.
F7 is the most likely "shot" one.
All 3 are near the LCD connector on the mobo.
You'll need to take the mobo out of the chassis, and lift up some black tape along the top inch of the mobo.
Ok.. but before i start to disassemble, i want to clarify how it looks now:
1. During startup leds (power or hdd or battery) on invertor board blink, but does not light as they usually do.
2. Wifi led works after OS boots up. Other leds - don't.
3. There is a (seems correct) picture on the screen, but it's very-very dark. Brightness control does not make it brighter, though OS sees brightness change. Screen also responds over i2c.
4. External monitor works.
5. The notebook boots up and works as usual.
6. The light on top of screen (thinklight?) works.

So, should i now disassemble the notebook and check fuses or something else first?

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#12 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:39 pm

Yes, you definitely blew F7 (backlight) which is immediately to the right of the LCD-connector.
And most likely also F8.
See this for details: viewtopic.php?p=758364

If you have another (faulty) T60 or T61 mobo, you can try and unsolder that F7/F8 and piggyback solder them on top of the bad ones.

Once you replace F7, you should have the picture back on your LCD.
With F8 you get the inverter-LEDs back.

I have never checked EDID on those Sharp screens, like I said, every single one always worked.
As for i2c or whatever that is, never heard of it and probably never will need it.

Just in case: there is also a fuse on the inverter, on the left near the LCD-cable connector. Check that too.

sgfault
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#13 Post by sgfault » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:04 am

Can i take the fuses from the mobo with intel card from 6464 model with T7500? (Mine is 6460-EDG with nvidia and T9300; i didn't have that 6464 yet, so i can't say anything more specific).

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17927
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad T61 with LQ154M1LW02

#14 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:31 am

Those fuses are all the same, so yes.
If you have any problems, there's a great forum member nitrocaster, who also lives in Moscow.
He may be able to help if need be, try and PM him.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests