T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
wsalomon
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Boston, ME

T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#1 Post by wsalomon » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:34 am

I'm having to replace the WUXGA screen on my 15.4" T61p and noticed that the underlying frame is cracked and part of one of the hinges has broken off.

The thought has occurred that the entire assembly from an R61 or T500 series might work. One advantage is that the T61p never came with an "inboard" Camera (which the 14.1" T61 Widescreens did), and certain models of the R61 and T500 did.

The compatibility issues are:
1. Physical - are the hinge posts and locking latches in the same place?
2. Are they electrically compatible (e.g. the LCD cable - same number of pins on the motherboard side)?. Given that the T61 BIOS is capable of recognizing a camera (as on the 14.1" T61 Widescreen, this would seem not to an issue.

Thanks for thoughts.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15986
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:17 pm

Physically incompatible and significantly so, hence a non-starter
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

NonesensE
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am
Location: GF/BS/OHA, Germany

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#3 Post by NonesensE » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:40 pm

The T500 uses a different display connector at a different place. An R500 display assembly might fit, it has the *61 connector and connector/cable location. I don't know about the hinges, though.

Beware, not all *500 displays work in an Nvidia T61, at least ootb.
Sometimes coming over from the German forum...
X62s 3rd batch, [s]T61[/s] T70 14" 4:3 1st batch

wsalomon
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Boston, ME

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#4 Post by wsalomon » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:26 pm

I can understand this for the T500 as it is a generation later.

What about the 15.4" R61?

I mention that as the 14.1" Widescreen T61 and R61 actually use the same service manual and looking at the LCD panel parts, the only difference seemed to be the plastic back cover (with either T or R Series on it) and the strip applied over the indicator lights on the bezel.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15986
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#5 Post by ajkula66 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:16 pm

wsalomon wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:26 pm

What about the 15.4" R61?
ajkula66 wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:17 pm
Physically incompatible and significantly so, hence a non-starter
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

789
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:36 pm
Location: Victoria, Canada

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#6 Post by 789 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:01 pm

NonesensE wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:40 pm
The T500 uses a different display connector at a different place.
Yes; but may I interchage LCD panels from T61, T500, z60 by changing connectors ?

NonesensE
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am
Location: GF/BS/OHA, Germany

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#7 Post by NonesensE » Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:33 am

789 wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:01 pm
NonesensE wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:40 pm
The T500 uses a different display connector at a different place.
Yes; but may I interchage LCD panels from T61, T500, z60 by changing connectors ?
You can exchange the panels themselves, but nothing else between T61 and T500 (I think the z60 is similar to the T61, so the whole display assembly might fit). So no display cable, no display housing. Don't know about the hinges and the frame, though.
Sometimes coming over from the German forum...
X62s 3rd batch, [s]T61[/s] T70 14" 4:3 1st batch

789
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:36 pm
Location: Victoria, Canada

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#8 Post by 789 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:20 pm

You can exchange the panels themselves,
Thank you. The main thing is that I can use the spare LCD in either of them

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire

Re: T500 or R61 series LCD panels on 15.4" T61p?

#9 Post by TPFanatic » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:35 pm

NonesensE wrote:
Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:33 am
789 wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:01 pm

Yes; but may I interchage LCD panels from T61, T500, z60 by changing connectors ?
You can exchange the panels themselves, but nothing else between T61 and T500 (I think the z60 is similar to the T61, so the whole display assembly might fit). So no display cable, no display housing. Don't know about the hinges and the frame, though.
Z series is a totally different design case wise.
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests