Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

New here with a working A22m.

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
CrazyDesigner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

New here with a working A22m.

#1 Post by CrazyDesigner » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:35 pm

Just found this forum.

I recently got a IBM Thinkpad A22m up and running. With some trouble shooting. I originally wanted to install Icarus OS (AROS based OS, aka Amiga). For the life of me. I could not get it installed. I boiled it down to a GRUB issue. For whatever reason. It was not being recognised on disk, even tho the GRUB on the LiveCD was being seen by the computer. So I threw up my hands and installed Windows Pro 2000. That installed painlessly.

I upgraded the harddisk to SD to IDE and I have 32gig SD card installed. Then I bought a new optical drive, a DVD-rom a upgrade from the CD-rom. The battery still has a tiny bit of charge to it. I get 10 minutes. Kind of funny. I had to buy a new power supply.

Everything works on it as far as I can tell. My main reason for getting it back up and running is as a writing machine. It is so old and the wifi card is so old. I wount be distracted and be tempted to fool around online, when I should be writing. Along with its nice keyboard.

Next thing I think I want to do is find ISOs of the recovery cd that originally came with the laptop.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1673
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: New here with a working A22m.

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:57 pm

Welcome to the forum. Nice find on the A22m. Someone here could definitely get you with some A22m Recovery ISOs.
"Its not what screen ratio you have, it is what you do with it." -me

Now stop complaining and get back to work with your "wrongly configured" box of pixels.

-Thinkpad4by3, or 3:2, or 16:10, or 16:9, or 21:9.....or whatever.

olex126
Sophomore Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

Re: New here with a working A22m.

#3 Post by olex126 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:42 pm

Hey CrazyDesigner!

I've got the Product Recovery CD-ROM for your A22m. (MT 2628-English Win2K).

(Actual IBM Part # is 23P8966, dated March 2001)

Busy this week, but send me a PM on Friday to remind me and I'll get the ISO file posted somewhere for you to download :banana:

Later!

Regards.

Dave
Previous Thinkpads: 701C A22m A30/A31p T23p x2 T30 T41 X31 various 750's 760's & 390's.

Current Daily Drivers: Various X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x200 x201 x220 x230 W520 T601F LED (T9500/8Gb/250SSD/W7 Ultimate)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

CrazyDesigner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: New here with a working A22m.

#4 Post by CrazyDesigner » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:43 pm

Thanks.

tdot
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: New here with a working A22m.

#5 Post by tdot » Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:14 am

They are great laptops!

About a year back I ended up buying 3 from the A2x series (including an A21p with 1600x1200, fantastic screen). One of them had the intermittent power issue, but luckily NOS motherboards are still actually available if you look enough.

I ended up selling all except the A22m, which out of the maybe 7 vintage laptops I bought was my personal favorite for vintage gaming. Its DOS sound support is flawless, and I found it even more stable with the majority of games I wanted to play than the 600X. Plus, it has very early 3D support and can play a lot of the 'hard to play' early 3D titles (Battlezone, MGS) with no issue. And it will even run XP. Sadly, the 1600x1200 screen had to go - it was only 'great' for Windows. Running 320x/640x games, I concluded it looked worse than the 1024x768.

I actually couldn't get an SD to IDE adapter working reliably in Win98. It would end up corrupting itself after a while somehow. I did manage to get an IDE SSD installed no problem.

There are actually quite a few screens you can find that will fit in an A2x, some of them quite a bit better/newer (contrast/brightness/viewing angle) than the standard screen in the unit. If you're actually that bored :lol:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest