Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How to say if Middleton flash was successful

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thott
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:25 pm
Location: Elsdorf, Germany

How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#1 Post by thott » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:01 am

Hi, I flashed the middleton bios onto my X61t and the flasher said everything went fine, however I cannot tell if it was successful as the bios looks the same. Can someone tell me what's the best way to tell if the flash was successful?

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#2 Post by jaspen-meyer » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:40 am

Put in an ssd and measure disk speed. Sata I max is about 135 MB/s. Sata II is about 270 MB/s.
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2099
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#3 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:57 am

Put in a wifi card from a non-Thinkpad laptop. With the stock BIOS, you'll be greeted with the 1802 error and system halt. With Middleton BIOS successfully flashed, the laptop will continue booting.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

thott
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:25 pm
Location: Elsdorf, Germany

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#4 Post by thott » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:08 pm

So it sounds like, it's normal that version numbers and the like in the bios screen do not change?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19795
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:21 pm

Correct.
Wifi-whitelist removal, SATA-II speed for the main HD/SSD-drive and added Slic2.1 for Vista/W7 are the main 'background' improvements.
No visible changes anywhere.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly! :mrgreen:
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#6 Post by FryPpy » Thu May 24, 2018 1:37 pm

Annecy wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 11:35 pm
I'm wondering if ... maybe some/one "out there"
with (for sure) non-Middleton BIOS T61s
could see if HWiNFO32 (or 64) reports the main HDD @ 3gb/s or @ 1.5gb/s :?: :??:
I have no unmodified T61's. But if i need to check BIOS for modification (without hardware tests) i use SLIC toolkit utility. Unmodded bios have slic v 2.0 (or no slick at all).
Modded BIOS have slic v 2.1. Or more presisely LENOVOTP-7U.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests