Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
WarhawkCZ
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Brno

Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#1 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sat May 12, 2018 8:30 am

Hello Everyone, my question is straightforward:

Will any motherboard from t42 work in t42p ? I have a dead t42p and don't know what to do with it. I read the forum but I am not completely sure, especially considering the UXGA display.

Thanks for any hint.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18831
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat May 12, 2018 9:02 am

Any R50/R51 and T40/T41/T42 motherboard with ATI graphics will work in any 14.1" and 15" T4x.
Intel graphics will only work with 14.1" XGA and 15" XGA or SXGA+.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

WarhawkCZ
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Brno

Re: Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#3 Post by WarhawkCZ » Sat May 12, 2018 9:24 am

Thank you!

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1093
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#4 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat May 12, 2018 10:44 pm

WarhawkCZ wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 9:24 am
Thank you!
I can offer you a T43p mobo (and a Pentium M 750) if you wanna revive that system
I also have other T43 series mobos available as well (Radeon ones) if you need that
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Johan
Moderator1
Moderator1
Posts: 1997
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#5 Post by Johan » Sun May 13, 2018 5:15 am

If of interest, I have several (tested, functioning perfectly) T42p motherboards (i.e. w/GPU = ATI Mobility FireGL T2, having 128 MB VRAM), and with fingerprint-reader support. Bought, tested-good, kept "in stock" as spares. Contact me if of interest.

Johan
(Copenhagen, Denmark)
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18831
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Will any t42 mobo work in 15 inch t42p ?

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 13, 2018 6:08 am

For a T43/T43p (and R52) you need different CPU and RAM.
The same ATI/Intel display "rules" as above apply.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests