Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Replacings T530's screen

T430 and later, plus T530 and later series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
NWSS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Limburg, Belgium

Replacings T530's screen

#1 Post by NWSS » Sun May 13, 2018 4:05 am

Hi there,

Gonna try and keep it short. So I've bought a laptop (Lenovo T530) but the screen is not to my liking 1600x900. I've had a previous laptop which had this screen LP156WF1-TLB2, 1920x1080, Dell e6520, this screen was very good for me.

Now I did some research on the T530 and found this model AUO B156HW01 V4 is certainly compatible with the T530 according to many different sources. Sadly it's very hard to get. Then I looked it up at panellook.com and to my surprise the LP156WF1-TLB2 turned up as compatible model. http://www.panelook.com/modelcompare.ph ... ,12286,686

Now the only thing I don't know if the handshake procedure on EDID will go right with the T530 and the LP156WF1-TLB2. Is there any way to know this?

My end question is off course can I replace my current screen with the LP156WF1-TLB2..

Kind regards.

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#2 Post by TPFanatic » Sun May 13, 2018 1:21 pm

First off:
Make sure all power, AC adapters, and batteries (external, internal) are REMOVED from your Thinkpad before touching any LCD component including the LCD cable. Manipulating with power attached is 90% guaranteed to blow the LED backlight fuse!

So disassemble with your AC adapter and battery detached and you'll be fine.

If Panelook says the panel is compatible, it probably is. Aftermarket panels can typically be dropped into Thinkpads, I myself put the N156HGE-L11 in my T520 and it's gorgeous. The LG you've got seems to draw more power than the other two but the laptop can probably handle it. It's the same pinout and interface, LVDS 2 channel 6 bit, that's usually the main determining factor, if you can even plug it in.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, HD+, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo X201 i5 520m, WXGA, 4GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

NWSS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Limburg, Belgium

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#3 Post by NWSS » Sun May 13, 2018 1:39 pm

TPFanatic wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 1:21 pm
First off:
Make sure all power, AC adapters, and batteries (external, internal) are REMOVED from your Thinkpad before touching any LCD component including the LCD cable. Manipulating with power attached is 90% guaranteed to blow the LED backlight fuse!

So disassemble with your AC adapter and battery detached and you'll be fine.

If Panelook says the panel is compatible, it probably is. Aftermarket panels can typically be dropped into Thinkpads, I myself put the N156HGE-L11 in my T520 and it's gorgeous. The LG you've got seems to draw more power than the other two but the laptop can probably handle it. It's the same pinout and interface, LVDS 2 channel 6 bit, that's usually the main determining factor, if you can even plug it in.
Hi, thanks for the advice!! I'm curious after this N156HGE-L11, can you give me an idea of brightness, contrast and color reproduction? Or is there a review on the net somewhere? Is there a advice on price for such a screen, I have a online shop that can sell it to me for about 110 euros shipped, thats about 135 usd.

NWSS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Limburg, Belgium

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#4 Post by NWSS » Sun May 13, 2018 2:30 pm

Found some info on it, might as well share it with the rest.

According to Panelook.com this is another name for the LCD, CMN15B1
If you then take a peek on google you'll find these reviews: and you'll also find this site where you can see that it's also has a Dell id : Dell VCM8X And with that info I found this: (Don't know what you can do with this?) Conclusion does seem a good panel besides color production it scores good..

NWSS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Limburg, Belgium

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#5 Post by NWSS » Sun May 13, 2018 4:11 pm

Getting off topic here..
Last link actually gives you a colour profile to use.. with colormunki.

Back on topic.
  • Any other screen suggestions?
    Price of 135 USD justified for the cmn15b1?

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#6 Post by TPFanatic » Sun May 13, 2018 6:19 pm

You are right the N156HGE-L11 was used in Dell laptops. It has very high viewing angles and is VERY bright, 300 nits, very good for an LED screen. The colors are a bit oversaturated, it has very strong greens/yellows, no red/blue tint that I notice.

When I installed mine it only had screw holes on the right hand side so it's just held in by the bezel on the left. You can use tape.

The model I got ended up being a Grade B with some minor dust smatterings under the panel, despite advertised as Grade A. :cry: Stupid me didn't dispute it since the brightness, colors, and angles just blew me away and it was $35; I'm lucky to live in America.

It has an adaptive brightness thing going on where it will noticeably dim itself with white displayed, and then brighten up again with blackdisplayed. Contrast at 600:1 is as advertised. 500:1 is good too, which my T500's LP154WU1-TLC1 is rated at. Black looks black and white looks white.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, HD+, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo X201 i5 520m, WXGA, 4GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2056
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#7 Post by Tasurinchi » Mon May 14, 2018 2:50 am

NWSS wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 4:05 am
My end question is off course can I replace my current screen with the LP156WF1-TLB2..
Yes, you can. I did it in one of my ThinkPads (I think in a W520, cannot remember 100%). It's a plug & play replacement.

The same discussion took place in this thread here: click me!
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

NWSS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Limburg, Belgium

Re: Replacings T530's screen

#8 Post by NWSS » Mon May 14, 2018 1:33 pm

Tasurinchi wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 2:50 am
NWSS wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 4:05 am
My end question is off course can I replace my current screen with the LP156WF1-TLB2..
Yes, you can. I did it in one of my ThinkPads (I think in a W520, cannot remember 100%). It's a plug & play replacement.

The same discussion took place in this thread here: click me!
Thanks for pointing this out to me!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T430/T530 and later Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests