Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Message
Author
JohJoh1k
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:12 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#31 Post by JohJoh1k » Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:40 am

Have just ordered the T420s version. About to order a B140HAN01.3. Stay tuned..

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#32 Post by jaspen-meyer » Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:16 am

I connect the T420 kit today with this screeh: https://www.ebay.com/itm/-3/182340411925
The display is totally garbled.
Machine uses coreboot for its bios.

Anyone try this kit with coreboot or can suggest a way to debug this?
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

t140568
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#33 Post by t140568 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:23 pm

jaspen-meyer wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:16 am
I connect the T420 kit today with this screeh: https://www.ebay.com/itm/-3/182340411925
The display is totally garbled.
Machine uses coreboot for its bios.

Anyone try this kit with coreboot or can suggest a way to debug this?
I have Coreboot installed on my machine and have no problem using the adapter. That being said, I did have a problem with the LCD I ordered (can't remember the website). I plugged in the LCD and got nothing but a gray screen. This was even after the seller "assuring" me that it would be the exact panel I requested (B140HAN01.3) and not a "compatible" model. I ordered another B140HAN01.3 from a seller on eBay which was pulled from a working T440 (T450? - can't remember). That panel is now working flawlessly in my T420. If I were to do this again, I'd head that route. While it makes it harder to find, you'll get what you need. There seem to be a lot of sellers selling "counterfeit" B140HAN01.3 panels. They just seem to print labels with the model number and slap it on whatever "compatible" LCD they have. (Disclaimer: Of course, this is just my theory - no hard evidence as of yet.)
Some call me...Tim.
Present:
T420 - i7-3632QM/250gb SSD/16gb/FHD via converter board/AW-CB160H AC/Coreboot/Internal Logitech Unifying Receiver
T500 - C2D-P8700/64gb SSD/6gb/WUXGA

Past: X61T || X60T || R50 || X30 || T30 || A31p || 3xx || 600E || Intellistation Z Pro

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#34 Post by jaspen-meyer » Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:49 pm

Do you have an ivy bridge process or sandy bridge? Not sure whether it'd matter, but it may.
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

t140568
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#35 Post by t140568 » Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:01 am

Good point. I’m on Sandy Bridge (2520m specifically). That may explain the garbled output you got vs the gray screen I got. Hrm...

I need to just bite the bullet and pick up a 3632qm. I’ve been wanting to for some time.
Some call me...Tim.
Present:
T420 - i7-3632QM/250gb SSD/16gb/FHD via converter board/AW-CB160H AC/Coreboot/Internal Logitech Unifying Receiver
T500 - C2D-P8700/64gb SSD/6gb/WUXGA

Past: X61T || X60T || R50 || X30 || T30 || A31p || 3xx || 600E || Intellistation Z Pro

Grincho
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:51 pm
Location: Dubai, UAE

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#36 Post by Grincho » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:03 pm

I just bought and installed 1080p IPS combo - screen and a conversion board from AliExpress (cheaper, than advertised by OP). I didn't fully assemble my T430, yet, just connected display and keyboard, but already want to share my WOW! No flickering, no tearing, everything is flawless. Btw, what is light bleeding? How it looks like?

Anyhow, some funny moments: 1. The conversion board was lying on top of the small plastic bag, where it supposed to be inside (guys were really in a hurry packing it).
2. Marking on the back of the screen is AUO 1.3, but Aida64 reports that it is AUO 1.2
3. What are those 4x white washers?
4. No any mounting adhesive or whatever things in the parcel - how I need to attach the conversion board? Just buy some adhesive tape in the store?

But if they put only those washers, they might be important... How to use them?

t140568
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#37 Post by t140568 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 4:08 pm

I tried placing the board behind the screen like so many others have done, but that(as for others) created a lot of stress on the lcd and caused light bleeding. So, since my wires are long enough, I moved the converter board to the left of the cpu. I had to pull and repaste the heat sink to fit it under that corner of the chassis, but it was completely worth it. I rolled 2 pieces of electrical tape to support the board and lift it away from the motherboard. It’s hard to explain exactly. I took pictures, but haven’t gotten around to uploading them.

Light bleeding is what you get along the edge (usually) of an lcd. It is especially noticeable when the screen is black, but lit. Excessive white light will show up almost like someone is shining a tiny flashlight along the edge of the panel. It’s annoying, especially when you spend so much money and time trying to get a good lcd.
Some call me...Tim.
Present:
T420 - i7-3632QM/250gb SSD/16gb/FHD via converter board/AW-CB160H AC/Coreboot/Internal Logitech Unifying Receiver
T500 - C2D-P8700/64gb SSD/6gb/WUXGA

Past: X61T || X60T || R50 || X30 || T30 || A31p || 3xx || 600E || Intellistation Z Pro

ecojournalist
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:24 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#38 Post by ecojournalist » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:02 pm

I'm new to the community, and I just want to make sure I'm following this right:

I want to upgrade to a brighter screen. My T430s (1600x900, dedicated 5400 1gb card) I will need not only the screen, but a convertor with a wire as well. Such as the one found here:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/B140HAN01-1-1- ... 3161089165

I understand I will be able to find guides and tutorials on the forums, but just want to make sure that I know what it is that I'm aiming for.

Thanks!

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#39 Post by TPFanatic » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:31 pm

You would need to get the version for T420s and T430s, not the T420 and T430 version.

With a T430s you can upgrade to WQHD with an RMSMajestic kit.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T410s i5 520m, WXGA+, 4GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, FHD, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

CPC464
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 8:47 am
Location: Borricón de Arriba, Spain

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#40 Post by CPC464 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:23 am

Here another one who bought and sucessfully installed a kit from EvanJoo in a T420s.

No flickering or other problens so far. Only i notice in tpfancontrol a pci temp. a little higher than usual (around 50-60°C).

I used a theoretically original AUO B140HAN01.3. It was, theoretically, a original Lenovo replacement part from a trusted seller with S/N in invoice, but there are tons of fake panels out there.

The FHD screen is OK after calibration, but before calibration it seems a little greenish to my eyes. But, in any case, it's a HUGE improvement compared with the crappy original Samsung TN panel.

X220 IPS, i7 16Gb RAM 250Gb SSD+2Tb HD
X61 T8100, 8Gb RAM, Middleton BIOS, 480 Gb SSD, sxga+
W520 i7 quad, FHD, 32Gb, 512 SSD+2Tb HD
W701 24Gb RAM, WUXGA, 240 Gb SSD+1Tb HD,
others
X61t, X200t, W500, T43p UXGA, R50p UXGA, T60p UXGA
600, X21, X24, X30, X41, A30p UXGA

t140568
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#41 Post by t140568 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:30 pm

jaspen-meyer wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:49 pm
Do you have an ivy bridge process or sandy bridge? Not sure whether it'd matter, but it may.
So I installed a 3632qm a few days ago and the LCD adapter works fine when I'm fully booted into Ubuntu, but will not display anything during bootup. The first screen I see is for login.
Some call me...Tim.
Present:
T420 - i7-3632QM/250gb SSD/16gb/FHD via converter board/AW-CB160H AC/Coreboot/Internal Logitech Unifying Receiver
T500 - C2D-P8700/64gb SSD/6gb/WUXGA

Past: X61T || X60T || R50 || X30 || T30 || A31p || 3xx || 600E || Intellistation Z Pro

Grincho
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:51 pm
Location: Dubai, UAE

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#42 Post by Grincho » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:18 pm

Grincho wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:03 pm
I just bought and installed 1080p IPS combo - screen and a conversion board from AliExpress (cheaper, than advertised by OP). I didn't fully assemble my T430, yet, just connected display and keyboard, but already want to share my WOW! No flickering, no tearing, everything is flawless.
So far, screen works great and pleasing my eyes greatly. Btw, I bought a kit from here https://www.aliexpress.com/item/SANITER ... 2e32995b6a.

Cheaper than from other sellers and delivered in a week time with proper courier service to my doors from China to Dubai.

dalmannen
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:51 am
Location: Nora, Sweden

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#43 Post by dalmannen » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:05 am

They are indeed used to raise the LCD from the LCD kit circuit board. By putting one washer on top of each of the 4 screw holes and then placing the screen on top of that and screwing the screws in, the screen will be lifted a couple of millimeters from the back casing. This will reduce the problem with the LCD kit circuit board poking the back side of the screen.

I have received my kit and will install it later this week. I will add some photos of the installation process here when I'm done.
Niknok wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:42 pm
Here is Evan Joo's reply to a query about purchasing a longer cable to experiment with placement of the (non-S) converter board:

HI,friend

Thank you very much for your letter and advice.
The longer cable of the kit for the t430s can work with this item, but as the cable are so a little bigger that they are not putting under the keyboard. We try to cut some GND cables to Make them thin and thin, so that to put them to under the keyboard. But there is another problem is that The signal are easily disturbed,and some time the the screen can not see . So we do not cut the GND cables to make it thin. But send with the plastic washer for people install the screen. Hope for your understanding.
Have a great day!

Evan

Has anyone received the washers and if so, where are they used? I assume they are something to raise the LCD evenly...

JohJoh1k
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:12 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#44 Post by JohJoh1k » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:00 pm

Success! (T420s) The display is now gorgeous and the viewing angles are great!. Crystal clear, no dead pixels.

I ordered and installed: I contacted the seller before ordering, who confirmed the unit was an B140HAN01.3 by AUO. I didn't use the included washers/spacers as they caused too much pressure to be applied to the LCD causing excess light bleed. There is minimal light bleed now, only visible on very dark/black screen. I placed the video controller board on the motherboard under the keyboard as per the pic in the ebay link above.

dalmannen
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:51 am
Location: Nora, Sweden

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#45 Post by dalmannen » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:21 pm

Here are some pictures from my installation. Overall I'm pleased with the new display although it suffers quite a bit from backlight bleeding. I will attempt to attach the LCD circuit board to different locations to see if the backlight bleed can be reduced.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

GrifterGuru
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:41 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#46 Post by GrifterGuru » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:47 pm

No images?
T420 4236-9N8, i7-2640M, 2.8/3.5GHz, 16GB Ram, 256GB mSata, 750GB HDD, Dual Boot
L412 4403-72G, i5 520M, 2.4Ghz, 6GB RAM, 320GB HDD
X31 1.7ghz, 2GB RAM, 160GB HDD
M73 10AXS38G00 i7 4785T , 16GB Ram, WD Black2 1.2TB Dual Drive, W7U
M73 10AXS06G02 G3220T 6GB RAM, 320GB HDD, W7U

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19295
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: New IPS FHD Upgrade Kit for thinkpad T420 T430 ,And T430S T420S

#47 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:04 pm

Those are crap pictures from a Google account that nobody has permission to see.
Google just wants to spy on everybody, just like Micro$haft and its ilk.

If I were dalmannen I would upload those pictures to the likes of www.imgur.com and then just post links to them here.
And then I'd stop using GoogleDocs or GoogleDrive or whatever they call it.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests