Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

middleton question

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

middleton question

#1 Post by jharrison29 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:34 am

My T61 has 3 partitions. XP, Linux, & the original Repair & Recovery
My linux is 32bit and my plan is to install the middleton bios so I can run 64bit linux.
However, I want to keep the XP partition. Will XP continue to run after updating the firmware to middleton?
I just don't want any surprises. If I lose it, I lose it. But I'd rather keep it.
thanks

theterminator93
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States

Re: middleton question

#2 Post by theterminator93 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:15 am

I'm not sure why you would need to flash the Middleton BIOS to run 64 bit Linux. In any case, flashing Middleton's BIOS won't do anything to your hard disk or existing OS/partitions.
Daily: T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T420 i7-2640M·NVS 4200m·IPS FHD | X220 i7-2640M | T601F T9900·NVS 140M·IPS UXGA
Wife's: T61p T9500·2010 FX570m·WUXGA | X220T i7-2640M
Others: T61p·61·43·42p|X41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote|380D|365XD|701C|755C

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19132
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: middleton question

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:06 am

M's BIOS will give your machine Slic2.1 for Vista/W7, SATA-II speed and a bunch of other niceties.
IMHO it is a must for EVERY T61/X61/R61/X300. Get it here.
And of course a change to SSD will blow you out of your socks!

From the downloaded ISO, make a self-booting CD/DVD (not USB).
Remove your HD/SSD temporarily before the flash.
Afterwards you will not see any changes in the BIOS.
It won't harm any existing drives or OS installations.

BTW: you can run 64-bit OS any time, with or without M's BIOS.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: middleton question

#4 Post by Annecy » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:34 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:06 am
"Afterwards you will not see any changes in the BIOS."
@ OP ...
Maybe BEFORE you FLASH M's BIOS ...
see the following
TP.c ForumThread, svp: :arrow: "How to say if Middleton flash was successful" :?:

Maybe you could/would run the HWiNFO and/or Speccy FreeWare Utilities
both BEFORE... & AFTER flashing M's BIOS :?:

to see if the (reported) STORAGE (Main HDD bay) specification CHANGES ...
BEFORE... & AFTER flashing M's BIOS :?: :idea: :bow:


jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#5 Post by jharrison29 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:26 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:06 am
BTW: you can run 64-bit OS any time, with or without M's BIOS.
Really? I'll have to give that a shot. Didn't know that 32bit systems could do that. Thanks.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16112
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: middleton question

#6 Post by ajkula66 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:02 pm

jharrison29 wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:26 am
Didn't know that 32bit systems could do that.
Every T61/p is a 64-bit system, since all of them sport 64-bit capable CPUs.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T42, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#7 Post by jharrison29 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:16 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:02 pm
Every T61/p is a 64-bit system, since all of them sport 64-bit capable CPUs.
Hmmm. I have a T61, not sure it is a T61/p
The CPU is Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 (2.5GHz 800MHz 6MBL2)

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: middleton question

#8 Post by Annecy » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:33 pm

ARK.Intel T9300 specs: :arrow: :!:
https://i.imgur.com/PfbwfkE.png
https://i.imgur.com/VuTmTaA.png


Admin note:
the above ARK-Intel link is more than sufficient!

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#9 Post by jharrison29 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:42 pm

Thanks! I've started the linux x64 install.

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#10 Post by jharrison29 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:03 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:06 am
BTW: you can run 64-bit OS any time, with or without M's BIOS.
I never wouldda guessed that my T61 could run 64bit. Have linux Debian x64 running now and as soon as I find time I've gotta tackle the hinge issue (spray lube didn't work). Hopefully once I get it out maybe I can free it up manually & with liberal application of silicone based spray.

Thanks for the many suggestions.

storm-chaser
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Schenectady, NY

Re: middleton question

#11 Post by storm-chaser » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:36 am

jharrison29 wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:03 pm
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:06 am
BTW: you can run 64-bit OS any time, with or without M's BIOS.
I never wouldda guessed that my T61 could run 64bit. Have linux Debian x64 running now and as soon as I find time I've gotta tackle the hinge issue (spray lube didn't work). Hopefully once I get it out maybe I can free it up manually & with liberal application of silicone based spray.

Thanks for the many suggestions.
Take the hinges off and soak them in marvel mystery oil or just plain old oil if that's all you have around. Soak them for a couple days and hopefully that will free them up.
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
AMD Phenom II 960T @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
Lenovo T61p 15.4" - Core 2 extreme X9000 CPU @ 3.4Ghz, SSD
Toshiba Satellite A505D - 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 80GB SSD

ac12
Sophomore Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Location: San Mateo, CA

Re: middleton question

#12 Post by ac12 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:12 pm

Like WD40, silicone oils is not always the appropriate solution for lubrication.
You likely need penetration capability of a very light oil, but you also don't want it to become so slippery that it won't keep position.
And you don't want to chemically attack the bushing inside the hinge, whatever it is made of.

ps silicone oil/grease has a reputation of being VERY difficult to remove.

storm-chaser
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Schenectady, NY

Re: middleton question

#13 Post by storm-chaser » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:03 pm

ac12 wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:12 pm
Like WD40, silicone oils is not always the appropriate solution for lubrication.
You likely need penetration capability of a very light oil, but you also don't want it to become so slippery that it won't keep position.
And you don't want to chemically attack the bushing inside the hinge, whatever it is made of.

ps silicone oil/grease has a reputation of being VERY difficult to remove.
PB Blaster or Berrymans chemtool come to mind for this application.
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
AMD Phenom II 960T @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
Lenovo T61p 15.4" - Core 2 extreme X9000 CPU @ 3.4Ghz, SSD
Toshiba Satellite A505D - 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 80GB SSD

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#14 Post by jharrison29 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:11 pm

storm-chaser wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:36 am
Take the hinges off and soak them in marvel mystery oil or just plain old oil if that's all you have around. Soak them for a couple days and hopefully that will free them up.
I pulled the machine apart. I don't know if the hinge is stiff or not, I stopped when I found the that magnesium frame that holds the lcd & hinges was cracked at the hinge.
I suppose if the hinge was stiff it could have caused the metal of the frame to flex and crack. But maybe the very thin metal cracked with normal usage.
Photo of cracked frame

Tomorrow I'll finish taking the LCD & hinges out of the frame and check the tightness of the hinge. If need be I will try to loosen/free up the hinges.

I've posted a WTB on the Marketplace

storm-chaser
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Schenectady, NY

Re: middleton question

#15 Post by storm-chaser » Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:02 pm

I know there is a lot of stress in that area but you might be able to get away with JB-Weld as a temporary or even long term fix if for some reason you have trouble locating another frame.

Best way to use JB-Weld in this application would be multiple thin coats allowing for 24 hours dry time between each layer. Would obviously help if you can access both sides of the crack and apply JB weld to both sides. I can't tell from the one picture if you have access to the otherside of the frame.

You might want to simply invest in new hinges as well. IIRC you should be able to find them on eBay relatively cheap I refreshed an old 15.4" T61 with new hinges and it really makes a world of difference. Hinges are definitely a weak point on these laptops and in terms of durability are just not up to the task in most cases.
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
AMD Phenom II 960T @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
Lenovo T61p 15.4" - Core 2 extreme X9000 CPU @ 3.4Ghz, SSD
Toshiba Satellite A505D - 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 80GB SSD

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#16 Post by jharrison29 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:33 pm

Great info, thanks. I have sourced a new frame on eBay (thanks RBS) and looked at hinges. There are both used hinges (USA) and new offerings from China. Have read poor things about China new hinges. For the price of frame & hinges I’m starting to ponder just getting a used top end off eBay. But I fear missing pixels, unknown damage, etc.

I’m currently in process of removing LCD. After removal will post pic of opposite side of crack. I like the JB Weld solution.

Could not find my Marvel oil so soaked hinge in fresh 10-30w motor oil. Noticable improvement and it’s back into the soak for more time. I think Marvel better solution (no pun here) and will pick it up and use that instead.

Even tho I will buy replacement parts I’m determined to fix this just for satisfaction of doing to.

Any ideas on getting the doublesided tape that is along the wdge of the LCD that holds down sections of the bezel?

jharrison29
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Reno, Nv.

Re: middleton question

#17 Post by jharrison29 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:00 pm

Link for other side of the crack. LCD removed, this is looking from screen side, lower right.
T61 broken frame due to stiff hinge

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests