Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X201s LED display in X200

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

X201s LED display in X200

#1 Post by WarMachine » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:30 am

Hello,

I'm willing to mod my X200 (CCFL / 1280x800) and I just purchased an X201s complete display with LED and a resolution of 1440x900.

I did the assembly and everything works fine but the LED of course, so I barely see something on the screen. What do I need to activate the LED ? I read a lot of things on the net but it's not really helpful. Could I use the inverter which is with the X200 display? I doubt it... I can install it under the screen, but I can't seem to plug it. Or do I have to buy another element? Would the 42W8009 inverter be the component I need ?

Thank you! :)

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1133
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#2 Post by TPFanatic » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:56 am

Did you disconnect or connect the LCD with power, the battery or AC adapter, still inserted? If so, that would blow the backlight fuse which would result in the LED backlight not turning on. You will need to replace or bridge the fuse to restore functionality.

I'm not sure if that's the only cause for a non-working backlight, so let's see what other responses there are.
lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#3 Post by WarMachine » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:19 am

Hello,

No battery, no AC adapter. I always unplug that if I do something on my hardware. :)
I'm pretty sure the lack of light is normal. With the X200, I have an inverter, not in the X201s one, and I don't think the X200 can manage alone an LED display if it's not the original display.

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1133
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#4 Post by TPFanatic » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:19 am

If by "X201s complete display" you mean the entire lid then the whole thing should just be plug and play.

Did the display come in an X201s lid with cable, status light board, bezel, etc.?

This page may be useful: https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/migr-71896
lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#5 Post by WarMachine » Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:08 pm

Hello,

Yes, I confirm, it's the upper part of the laptop.
I don't have an X201s on which I could test and with all I've read, I think what I have bought is not compatible with the X200 directly. I only don't know for sure what to do. I tought I may have to buy the inverter I mentionned earlier and perhaps a new cable ("7" on the link you gave me).

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#6 Post by WarMachine » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:30 pm

Any ideas ? :)

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19489
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:12 pm

Any complete lid from any x200/x200s/x201/x201s will fit an any of those models.
Assuming both lid and motherboard were working before the swap, then the new combo should also work.
Unless you did not properly attach the LCD-cable onto the motherboard connector and/or blew a fuse near that connector.
I've done several of those swaps and never had any problems.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#8 Post by WarMachine » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:03 pm

Hello,

Thanks for your answer.
If I put the original lid, everything is fine. If I put the X201s lid, no backlight. I've tried a couple of times, it's always the same. I've seen photos of the lid before my purchase and there was backlight.

If the fuse blew, should I have witnessed something ?

I'll try again to see what happen...

Thx ! :)

W.

Update : Well, nothing better, no backlight... :(
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19489
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:54 pm

Inspect both lid's cable-connectors under a magnifier to see if there is any difference and/or dirt in the X201s one.
Can you try that X201s-lid in another X2xx?
You sure you got the 'real' and same lid as advertised?

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#10 Post by WarMachine » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:36 am

Hello,

I've inspected the connectors and nothing seems abnormal, but I can of course check again (will do this evening). I can't unfortunately test the lid on another machine. These are very rare here in France... :( I've only seen one X201s to buy since I search one (two years more or less). The same for the X200s. The X200 is pretty rare, but less than the previous two and the X201 can be found easily (but only with the i5, have never seen one i7...).

Thank you ! :)

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19489
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:06 am

Try contacting forum member cfds (Yves).
He lives near Colmar (ca. 400 KM from Lyon), but last time I contacted him, he had one or more X201 and he knows a lot about them.

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#12 Post by WarMachine » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:29 am

Hello,

Thank you for your advice. :)
I will try to find a solution by myself. I wonder if it's possible to use the inverter and the cable assembly of the X200 on the X201s, in replacement of the X201s elements. It's probably not possible, but I'm curious.

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1133
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#13 Post by TPFanatic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:22 pm

No that won't be possible. The 1440x900 LCD needs its own special cable.

Have you ever seen this physical X201s display actually working? I'm thinking the display is actually defective and that is why it is not working.
lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

WarMachine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#14 Post by WarMachine » Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:58 pm

Hello,

Thank you for your answer. :) I've seen a pic of the lid while it was functional on the site where I bought it but here with me, never.
You're more than probably right, I think too it's defective. But if it's only the backlight, it's not a big deal. I can replace the cable assembly and the inverter and everything will be OK, won't it ?

W.
IBM ThinkPads 701Cs | 755Cs | 560 | 2x 600E | 2x T23 | X20 | X24 | 3x X31 | T41p | T42.
lenovo ThinkPads T60 4/3 | T60 16/10 | R60 | X60t | X61s | X61t | X301 | T400 | T400s | T410 | W500 | X200 | 2x X220 | T420s.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1133
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: X201s LED display in X200

#15 Post by TPFanatic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:37 pm

LED displays don't use an inverter. The extra board that plugs in is only for the indicator lights.

I think it's unlikely the cable is damaged that replacing the cable will fix it which also means taking apart an, until then, complete lid assembly. You can take a look at the protruding part of the cable and see if it looks damaged to you and make that judgement call yourself.

I'd try to get the lid assembly swapped with another one tested and known to work, or at least return your current one since it ain't working.

The screens by themselves are hard to find and are expensive, the cable would also be hard to find.

Good luck.
lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests