Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
endlessninja
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Chilliwack, BC, Canada

T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#1 Post by endlessninja » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:38 pm

Hey all.

Found a T150 (Type 4384-DJ3 S/N R9-B5X4P 11/01, Product ID 4384DJ3) that wouldn't turn on at all. I did some research, figured it was the CMOS battery, bought a new one, put it in, and it turned on. I noticed that it turned on without me turning on the power button, though. It happened while I was reinstalling the ribbon cable for the plastic housing that contains the touchpad. Whatever. I reformatted and installed windows, turned it off for the day.

Next day, won't turn on. Forgot about it turning on by itself, broke it down again, replugged the CMOS, keyboard ribbon, and plastic housing ribbon, no response from power button. Played with that plastic ribbon cable a bit while plugged in and it turned on by itself again. Felt like hot wiring a car.

It's nice I have this workaround to turn it on, but I'd really like a more conventional way of doing it, short of buying a new keyboard.

I figured out that you can set an option in BIOS, so it starts with AC power. I've used that. It's working for now. Not an ideal state though.

Still though, I'd like the power button to work. Anyone been in a similar situation and found a work-around or a repair that doesn't involve just buying a new keyboard? When on, the entire keyboard works ok, with exception of the power button. It's frustrating because the light for the power button is on ... it just doesn't work.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

pillboxhunter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:39 am
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#2 Post by pillboxhunter » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:18 pm

Power button on docking station - used that to turn on t410 with no keyboard.

Geartooth
Freshman Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:35 am
Location: Ponyville, Equestria / Hong Kong

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#3 Post by Geartooth » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:20 am

Second the Dock- they work wonders.
Your local Friendly Equestrian.

My Collection: X60, T60, X61, X200, X200s, X220i, T420, X130e, X240

Sold:E6320, X1C1

MacBook Air 2C4T hahaha

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:17 am

Third the dock! Not to mention I've tried it in the exact same scenario as you, with another T510.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

w0qj
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#5 Post by w0qj » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:44 am

I have a ThinkPad Mini Port Replicator Series 3 that works with my T410; it's sitting around gather dust, not being used ;)
(WiFi printing removes much of the need for USB connected printers).

***I THINK it works also for T510, since this one worked for both my T410 and X230.
(It has 4x USB 2.0 ports).

ThinkPad Mini Port Replicator Series 3 (Product no: 4336-xxx)
www.thinkscopes.com/2012/11/10/thinkpad ... replicator
Daily Driver: X1 Carbon 4th Gen (X1C4): i7 | 16GB | 1TB | IPS WQHD | LTE WWAN | Win7 Pro
Current Thinkpads: X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

Mightyena
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:58 pm
Location: London, England

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#6 Post by Mightyena » Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:56 am

Also, does the T410 have a fingerprint reader or an option in the BIOS to power up when the AC addapter is inserted? When the motherboard connector for the power butto broke on my X1, I used that and the fingerprint reader to start it up
In regular use:
T440p, T420, X230, X1

Part of the collection:
T61p, X201, X220, X300, X301, X100e, T61(14"), T61(15.4") 2xX200

Pending TLC:
T60, X240, T440

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T510. Power Button Inoperable? Work-around?

#7 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 1:12 pm

T410 can have a finger print reader installed but it is only of use in Windows.

There should be an option for that. I don't know where. Ut likely under the boot menu.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests