Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Compaq Armada 7730MT

Talk about "WhatEVER !"..
Post Reply
Message
Author
General9913
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:42 pm
Location: Embu, Brazil

Compaq Armada 7730MT

#1 Post by General9913 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:37 pm

Hi, how do you do?

My Compaq Armada 7730MT doesn't turn on. What happens is I get 3 green lights on Caps Lock, Scroll Lock and Num Lock whenever I plug it in, and it won't turn on. Battery is dead so I can't use it either. Funny thing is that I can open the cd drive and put a cd in there and it spins like the system is actually on. And I can feel the processor and other components getting warm in the meantime, so there's power going through the motherboard, but I don't know if it's enough to actually turn it on and boot the system.

I think the internal power supply might be the problem because there is plastic or something melted inside of it. Trouble is I can't find the exact model for it which is a 45W 18.75V 3.2A power supply. I'm wondering if I can use a Compaq Armada E700 internal power supply 50W 18.5V 2.7A.

What do you think?

Thanks!
Thinkpad X31 Type 2672 Pentium M 705 1.5 Ghz 2GB RAM 40GB HDD Win XP Professional
Thinkpad T60 Type 1951 Core 2 Duo T7400 2.16 Ghz 3GB RAM 60GB HDD Win 7 Home Premium

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19726
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Compaq Armada 7730MT

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:49 pm

The other power supply should be fine (but probably only for light work).
Have you tried an external monitor?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly! :mrgreen:
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

General9913
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:42 pm
Location: Embu, Brazil

Re: Compaq Armada 7730MT

#3 Post by General9913 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:45 pm

Yes, assuming it's the power supply fault! :lol: I guess I'd need to test it with a volt meter.

Yes, I tried an external monitor. No luck unfortunately...

These old white Armada models have the bios installed to the HDD instead of a ROM on the motherboard. I don't know if it's an issue but what seems to be a cmos battery, 7.4V rechargeable green battery is dead.

Thanks!
Thinkpad X31 Type 2672 Pentium M 705 1.5 Ghz 2GB RAM 40GB HDD Win XP Professional
Thinkpad T60 Type 1951 Core 2 Duo T7400 2.16 Ghz 3GB RAM 60GB HDD Win 7 Home Premium

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Compaq Armada 7730MT

#4 Post by Screamer » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:53 am

If your Armada's battery is still left connected to the motherboard, disconnect it. Then hold down the F10 key and the power button (not the slider), see if that makes your Armada boot up.

A 7.4V green CMOS battery? Is that CMOS battery a lithium battery, or a NiCd, or a NiMH? I'm curious.

General9913
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:42 pm
Location: Embu, Brazil

Re: Compaq Armada 7730MT

#5 Post by General9913 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:58 pm

I've disconnected the battery and the bios battery and tried to boot while holding down F10 and the power button but nope, it still refuses to turn on.

Yes, a 7.4V green CMOS battery, it's a NiCd one. I wonder if it has anything to do with this cmos battery either, it's dead and I don't know if it's required to turn on this old laptop. I gotta tell ya, why oh why Compaq decided to place the bios on the HDD? :mrgreen:
Thinkpad X31 Type 2672 Pentium M 705 1.5 Ghz 2GB RAM 40GB HDD Win XP Professional
Thinkpad T60 Type 1951 Core 2 Duo T7400 2.16 Ghz 3GB RAM 60GB HDD Win 7 Home Premium

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Compaq Armada 7730MT

#6 Post by Screamer » Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:51 am

Well, darn. I suppose that you could try replacing that dead CMOS battery, though I don't see a reason why it would not boot up without a CMOS battery installed.

NiCd? God, that CMOS battery might start leaking sooner or later. I had one NiMH CMOS battery that leaked inside my Satellite 2595XDVD, and that was not very safe at all.

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests