Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Win (7) Install for multiple T400 (with diff grafics)

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
jwege
Freshman Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:10 am
Location: Karlsruhe Germany

Win (7) Install for multiple T400 (with diff grafics)

#1 Post by jwege » Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:38 am

Hi,

I purchased three refurbished T400 (including valid WIN Licenses) and was hoping they would be "identical" so I could re-use my (relatively complex) setup on each machine by cloning the HDD (or even swap it) and only "correct" the Win key and also, if one machine would break, use the spare one to replace it.

Unfortunately, that (tried swapping disks first) works only with two out of the three. Starting the disk in the other gets me a blue screen with LENOVOBUS.SYS (or similar) error - i could post a screenshot if that helps. I guess that it's the video driver as that is the major difference I could figure out so far (is there, by the way, any program that could do such a cross-machine-check?).

In earlier Win Versions, there were hardware-profiles that I guess could have solved the problem by making one "native" profile that does not activate some devices and use that to make one for the odd machine.

Win7 does unfortunately not support that anymore.

Does anybody have solved such an issue or can direct me how to make it? One (major) reasosn I purchased three was to have one as a "backup" machine, if one of the two "majors" would break ... but for now, this plan is corrupted by hardware.

Thanks in advance.
R30, R31, T42, R50, R52, T61, T400, DELL XPS and some other "regular stuff" pc's.
Addicted to Music, Lotus Notes, Internet of Things, Home Automation and the use of a PC as a modern tool.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8062
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Win (7) Install for multiple T400 (with diff grafics)

#2 Post by dr_st » Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:19 pm

What you want should be possible.

I am not familiar with anything called LENOVOBUS.SYS. A screenshot of the exact error would help.

Does the problematic machine start OK in safe mode?
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20291
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Win (7) Install for multiple T400 (with diff grafics)

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:28 am

T400 has either fully integrated (Intel) or switchable (ATI/Intel) graphics.
The latter option has a BIOS setting to select this.
They need different drivers, so that may be your problem.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests