Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
smf
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:52 am
Location: Methuen, Ma. USA

I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#1 Post by smf » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:27 am

i dont currently have machine on hand but the model is: 2653-a4u a31p, where can I find Specs?
thx.
JIM
Last edited by smf on Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16650
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2563-a4u a31p

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:02 am

You may want to verify that model number again, and then click on the MTM link at the top of the page. Right now I'm not getting anything when I put in the code that you provided.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

smf
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:52 am
Location: Methuen, Ma. USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2563-a4u a31p

#3 Post by smf » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:04 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:02 am
You may want to verify that model number again, and then click on the MTM link at the top of the page. Right now I'm not getting anything when I put in the code that you provided.

Good luck.
it is indeed 2653-a4u, though?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16650
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2563-a4u a31p

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:06 am

smf wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:04 am
ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:02 am
You may want to verify that model number again, and then click on the MTM link at the top of the page. Right now I'm not getting anything when I put in the code that you provided.

Good luck.
it is indeed 2653-a4u, though?
Hmm...I'd be inclined to say R4U. Are you getting the reading from the BIOS page or from the sticker on the bottom ?
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

smf
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:52 am
Location: Methuen, Ma. USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#5 Post by smf » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:17 pm

Well ajkula66, to tell ya the truth, it be up in da repair shop right now so i'm going off what the gentleman informed me, over the phone from the pc shop, but thts def what he gave me?

sorry if i wasted ur time.
thnk's
JIM

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16650
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#6 Post by ajkula66 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:47 pm

smf wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:17 pm
Well ajkula66, to tell ya the truth, it be up in da repair shop right now so i'm going off what the gentleman informed me, over the phone from the pc shop, but thts def what he gave me?

sorry if i wasted ur time.
thnk's
JIM
Well, let's discuss this further when you get the machine back. Then I can walk you through looking the MTM up and we'll take it from there.

If there's no BT in the system it can be installed but it's somewhat of a PITA.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

smf
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:52 am
Location: Methuen, Ma. USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#7 Post by smf » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:58 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:47 pm
smf wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:17 pm
Well ajkula66, to tell ya the truth, it be up in da repair shop right now so i'm going off what the gentleman informed me, over the phone from the pc shop, but thts def what he gave me?

sorry if i wasted ur time.
thnk's
JIM
Well, let's discuss this further when you get the machine back. Then I can walk you through looking the MTM up and we'll take it from there.

If there's no BT in the system it can be installed but it's somewhat of a PITA.
Lol, well i've come across these fancy little usb adapters that will enable an otherwise blutoothless pc, into being blu t. capable via adapter, too if not. idk, what do you think about those lol! Also, you've mentioned to me, that there are two different BIOS updates for my A31p, Which is why it is of much important to find out the subset model which he said he read it as 2653-a4u, but he may be misreading it, Having the incorrect Bios update I could be why the thing's freezing up in the first place!

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16650
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#8 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:09 pm

smf wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:58 pm
Also, you've mentioned to me, that there are two different BIOS updates for my A31p, Which is why it is of much important to find out the subset model which he said he read it as 2653-a4u, but he may be misreading it, Having the incorrect Bios update I could be why the thing's freezing up in the first place!
As I said, let's wait for the machine to get back in your hands.

Incorrect BIOS update - if forced - will brick the system, not make it freeze. If your machine is indeed freezing, that's likely due to a different problem. Bad RAM slot or a flaky motherboard come to mind, but once again, reply once you get the system back.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

smf
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:52 am
Location: Methuen, Ma. USA

Re: I wonder if this A31p is bluetooth capable? How to check? 2653-a4u a31p

#9 Post by smf » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:37 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:09 pm
smf wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:58 pm
Also, you've mentioned to me, that there are two different BIOS updates for my A31p, Which is why it is of much important to find out the subset model which he said he read it as 2653-a4u, but he may be misreading it, Having the incorrect Bios update I could be why the thing's freezing up in the first place!
As I said, let's wait for the machine to get back in your hands.

Incorrect BIOS update - if forced - will brick the system, not make it freeze. If your machine is indeed freezing, that's likely due to a different problem. Bad RAM slot or a flaky motherboard come to mind, but once again, reply once you get the system back.
Wow, you know your stuff, yeah its the ram slot, it's being repaired and I supplied him with a 256gb IDE SSD 2Gbs of new 2100 ddr ram, and the 2.60ghz P4, so when I get it back, it will be a Beast of an A31P!!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests