Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W510 with T510 MOBO

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Python.p
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:28 am
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

W510 with T510 MOBO

#1 Post by Python.p » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:47 am

Any body have experience with mobo swap?

I know, it is nessery to get another CPU heatsink. I have decent W510 with dead GPU, but i don´t need it. So i have a idea to swap therre T510 mobo.

Any ideas and problems?

THX
X201s with WXGA+ - "WKS"
W700 - Old-school gaming machine... (not moded yet)
past: X301,X220,T420,T42p,T61p,T400,X60,X31, 760c, 360CS, 560E....

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20565
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:12 am

Should be a straight swap, except T510 will only have 2 RAM slots.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#3 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:32 am

You will need a dual core CPU as well. T510 and W510 cannot interchange CPUs, T510 uses Arrandale dual core first generation i3, i5, or i7 while W510 uses Clarksfield quads.
lenovo T420 i7 2670qm 16GB QHD + eGPU GTX 960
lenovo T430s i5 3230m 16GB QHD w/ optimus(RIP), lenovo T430 i5 3320m 8GB FHD, lenovo T500 P9700 8GB WUXGA(LED) w/ switchable graphics
Enable 2 finger scroll on old Synaptics touchpads with registry.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20565
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:26 am

You are correct, the most powerful T510 CPU is i7-620M.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

ThreeIguanasPerSecond
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:17 am
Location: Washington, Illinois

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#5 Post by ThreeIguanasPerSecond » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:12 am

i did, wasn't a nice experience with the W510's motherboards being unclear in general. keep in mind that there are two types of motherboards meant for the W510, one supports only the Clarkdale-based CPUs (also known as Arrandale), and the other supports only Lynnfield-based CPUs (also known as Clarksfield). you can identify them by checking the amount of SO-DIMM slots the motherboard has, as the Clarksfield-only motherboard will have 4 SO-DIMM slots, the Arrandale-only motherboard will have 2 SO-DIMM slots. took me a while to realize that part.

there will be no problems if your W510 has an Arrandale-only motherboard, if it's a Clarksfield-only motherboard, you'll have to obtain an Arrandale CPU (e.g. 390M, 580M, 640M). no Clarksfield CPU will work in the T510's motherboard as it lacks the CPU microcode and proper APIC support.
2011~2013: R40 (2724-BAG)
2014~2016: SL510 (2847-9AG)

Python.p
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:28 am
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#6 Post by Python.p » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:42 am

I have unit with 4 RAM slots. FRU: 75Y4115. With i7-820qm so I have Clarksfield CPU and MOBO. (4391-AK3)

So I´m screw up, because I need T510 with i7-620M... (or another slower CPU)

That´s a pity. Cause The W510 is like brand new, no sights of use. But there is dead GPU :( It cost me 50 USD... so now is time to find somebody to reflow/reball it.

Thank you so much.
X201s with WXGA+ - "WKS"
W700 - Old-school gaming machine... (not moded yet)
past: X301,X220,T420,T42p,T61p,T400,X60,X31, 760c, 360CS, 560E....

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#7 Post by TPFanatic » Sat Jan 18, 2020 8:20 pm

What about upgrading with a W520 or T520 motherboard?
lenovo T420 i7 2670qm 16GB QHD + eGPU GTX 960
lenovo T430s i5 3230m 16GB QHD w/ optimus(RIP), lenovo T430 i5 3320m 8GB FHD, lenovo T500 P9700 8GB WUXGA(LED) w/ switchable graphics
Enable 2 finger scroll on old Synaptics touchpads with registry.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20565
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jan 19, 2020 12:37 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

Python.p
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:28 am
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: W510 with T510 MOBO

#9 Post by Python.p » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:00 am

TPFanatic: To be honest, I don´t think about it at all... I have to check local marketplaces. I have "spare" i7qm in my T420, so i can swap CPU to W. And use i5 or whatever to T420.

RBS: Thank you for you interest and effort, but now I have to looking newer MOBO T/W 520. :lol:
X201s with WXGA+ - "WKS"
W700 - Old-school gaming machine... (not moded yet)
past: X301,X220,T420,T42p,T61p,T400,X60,X31, 760c, 360CS, 560E....

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests