Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Can I reasonably run Adobe CC 2018?

W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
RoxyRose
Sophomore Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: New York

Can I reasonably run Adobe CC 2018?

#1 Post by RoxyRose » Sun May 24, 2020 8:34 pm

I have had my W510 for a long time. I don't want to give it up unless I upgrade to something like a P52. I used to be able to get 15-30 FPS preview in After Effects CC2015. After I upgraded to 2018, I was getting barely 5FPS. I put in an SSD, and my project was running 30FPS until Adobe ate all my memory and fell hard. Do you think if I upgrade my ram to 32gb, I can still use my favorite beast? And if so, what speed should I be using? Should I consider upgrading my cpu as well?
Specs:
Intel Core i7 720QM @ 1.60GHz
1024MB NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
1 x 4GB PC3-10700, 2 x 2GB PC3-10700
480gb SATA-III 6.0Gb/s SSD

RoxyRose
Sophomore Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: New York

Re: Can I reasonably run Adobe CC 2018?

#2 Post by RoxyRose » Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:32 pm

Thanks! Ironically, the W510s have been going for a pretty penny recently,probably because of the pandemic. I just upgraded the ram to 16gb and the preview will run real-time for about a min and it will completely takeover 75% of the ram and then drop to 5FPS. Is there a setting I am missing? It seems to not be releasing the ram for the next part of the preview. I do like your idea. My partner is looking for a system, so maybe I can get one for him. Great suggestions.
T43p 2.13ghz

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests