Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

X200/X201/X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300/X301 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
OhYou_
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Espoo Finland

x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#1 Post by OhYou_ » Thu Sep 22, 2022 4:46 pm

So I took one of these adapters for a T420/T430 and re-soldered all the wires in the connector to match the pinout of the x301.
It seems to work fine.
I havent yet found a panel that will fit within the lid of the x301 though.
current panel is out of a t460s , I've tested it on a x300 and a x301 so far.

Has anyone else messed with these adapters any? I would ideally like to dump the rom and poke through it as currently it does not seem to work with 1920x1200 panels, though I've tested it on just one panel.
Does anyone know where I can get these cables manufactured in low volume? I'd like at least two more but I am not making more myself.

picrel
https://files.catbox.moe/13deid.jpg

FORUM warning:
picture(s) WAY too big, tags removed. Please read the Forum Rules, especially Section 5: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14339

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1680
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#2 Post by TPFanatic » Thu Sep 22, 2022 7:24 pm

You're a legend.

Back in the day I remember seeing kits made for the 15" models (eg. T520). I haven't seen them for sale in a long time. On another tangent I've seen one person power up a 15.6" LCD on a T410, not really for practical use, and personally I ran a T410 LCD on a T420 base once, so I know there is some interoperability between the different sized displays. Meanwhile I once tried running a T420 LCD on a T410s and blew up something due to different pinouts.

I think you're the first to (publicly) adapt something on the X300 series. This has potential to be a game changer for X300 enthusiasts.
lenovo T420 i5 2520m 16GB QHD, X330 i7 3615QE 16GB WQXGA, P71 i7 7700HQ 40GB 4K, and too many more...
Enable 2 finger scroll on old Synaptics touchpads.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#3 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Sep 22, 2022 10:24 pm

The T420 has 2-channel LVDS in order to support its 1600x900 screen, and the added channel has enough bandwidth to support 1920x1080 and even 2560x1440 screens. The X300/301 and T400/410 (all variants), only has 1-channel LVDS, which is limited to 1440x900 @ 60Hz.

I think the only way to get higher-resolution screens to work is via the Displayport, which the X301 and T400s have, but the X300 doesn't.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

OhYou_
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Espoo Finland

Re: x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#4 Post by OhYou_ » Thu Sep 22, 2022 10:54 pm

Thanks, yeah these adapter kits have been around since i think 2018 for the t420/30s, but it seems they work fine on a lot more with a little bit of soldering.

a bit more I should add though, So this actually converts the x301 lvds to eDP. So it opens up quite a fair bit of panel compatibility, but fitment is the issue.
I did a bit of math and some of the newer 14in panels have very thin borders and will actually fit. I found the very popular N140HCG-GQ2 is just barely able to fit. I dont have one to test yet but I have one on order.
The bezel actually doesnt need to shrink in height, it should be close enough, but it will become wider considerably.
Both the hinges and the RF cables are in the way, I may be able to trim the hinges and use the antennas from the t460s or similar
There is also no reason the 1440p adapter cable wouldnt also work, but I dont think the gpu will handle it with a modern DE

I'm hoping to make some game changes to the x300/1 yes, because I really enjoy it's size and weight. I cant justify a x200 at the prices they unfortunately go for now, so It's seemingly a solid next choice for a libreboot laptop. The stock screen stopped me though, it's not just bad, it's unusable. It physically hurts my eyes and brings ruin to my day. This already feels so much better to use even if its just taped on currently
axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Sep 22, 2022 10:24 pm
The T420 has 2-channel LVDS in order to support its 1600x900 screen, and the added channel has enough bandwidth to support 1920x1080 and even 2560x1440 screens. The X300/301 and T400/410 (all variants), only has 1-channel LVDS, which is limited to 1440x900 @ 60Hz.
it is 2 channel, or it is at least wired for it in the schematic.
it should be or else it wouldnt work I feel

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22993
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

Re: x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Sep 22, 2022 11:19 pm

Have a look at this FHD screen: https://www.panelook.com/NV133FHM-T03_B ... 45524.html
Outline Size: 300.26(W)×187.95(H) ×3(D) mm
It's from X390/X13 etc.
No idea if it even fits...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1)

OhYou_
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Espoo Finland

Re: x300, x301, t400s*, ?? screen upgrade option

#6 Post by OhYou_ » Fri Sep 23, 2022 10:56 am

yes a 13.3 is a good go to if you dont want to completely cut one up
unfortunately you would have to go down to a 13.0 or 12.8 or so to avoid cutting the bezel
I do not like the much shorter height of it though

Also to add a bit less confusions in the future, so the x220 edp mod I believe would tap into the DP lanes that go to the port replicator, and the x301 doesnt have.
the x220 doesnt use any of the sandy bridge PEG pins, instead all of its displayports come from the panther point PCH
x301, the displayport is connected directly to the cantiga-gm peg tx pins.
x301 cantiga-gm does have 16 lanes for peg, but the other 12 are not terminated and you would need a plx chip to splot the single 16 lane to four 4 lane, and at that point you are lifting the cantiga and sandwiching a breakout pcb between and questioning your life choices
the x301 ich9m south bridge doesnt have any digital display interface support like the x220
so for these reasons I do not believe it is possible to replicate the mod of the x220 without losing the displayport
it is also displayport 1.1..? and does not support MST so no hub.

it looks like my screen comes in a week so I will find out then how well it fits

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/X201/X220 and X300/X301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests