Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

My phone isn't compatible with any network

Talk about "WhatEVER !"..
Post Reply
Message
Author
ThinkPad560X
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania

My phone isn't compatible with any network

#1 Post by ThinkPad560X » Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:27 am

So I keep getting messages from Verizon about upgrading my phone. It is a 2007 Motorola Razr V3m. I bought it new back in 2007 and still like new. Only went through 4 batteries for its entire life cycle "OEM ones that is to" The battery is dying here and there from age but I think because it is trying to look for network as it has 3 bars. I have a SONY Xperia Z2 which I use as my camera as my older Sony digital camera broke and it ate X2 AA batteries fast for some reason compared to the phone that takes better quality pictures. The phone was new in box and as said used for camera only. It is nice as it has the PlayStation interface and sound of the PS3 buttons.

I went to the Verizon store to switch over and activate the Sony phone and got told the phone is too old to activate. I think the Xperia Z2 is a 2014-2015 phone as it has date on box. But my Razr is way older. So I left with my Razr and made a call and the phone just started dropping calls. Later I went online and ordered a Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra "Want to keep with Sony brand" and find out from getting the IMEI that the phone isn't going to work on Verizon or even was told to go to Mint Mobile and it isn't compatible either. That phone is a 2019. It sad I have good working taken care of Phones and can't use them. Even my ThinkPad T500 can run windows 11 if I want it too and that is a 2008 machine. This is why I don't care for the smartphone side of electronics, can only use them for a total of 3-4 years before you are forced to upgrade again, and pay the 1K-3K price for select phone you want everytime.
IBM: 760XD,770Z,600X,560X,560Z,570,380Z,390X,i1200,i1400,
A22m,A22e,A30,G40,R31,R40,R50,R60,R61,R400,R500,
T20,T23,T30,T40,T43,T60,T61,T400,T400s,T500,T500 CUSTOM,W500,W700,
X21,X30,X41,X41T,X60,X60T,X200,X300,X120e,Z60m,Z61t,T410,T410s,T510,T420,T420s,T520,T430,T430s,T530,SL500

itshenry002
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 3:39 am
Location: Spammer, added to StopForumSpam DB

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#2 Post by itshenry002 » Tue Oct 18, 2022 3:54 am

Clearing all app-related cache files is the first step in repairing the installation compatibility problem on the Google Play Store. As an Android user, you frequently encounter specific apps on the Google Play Store that display compatibility difficulties when you try to install them. Therefore, unless corrected, these apps cannot be downloaded straight from the Play Store..

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3395
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#3 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Oct 18, 2022 8:13 am

1. The Z2 won't even work on Verizon because it's a GSM phone, while Verizon operates a CDMA network (which it will shut down soon). One possible solution to your Sony camera is to get a 14500 LiFePO4 rechargeable battery and a dummy spacer-- 14500 is the same size as AA, LiFePO4 is 3.2v so you only need 1 battery, but you need and AA-sized electrically conductive spacer that will bridge the empty space.

2. I don't get the issue with the XA2 Ultra and Mint Mobile, since AFAIK they're both GSM/LTE (Mint uses T-Mobile network right?).

3. The problem with older smartphones is the eventual decay due to the fact that the OS doesn't get updates anymore. Case in point: right now I'm using my brother's Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0" (circa 2013) as an e-book reader, and had problems even finding an e-book app that would even install on Android 4.4.2.

It's one thing that Microsoft got right with their later Windows Mobile phones-- OS updates were not up to the phone manufacturers themselves, but to Microsoft directly.

There are noble efforts like Postmarket OS which extends Alpine Linux so it can be used in Android smartphones, tablets and similar gear, but of course device support is sparse, and not all features are supported. :cry:
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#4 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:47 pm

I have T-Mobile which still supports the older Xperias. This arrangement works for me since I am hung up on Sony's "Compact" lineup of handsets, being the last phones that fit deep in a pocket, with the entire screen usable with one hand, and mass low enough not to self-destruct on impact...
lenovo T420 i5 2520m 16GB QHD, X330 i7 3615QE 16GB WQXGA, P71 i7 7700HQ 40GB 4K, and too many more...
Enable 2 finger scroll on old Synaptics touchpads.

ThinkPad560X
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am
Location: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#5 Post by ThinkPad560X » Tue Oct 18, 2022 3:10 pm

I tried the IMEI on T-mobile, mint, Verizon and AT&T. Unless they don't want to activate older phones to sell you a new one. I think your phone has to be 2 years old or newer for them to want to activate. I did buy a Windows phone before and Verizon wouldn't active it as well.
For new new phones they are giving you less and charging more. They removed the AUX jack and now they are getting rid of the internal MicroSD card slot. On a form I was reading the Phone man. want to be like Apple and you have to pick your storage on purchase. That is why I want to use one of the phones that has these ports. I didn't like that they glued the battery in along with the back, Buy I just open the back cover and can take battery out when I want.
IBM: 760XD,770Z,600X,560X,560Z,570,380Z,390X,i1200,i1400,
A22m,A22e,A30,G40,R31,R40,R50,R60,R61,R400,R500,
T20,T23,T30,T40,T43,T60,T61,T400,T400s,T500,T500 CUSTOM,W500,W700,
X21,X30,X41,X41T,X60,X60T,X200,X300,X120e,Z60m,Z61t,T410,T410s,T510,T420,T420s,T520,T430,T430s,T530,SL500

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3395
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Oct 18, 2022 11:15 pm

Unless they don't want to activate older phones to sell you a new one.
That sounds like a real corporate reason TBH.
They removed the AUX jack and now they are getting rid of the internal MicroSD card slot.
The phone I'm using now, a Samsung A52 (circa early 2021), still has both.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

TTY
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:39 pm
Location: graz, austria

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#7 Post by TTY » Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:58 pm

Verizon will shut down its 3G network on December 31, 2022. If you want to be able to make voice calls on the Verizon network after that, you need a voice-over-LTE (VoLTE)-capable handset. Several prerequisites will be necessary in order to use VoLTE. Your handset must be capable of VoLTE, VoLTE must be turned on in the phone, your phone might need operator-customized system software and your subscription must support VoLTE. On this page, Sony lists the Xperia models that will be able to make voice calls after 3G shutdown:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/suppor ... s/00256795

Sony support instructions on how to turn on VoLTE:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/suppor ... s/SX669701

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17262
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: My phone isn't compatible with any network

#8 Post by ajkula66 » Thu Nov 24, 2022 12:44 pm

You may want to try talking - pun intended - to Pure Talk which uses the ATT GSM network. I've had older devices working there until recently with no issues whatsoever.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

One FlexView to rule them all: A31p

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Off-Topic Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests