Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

E7K100 vs 7K100. Change firmware?? Possible?

T40/T41/T42/T43 Series
Message
Author
agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

E7K100 vs 7K100. Change firmware?? Possible?

#1 Post by agarza » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:24 am

I bought a NEW Hitachi 60GB HDD E7K100 which is exactly the same as the 7K100 only intended to run in blade servers, got it at 90 USD!

The drive functions OK, but I was wondering, if there could be a way to install the 7K100 firmware into the E7K100 because I believe I read somewhere on the NET that internally are the same, only with different tweaks on the firmware.

And since I want a quieter HDD (not running all the time) could this be possible?
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

djpharoah
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Irvine, California
Contact:

#2 Post by djpharoah » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:55 am

Doubt it - the E7k series is probably different hardware instead of just different firmware.
T400 14.1" WXGA+ LCD / T9400 / 4GB / 160gb / ATi+Intel GFX / 9C / W7 64
T42p 14" SXGA+ / 2.0GHz / 1.5GB / 60GB / 2 x 6C / XP
T40 14" XGA / 1.7GHz / 1GB / 40GB / 9C / XP
T40 14" SXGA+ / 1.7GHz / 1GB / 40GB / 6C / XP
Sold: A31, A31p, A20m, T20, T23

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#3 Post by agarza » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:27 am

djpharoah wrote:Doubt it - the E7k series is probably different hardware instead of just different firmware.
Don't remember where, but I read a review saying the differences between these 2 HDD is the firmware, not hardware.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

tom_k
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: UN Germany

#4 Post by tom_k » Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:00 pm

@benottomex

I`m sad to tell you that 7K100 is not the same as the E7K100(also bought one),
the Difference ist a decisive lower maximum working Teperature,
and less power saving states of the "E"
Here`s an excellent post from brentpresley in this thread, describing the exact differences.

regards tom_k

btw, i still use it in my T40.
Sometimes i think its alive, always goes up to 37°C,
but (nearly) never exceeds that temperature, absolute Maximum was 38° (maybe it had some fever or so :)

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#5 Post by agarza » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:50 pm

Ok.

Thanks for the link
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

Change firmware, so is possible?

#6 Post by agarza » Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:33 pm

I'm quite happy with my E7K100 drive, however, when I left the laptop ON all the night, I can hear the drive spinning, making a sound.

Is there a way, maybe a Hitachi tool, or maybe a tweak in the firmware to allow the drive to silent itself and stop that spinning noise??
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

christopher_wolf
Special Member
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Contact:

Re: Change firmware, so is possible?

#7 Post by christopher_wolf » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:27 pm

benottomex wrote:I'm quite happy with my E7K100 drive, however, when I left the laptop ON all the night, I can hear the drive spinning, making a sound.

Is there a way, maybe a Hitachi tool, or maybe a tweak in the firmware to allow the drive to silent itself and stop that spinning noise??
Yes, there is the PowerBooster 2K tool from Hitachi GST and the E7K100 should support nearly all of the powersaving modes. Some of the more aggresive power saving modes aren't supported on the E7K100 but are on the more laptop oriented ones.

There is also a boot-time utility you can use to fine tune the drive properties, but I am less sure of this as I am not as familiar with the E7K100 drive when it comes to how it throttles its power-usage *automatically*, being as it is a slimline HDD designed for 24/7 blade operation, as compared to most other laptop HDDs. Hence, it might just be easier to use the PowerBooster 2K utility as that gives you real time software control of the drive and the ability to "titrate" the power usage and see the results without going through more hassle than is ultimately necessary. :)
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#8 Post by agarza » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:53 pm

Ok, I'll try the powerboast utility and see what happens

Edit: It doesnt recognize the drive being ACPI:

img]http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/4065 ... termm2.jpg[/img]

:roll: :roll: :? :shock: :x :?

Note from Moderator: Don't put that image back without a warning in the subject line.
Last edited by agarza on Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

nirvana0001
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 12:39 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

#9 Post by nirvana0001 » Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:21 pm

remember..........there's nothing impossible on the world
2008 Alienware M9750 - 17" WUXGA C2D 2.0Ghz 4GB SLI 7950GTX 100GB+200GB
2007 Sony UX280p - 4.5" SVGA Core solo 1.2Ghz 1GB Ram 40GB HDD XP Pro
2007 Macbook Pro - 15.4" WSXGA C2D 2.33Ghz 2GB X1600 256MB 120GB

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#10 Post by agarza » Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:50 pm

nirvana0001 wrote:remember..........there's nothing impossible on the world
Encouraging words...

I'm still wondering how nirvana got his T43 to run so cool when idling.

I've also the task to make my T41p run more cool.
Is it normal that the E7K100 & E7K100 series HDD get extremely hot when using them in normal circumstances?
When I close the LID, then I open it up after 4 hours or so and the palmrest area above the HDD is even hotter than the keyboard on the left side where the heatsink is located.

I think this is because the drive (E7K100) never turns off itself, contrary to the 7K100.

I'm still convinced that there should be a tweak to change the firmware. Just like in Sony Ericsson cellphones (You can flash the firmware's version on a K750i to make it a Walkman W800 branded) Same functions, but different brandings.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

christopher_wolf
Special Member
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Contact:

#11 Post by christopher_wolf » Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:50 am

So that means the E7K100 is more spartan when it comes to power saving features than I thought. At least you didn't have to reboot several times to find that out. :)

The E7K100 is designed for 24/7 operation, so I don't think they were expecting it to shut off except when the machine was off.

There is a firmware flash guide around here somewhere, but it explicitly states that you shouldn't try it on an E7K100 HDD if I remember correctly. Probably because it contains refernces to those power saving features that the E7K100 may, physically, just not have. :|
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#12 Post by agarza » Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:15 pm

christopher_wolf wrote: There is a firmware flash guide around here somewhere, but it explicitly states that you shouldn't try it on an E7K100 HDD if I remember correctly. Probably because it contains refernces to those power saving features that the E7K100 may, physically, just not have. :|
Yes, indeed the drive runs 24/7 all the time. It gets hot, but NHC report the max temp being 42C.

I think I may not try the flash guide you're referring to, unless I confirm the dealer who sold me the drive could offer me a replacement.

But any 7K100 user could confirm if their drive generate a lot of heat after several hours of usage?
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

christopher_wolf
Special Member
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Contact:

#13 Post by christopher_wolf » Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:41 pm

I have a 7K100 that I use as one of my Ultrabay HDDs and I have also used it as the primary on my T43. I didn't peg at high temperatures for nothing. If I was running a defrag loop on it, then a surface scan, then an AV scan, only then could I get it to get up to 45°C. Even for intensive use, it didn't go above 37~39°C unless I wanted to figure out a way to get it past those temperatures intentionally. Same thermal behavior in both the Primary HDD and 2nd Ultrabay HDD positions as far as I can determine. :)
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#14 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:25 am

So the 7K100 is really recommended for home usage.
My E7K100 runs like crazy, spinning always. Guess I'll have to get a 7K100.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

tom_k
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: UN Germany

#15 Post by tom_k » Wed Sep 27, 2006 4:43 am

i can send my HD`s (e7k100/pm + st94011a/sm) to sleep(=stop)
by hitting FN+F3 (T40 98se/acpi)

swapping should be disabled, using a ramdisk also helps to keep it sleeping

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#16 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:21 am

tom_k wrote:i can send my HD`s (e7k100/pm + st94011a/sm) to sleep(=stop)
by hitting FN+F3 (T40 98se/acpi)

swapping should be disabled, using a ramdisk also helps to keep it sleeping
How using a ramdisk??

I've a 5400rpm drive in the Ultrabay and use it to download stuff.
The comb Fn+F3 in Win XP what is it?

I dont want to put to sleep both drives, only the primary with the WinXP Os installed
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

GomJabbar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9872
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am

#17 Post by GomJabbar » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:40 am

Fn + F3 usually just turns off the LCD display.
DKB

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#18 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:44 am

Yes, that's right.
I use Fn+F3 all the time.

But guess my HDD is never gonna stop spinning.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

GomJabbar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9872
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am

#19 Post by GomJabbar » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:06 am

Did you set the Power Scheme in Battery Maximiser Wizard to turn off the hard drive after so many minutes? Or if you don't use that, what about setting it in Power Options, in Windows Control Panel?
DKB

tom_k
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: UN Germany

#20 Post by tom_k » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:38 am

i know fn + f3 is for lcd-off, but it also stops hd`s, e7k100 + st94011a
(which is logic : closing lid often means TP is moved, so better secure the disks)
just tested it once again (i could make a clip if doubtful),
1st : hd`s shut down + 98se shows a message "preparing to turn off monitor
(btw, 98se/apm on my T23 blanks screen + stops hd`s instantly without message)
2nd: screen blank , hd wakes up for a sec (imo win forgot to write something;) ,
then stopping again (this is "normal" behaviour) until system wake uo
sometimes , like in this case, waking up a 2nd time for a sec or two.

I i will try later whether this works under xpp sp2 + most updates up to sep24.

ramdisk:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=257405
info:
http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/index.php ... 1277378924
prg :
http://www.cenatek.com/product_ramdisk.cfm
http://www.ramdisk.tk/

in german....:
http://www.chip.de/downloads/c1_downloads_13000196.html

tom_k
____
T40 98se.... 768MB 60/40GB 9cell b/g ...

p.s. :
power shemes ,
on ac :
no standby ; monitor off 30min ; hd off 5min .
on battery :
no standby ; monitor off 15min : hd off 3min .

btw, my 560 is the only TP (i have) which offers instant HD-Power down
without additional SW or tricks like FN + F3

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#21 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:44 pm

I've set under Windows Power Options the HD to turn off after 5min.

Maybe simply my disk do not support ACPI. :?
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

christopher_wolf
Special Member
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Contact:

#22 Post by christopher_wolf » Wed Sep 27, 2006 3:12 pm

I am afraid that is the only conclusion that is left as we at least know that the E7K100 wasn't designed for that; also, given the differences in firmware, it might indicate actual hardware controller differences as well.
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#23 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:06 pm

Yeah, it's a shame.
I would try to get a 60G or 80GB 7K100 for a good price on eBay

Is just that noise that makes me want to ditch the disk.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

christopher_wolf
Special Member
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, California
Contact:

#24 Post by christopher_wolf » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:27 pm

Hey, look at it this way. You can get a 2nd HDD adapter for the Ultrabay slim, then put the E7K100 in it, and then use the previous HDD internally. :D

I did that with...well, it's a long story about the drive.
IBM ThinkPad T43 Model 2668-72U 14.1" SXGA+ 1GB |IBM 701c

~o/
I met someone who looks a lot like you.
She does the things you do.
But she is an IBM.
/~o ---ELO from "Yours Truly 2059"

tom_k
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: UN Germany

#25 Post by tom_k » Wed Sep 27, 2006 7:27 pm

hi again

the T40 40 has been running (under 98se) the whole day,
i suppose most time at 600MHz, and the right palmrest was quite cool
(no monitoring software for 98se, also monitorig hd`s prevents them from stopping)
when i booted into xpp to check the e7k100.
1st i checked temperature, it was about 29°C and slowly going up,
think it must have been off (about 21°) for >1h .

Win xpp sp2 , all security relevant updates up to sep24.06:

Hitting FN + F3 did NOT stop the E7K100 ,
though Seagate`s St94011a in the 2ndHDD did stop.
Even an old IBM/Hitachi Dara 206000 6GB Drive , over 6 Years old,
stops spinning in 2nd HDD.

meanwhile i`m back again at good ol 98:) ,
this time booted from that dara206000 in 2nd HDD
+ checked it once again :

Wn 98se ver4.10.2222, patched with (inofficial) sp2.1b,
incl. all official patches + some add ons:
ALL disks stop hitting FN + F3 !

So im shure its a matter of OS to send the E7 to sleep,
dont know wether only an little adjustment or a big patch is necessary for xp

if exact type + firmware ver of my my e7 is of interest ,
let me know, now its time to go to sleep..

regards tom_k

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#26 Post by agarza » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:12 pm

christopher_wolf wrote:Hey, look at it this way. You can get a 2nd HDD adapter for the Ultrabay slim, then put the E7K100 in it, and then use the previous HDD internally. :D

I did that with...well, it's a long story about the drive.
Read my sig. Originally my laptop came with a 5400rpm 40GB HDD, so I purchased the E7K100 and a Ultrabay Slim Adapter for HDD.

I put the 60GB as primary, as I need the OS to be installed on the primary drive. So I did, and the 5400rpm drive is in the ultrabay for all my downloads.
But it doesn't matter if I put the E7K100 in the ultrabay, because it wouldn't sleep.

//////////////

That's weird.

How come Fn+F3 would send a signal to shutdown the HDD's.
I might have to put up the noise that the HDD emits. Or I could just buy a new HDD 7K100 and run the E7K100 in an external case.

At this point I'm more interested in receiving my Zalman ZTG-SM1 and my thai key.board :P
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

tom_k
Freshman Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: UN Germany

#27 Post by tom_k » Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:02 am

to add some info :

fixed T22+T23 for a friend incl. OS setup...
T22 / new win2k recovery , tosh 20G drive :
FN + F3 causes : "preparing to shut off monitor" or so,
but the hd keeps spinning, but stops after 5 minutes like adjusted in energy profile.

T23 blanks its sreen + stops fuji mhn2020at immediately without notification, fresh 98se/apm install
("setup path\apminst.inf") and only audio , video + network drivers have been setup when i went to sleep.

so once again , Reaction on FN+F3 must be a matter of the OS :
98se/apm shuts down every drive
(recovery+my(the better;) way; i think apm just cuts off power supply :)
98se/acpi shuts down every drive , also the e7k100
(yes, i´m really shure ! -no need to use the stethoscope:)
2k(acpi) recovery no shutdown of hd`s at all
xpp(acpi) can shutdown drives, but not our e7k100
benottomex wrote:It doesnt recognize the drive being ACPI +
Maybe simply my disk do not support ACPI
according to data sheet, e7k has less power saving modes,
maybe the OS ask`s the HD to enter the 1st, and e7k answers : i cant,
so the newer "intelligent" OS`s wont go any further,
while the "dino" just knows : shut it down ! + does so, no need for any answers from HD`s

@benottomex
the drive should power down after the time you have set for it in the energy profile,
if not "something" is constantly accessing or moitoring it,
like in my case mobile meter, also "swapping without reason"
could be a cause, have you tried to disable virtual memory ?
(iirc there is more than one thread in "winOS" about that)

however, i`d also better have bought a 7k100.
(.... if i just had known all this before :)

greetz tom_k

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#28 Post by agarza » Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:03 pm

Thanks for your reply tom_k

I'm sure by drive can't shut down in Win XP Sp2, because I used PowerBoost and it couldn't recognize it.

I couldn't pass the oportunity to buy the E7K100 because it costed me about 90 USD included shipping. I guess is a bargain here in Mexico.

I'll leave the drive as it is. If I find a good deal for a 7K100 drive I might go for it.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

davidspalding
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1593
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:39 pm
Location: Durham, NC
Contact:

Look before you leap => research before buying

#29 Post by davidspalding » Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:50 am

benottomex wrote:Yeah, it's a shame.
I would try to get a 60G or 80GB 7K100 for a good price on eBay

Is just that noise that makes me want to ditch the disk.
Dude, you got what you paid for. ;) A great price on a drive which isn't meant for laptops, period, end quote. (There are at least two threads in this forum specifically talking about the 7K100 drives.)

Now this drive isn't a total write-off. You could get an Ultrabay Slim HDD adapter, and use it for a fast second drive. Photoshop and Premiere Elements, to name two, just absolutely adore a second, non-system disk for scratch and work disk use. Since it's in a removable caddie, you can shut it down and remove it when you're done working, eliminating that noise.

BTW, you mentioned the sound of the HDD, I suspect if it was running hot, your system cooling fan was also boosted a bit by the elevated internal temperatures.
2668-75U T43, 2GB RAM, 2nd hand NMB kybd, Dock II, spare Mini-Dock, and spare Port Replicators. Wacom BT tablet. Ultrabay 2nd HDD.
2672-KBU X32, 1.5GB RAM, 7200 rpm TravelStar HDD.

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

#30 Post by agarza » Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:44 pm

Yes. In winter time I'm going to hear the sound at night, in case I left the laptop ON.
In summer time, my fan ceiling wouldn't let me to listen the HDD.

I would wait more time and see how the disk performs.

The HD temp never reaches more than 42C. However the noise it emits is independently of the HD temp.
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests