Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Trying to get 108mbps w/DLink DI-624 router and IBM a/b/g

T4x series specific matters only
Message
Author
kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

Trying to get 108mbps w/DLink DI-624 router and IBM a/b/g

#1 Post by kjarrett » Thu Oct 28, 2004 7:08 pm

Thought I remembered reading someone here had configured their router so they got 108mbps throughput. Can't find the message now of course. Can anyone help?

TIA,

-kj-

ADMIN NOTE:
this topic might be of interest to many, so it is now sticky..

Bill
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

daeojkim
ThinkPad Partner
ThinkPad Partner
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:41 am
Location: Paducah, KY

#2 Post by daeojkim » Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:16 pm

I am not sure if it is possible to get 108 Mbps using the built in wireless card on T. If there is a way that would just be fantastic. I always thought that you had to buy router and that company's PCcard to be able to get 108.

If there is a way to do this then it will be I would love to know as well

eriqesque
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:56 am
Location: Cary N.C.
Contact:

#3 Post by eriqesque » Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:41 pm

I am using a Netgear WGT624 and my X40 with the IBM B/G card
and both use the Atheros chip and I connect at the 108Mbs speed.
Image ThinkPad
X40 2371-8LU

lfeagan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Leawood, KS
Contact:

#4 Post by lfeagan » Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:51 pm

Yes, those are so called turbo codes that allow you to get 108Mbps. They are in fact quite an interesting mathematical thing. The Atheros chipsets do it, but the Intel ones don't.
Image
T61p (6459CTO)|T9500|15.4" WUXGA-4GB|200GB FDE|256MB nVidia FX570M|Atheros|Cingular WWAN|openSuSE 11.0
T42p (2373GVU)|PentiumM 1.8GHz|2GB|100GB|ATI FireGL T2|Atheros|openSuSE 10.3
WaterField Designs Cargo + Sleeve

dpb
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:36 pm

#5 Post by dpb » Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:11 am

kjarret:

You're correct; there was a thread or two on this earlier. The two clearest explanations were these:

To enable Super G on the IBM a/b/g card, dagordon uninstalled Access Connections completely and let Windows do the wireless config. The IBM driver seems to support Super G, but having Access Connections installed—even if it’s not turned on—disables it.

RaysMD got Super G working on his IBM a/b/g card by installing IBM’s newest drivers and using Atheros Client from Fujitsu's site rather than the Windows client. Download the Fujitsu driver package at http://www.fmworld.net/download/E0200041/E0200041.exe and run the setup utility in the Atheros_1.43 subfolder (the one in the main folder is in Japanese). Only install the Atheros Client; nothing else, certainly not the drivers themselves. Disable the Zero Configuration Utility, then reboot and use the Atheros Client to manage connections and SuperG.

IBM’s new 802.11 a/b/g TriBand Mini PCI II* *(P/N 73P4301, FRU 93P4262,) uses an Atheros AR5004X chipset and Atheros claims the chipset supports AES, 802.11 a/b/g/h/i/j (draft versios) and XR enhanced range technology. IBM’s existing 802.11 a/b/g TriBand Mini-PCI (P/N #31P9701, FRU 91P7301) is sourced from Philips, uses an Atheros AR5212 (aka /5001X+/) chipset and supports WPA, 802.11 a/b/e/f/g/h/i (draft versions). They both should go very well with a dLink DI-624 b/g router, which also uses an Atheros chipset. That's the router I use with my T-42's Intel card. I am upgrading to the new IBM card as soon as it's available.

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#6 Post by kjarrett » Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:24 am

Thanks guys, especially dpb!!!

Perfect, I'll try it this weekend!!!

I had a problem on my T30 when I just went with Windows to manage my wifi config. It would drop the connection after periods of inactivity. Any idea what causes that? I'm hoping the Fuji drivers will prevent that from happening.

-kj-
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

sickofit
Sophomore Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Canada

#7 Post by sickofit » Fri Oct 29, 2004 9:19 am

If I remember right the last time this was discussed,he made it reach 108Mbps,but you have to set the router to just "G" mode...

Try that as well....

Greg St.L :D

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#8 Post by kjarrett » Fri Oct 29, 2004 9:27 am

Yep, already have done that, thansks!
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

dmcgibbo
Freshman Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:46 pm

#9 Post by dmcgibbo » Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:14 am

i have a t42p with the ibm a/b/g card and a 108mbps netgear router.

i could get it to supposedly connect to 108mbps by selecting g only and changing the max speeds in the ibm card properties (it would then show 108mbps in the taskbar) but when you check the actual speed through access connections it says somewhere between 36-54mbps or up to 54.

the problem i have is that i have two routers an older linksys that only does B and the nicer netgear that does super-G. when i connect it will only connect to the linksys and not connect to the netgear usually. sometimes (i don't know how to reproduce it it just works after i do a bunch of "stuff" each time like repairing the connection, restarting the network by rebooting all the routers and pc's, etc.) i can get it to connect and it does so fine but sometimes it will connect and say limited connectivity or not show the router in available wireless networks, etc. so it is VERY strange. it may be access connections screwing something up even though i've never used or opened access connections. anyway, i've just uninstalled it so we'll see if that fixes anything.
Image T42p (2378-DYU) 1.8GHz | 15"UXGA+ | 512MB | 80GB
128MB ATI FireGL T2 | IBM 802.11a/b/g | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

rocketman
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Florida

#10 Post by rocketman » Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:51 am

The DI-624 is a great wireless router. Have you updated the firmware to version 2.50 yet?

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#11 Post by kjarrett » Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:23 pm

No, still running 2.42 I believe. Have had bad luck with router firmware upgrades. I'll check the DLink site for the info, but quickly, what are the benefits? Everything has been great thus far with 2.42.

EDIT: here's what's new:

¤ Added XR Mode
¤ Fixed Emule reboot issue
¤ Fixed firewall rules disappearing bug
¤ Fixed L2TP bug
¤ Added multicast stream option
¤ Fixed dhcp security hole issue ??????

http://support.dlink.com/products/view. ... 624%5FrevC

EDIT, REDUX: Here's a thread about it:

http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/r ... ~mode=flat
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

rocketman
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Florida

#12 Post by rocketman » Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:29 pm

Yeah I see where you're coming from, for some crazy reason I always update firmware, bios when available. Luckily so far I haven't run into any problems. When I got the DI-624 it came with the 2.42 firmware but I upgraded it to the 2.50 version.

dmcgibbo
Freshman Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:46 pm

#13 Post by dmcgibbo » Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:46 pm

btw, the new BIOS that came out said this...

Version 3.11 (1RETDFWW)
Note: This BIOS version will only work with Embedded Controller Program version 3.03 (or higher).

(Fix) Old version of IBM 802.11a/b/g wireless LAN Mini PCI adapter driver (Version 2.4.1.7 or olders) does not work with BIOS 3.08a (1RETD4WW)


So that might help something. It seems like every BIOS update or IBM a/b/g update improves the functionality of 108mbps.

Right now I'm on 108mbps but I'm sure it isn't REALLLLY 108mbps and it will soon randomly kick me off and connect me to my old 11mbps linksys router b/c it seems to prefer that one. Very strange indeed - a lot of people are having problems with wireless networking so it will just take a few releases to get things working better (or the release of the newer IBM card)
Image T42p (2378-DYU) 1.8GHz | 15"UXGA+ | 512MB | 80GB
128MB ATI FireGL T2 | IBM 802.11a/b/g | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

Daniel
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 3:47 pm
Location: L.A., CA - W.S., NC

#14 Post by Daniel » Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:09 pm

For those that connected at 108, I would do a bandwidth test to see if you're actually getting those speeds. I was able to connect at it but in reality, I was only going at 54 speeds. That means I was getting was less than 54 but more than 11.

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#15 Post by kjarrett » Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:23 pm

Agreed. I use a 100mb file, copied between systems, and a stopwatch...
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

lfeagan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Leawood, KS
Contact:

#16 Post by lfeagan » Fri Oct 29, 2004 8:07 pm

I hope you are using SMB for the transfers...that protocol is:
a) not very fast, and
b) has high overhead.

If you want to do bandwidth tests I suggest setting up a ftp server and pulling a gig+ file from it. If you run it on a *nix it should like the total transfer time.
Image
T61p (6459CTO)|T9500|15.4" WUXGA-4GB|200GB FDE|256MB nVidia FX570M|Atheros|Cingular WWAN|openSuSE 11.0
T42p (2373GVU)|PentiumM 1.8GHz|2GB|100GB|ATI FireGL T2|Atheros|openSuSE 10.3
WaterField Designs Cargo + Sleeve

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#17 Post by kjarrett » Fri Oct 29, 2004 8:22 pm

SMB?

FTP server?

Eh?
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

Peters
User with bad email address, PLEASE fix!
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:28 pm

#18 Post by Peters » Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:56 am

i am using netiq chariot for transfer tests...delivers precise informations about speeds, latency, QoS.... no freeware :/

using smb (windows file- and printersharing protocol) is ok and you can easily monitor the transfer speed by the task manager.

in 54g mode you'll get not more than 30 mbit....

therefor, just try to copy some big files at the same time and if you have more than 4 MB/s, you are on 108 mbit. another possibility is creating a checksum file, i.e. sfv, and check the big file several times at once. 8)

in 108 mbit the max. throughput is around 60 mbit

kjarrett
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Southern NJ
Contact:

#19 Post by kjarrett » Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:56 pm

As I prepare to tackle this, armed with a trusty Ghost backup of my entire drive, I am wondering ... my T42p perfectly detects my WiFi when it wakes up from hibernation, and also has no problems "staying connected." I know my T30 at times had issues with being dropped during idle time. I am inclined to try the Fuji drivers and hope for the best ... but was wondering ... anyone getting 108mbps using hibernation with no problems?

-kj-
dpb wrote:kjarret:

You're correct; there was a thread or two on this earlier. The two clearest explanations were these:

To enable Super G on the IBM a/b/g card, dagordon uninstalled Access Connections completely and let Windows do the wireless config. The IBM driver seems to support Super G, but having Access Connections installed—even if it’s not turned on—disables it.

RaysMD got Super G working on his IBM a/b/g card by installing IBM’s newest drivers and using Atheros Client from Fujitsu's site rather than the Windows client. Download the Fujitsu driver package at http://www.fmworld.net/download/E0200041/E0200041.exe and run the setup utility in the Atheros_1.43 subfolder (the one in the main folder is in Japanese). Only install the Atheros Client; nothing else, certainly not the drivers themselves. Disable the Zero Configuration Utility, then reboot and use the Atheros Client to manage connections and SuperG.

IBM’s new 802.11 a/b/g TriBand Mini PCI II* *(P/N 73P4301, FRU 93P4262,) uses an Atheros AR5004X chipset and Atheros claims the chipset supports AES, 802.11 a/b/g/h/i/j (draft versios) and XR enhanced range technology. IBM’s existing 802.11 a/b/g TriBand Mini-PCI (P/N #31P9701, FRU 91P7301) is sourced from Philips, uses an Atheros AR5212 (aka /5001X+/) chipset and supports WPA, 802.11 a/b/e/f/g/h/i (draft versions). They both should go very well with a dLink DI-624 b/g router, which also uses an Atheros chipset. That's the router I use with my T-42's Intel card. I am upgrading to the new IBM card as soon as it's available.
IBM Thinkpad T42p 2373-KXU | 2.0ghz Pentium® M 755 | 2gb RAM | 15" UXGA Flexview | FireGL T2 128mb | 60gb @ 7200rpm | CDRW/DVD Multiburner | IBM a/b/g

ssdaytona
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:18 pm

#20 Post by ssdaytona » Sat Nov 27, 2004 2:26 am

Just to let you guys know that the newer IBM a/b/g II WiFi has support for SuperG when using IBM's drivers.

moofy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:32 am

#21 Post by moofy » Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:45 am

ssdaytona wrote:Just to let you guys know that the newer IBM a/b/g II WiFi has support for SuperG when using IBM's drivers.
Great news ssdaytona, thanks a lot for the info. :D
Did you install 1xwc15ww drivers with the IBM Client Utility or the Atheros one?
Do you use Access Connections? If yes, which version?

I would like to use WPA2 (with AES encryption).
Does the IBM driver and client utility support this under Windows 2000?

Thanks

eriqesque
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:56 am
Location: Cary N.C.
Contact:

#22 Post by eriqesque » Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:18 am

Daniel wrote:For those that connected at 108, I would do a bandwidth test to see if you're actually getting those speeds. I was able to connect at it but in reality, I was only going at 54 speeds. That means I was getting was less than 54 but more than 11.
I tested mine with SANDRA bandwidth test and it
reports 7MB/s
Image ThinkPad
X40 2371-8LU

ssdaytona
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:18 pm

#23 Post by ssdaytona » Sat Nov 27, 2004 1:15 pm

moofy,

ahh, I am not using Access Connections. I am using the Atheros Client Utility 3.3.0.150.

moofy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:32 am

#24 Post by moofy » Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:52 pm

ssdaytona,

Thank you for the clarification.

I am just wondering what the right procedure to install is?
Did you first run the \Install_CD\setup.exe from
http://www.phoenixnetworks.net/atheros/ ... 330150.zip
and then replaced the Atheros beta Driver - Ver. 3.3.0.150 with this
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-57216
or this
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-52527
IBM driver?

I am asking because the Atheros installer wont allow me to install the client utility alone without the Atheros driver. Therefore I am not sure if you used a different Atheros setup or replaced the driver after installation.

@eriqesque
Wow, 7 MBit/s, that’s nice ... isn't it? :D

@all
Is anyone with an IBM 11a/b/g Wireless LAN Mini PCI Adapter or II using WPA-PSK with Windows 2000? Thanks

Cheers

ssdaytona
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:18 pm

#25 Post by ssdaytona » Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:19 pm

moofy,


Here's what I did. First I updated IBM's drivers. Next I ran the install utility for the newest Atheros Client. You'll have to choose to install both the drivers and client. Don't worry it won't have any effect on the drivers, but will install the Client Utility just fine. After the install is complete it'll ask you to reboot.

I'm using WPA-PSK (AES encryption) in WinXP just fine.

moofy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:32 am

#26 Post by moofy » Sat Nov 27, 2004 5:41 pm

ssdaytona,

fantastic, sounds great. :D
Cant wait to install the card when I am back in the office.
Thank you very much.

Cheers

fbrdphreak
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 529
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:11 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

#27 Post by fbrdphreak » Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:37 pm

I like using the IBM Access Connections software (I noticed there's a new version out, haven't upgraded yet). How is this other Atheros software? Is there any connectivity/reliability difference in using IBM's stuff vs the Fujitsu or whatever?
Also, when someone has conclusively figured out how to get 108 working, could they post one combined step-by-step guide to getting this working? Thx
Have used just about every ThinkPad since the T42 days...

ssdaytona
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:18 pm

#28 Post by ssdaytona » Mon Nov 29, 2004 9:42 pm

I like the Atheros Client Utility better than Access IBM. Much simpler and no fuss.
T42 2373-M1U 1.8GHz / 1G / 60G / IBM a/b/g II

moofy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:32 am

#29 Post by moofy » Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:05 am

ssdaytona wrote:... Don't worry it won't have any effect on the drivers, but will install the Client Utility just fine. After the install is complete it'll ask you to reboot.

I'm using WPA-PSK (AES encryption) in WinXP just fine.
Hi,
here my update after installing the IBM model II card.
I installed the IBM drivers and afterwards the Atheros client as described above.

In my case the Atheros tool replaced the IBM drivers and I does not connect when I enable Super-G on my WLAN Router. :(
Now I am a bit confused if a manual driver update would change anything.

BTW, WPA-PSK with AES is running on my T42 with Windows 2000.

moofy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:32 am

#30 Post by moofy » Tue Nov 30, 2004 12:58 pm

Second update:

Now I installed the stuff again.
Driver version: 3.1.102.27 (IBM)
Atheros client: 3.1.3.5
Card is correct recognized as: IBM a/b/g MiniPCI Adapter II

Everything is fine in 802.11g 54Mbit mode, but when I change the router to 108 Mbit I cannot establish a connection anymore.

Any hint is highly appreciated.

Cheers

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests