Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T23 - Resource Conflict - PCI Network Controller

T20-T23 Series and T30 specific matters only. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Speeder.dk
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

T23 - Resource Conflict - PCI Network Controller

#1 Post by Speeder.dk » Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:00 am

Hey y'all

I'm a happy user of my T23, but recently this wierd message pops up every time i boot. Right after the IBM logo this message appears:

"Error
Resource Conflict - PCI Network Controller in slot 01
Bus:02, Device:02, Function:00

Press <F1> to Setup"

Whut?

If I press escape, then it boots normally, but the wireless don't work.

Model: T23-2467-8RG
I think the Intel 2200bg MiniPCI card has been added later on after it was bought, but I have no chance to ask the previous owner.

If anyone knows a solution to this prob, then plz help :P
I read another post that told to plug the AC out and the battery as well, after that I could boot 1 time with no error. But it came back :/
I also tried changing the IRQs in the Bios to Auto-Select from 11. But didn't help either...

/Anders
X61s 7669-27G, L7300 C2D 1,4GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, X3100, 500GB@7200RPM, 2x4cells+8Cell, UltraBase, Xubuntu 14.04
T22 26474EG - 512MB Ram, 900MHz
370C 9545-T75
Previous:
T23, T41, T60 and R30.

LPC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:20 pm
Location: Bonaire, Georgia

#2 Post by LPC » Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:03 am

Hi,

I just got the same error on boot up when I installed my broadband card BCM4306KFB.

After pressing ESC to enter into windows I was able to find the card in the device manager and update the driver. I still was not able to get it to work and got a code 10 as described here(link fixed 20071114). Did you have the same error in device manager? I have not tried the fix yet. Wanted to see if you had first.
Last edited by LPC on Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
15" UXGA T43P 2668H2U:

15" UXGA T42P 2373N25: Sold

First TP: T23 2647-8PU, SXGA, 1.2GHz, 1gig ram, 60gig 7kHD , Intel 2915ABG, custom internal antennas, CDRW/DVD....Sold

IzaBella
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:27 am
Location: Aalborg Denmark

#3 Post by IzaBella » Tue Nov 13, 2007 4:23 am

Have you tried reseating it in its socket?

If you have access to another notebook with the right minipci slots then try the card there - or another card in yours... These cards are not very expensive :)
T400s 2.53 Ghz 4 GB 250 GB + 2GB Intel TurboMem
T42p 2.1 Ghz 2048 mb 160 GB - UXGA
T41 1.6 Ghz 1024 mb 80 GB - XGA
390E PII 333 192 mb 20GB - XGA
390 Celeron 366 256 mb 60 GB
760LD P90 16 mb 5 GB

LPC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:20 pm
Location: Bonaire, Georgia

#4 Post by LPC » Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:07 am

Ok,

I have the most receint Bios and ECP. No fix.
In Bios I changed all from 11 to automatic. No fix.
In device manager I disabled dautgher card and removed card. No fix.
I disabled all USB and PCMI in device manager. No fix.
I have replaced the modem card and it is picked up no problem.

I am going to try the card on the other T23 after I put it back together. If the card checks out fine I will try to another hard drive that I restored from partition. If that does not work I will try windows fix......any other ideas?
15" UXGA T43P 2668H2U:

15" UXGA T42P 2373N25: Sold

First TP: T23 2647-8PU, SXGA, 1.2GHz, 1gig ram, 60gig 7kHD , Intel 2915ABG, custom internal antennas, CDRW/DVD....Sold

LPC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:20 pm
Location: Bonaire, Georgia

#5 Post by LPC » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:35 am

Ok,

I found this thread. Look at post #5. It seems like my preinstalled modem miniPCI card might be the problem. As I said before if I put the card back in there is no resource conflict and device manager shows no errors also.

I am going to uninstall the modem this time and try to clean up the registry with CCleaner to free the IRQ.

If that does not work I will try a clean XP install and reload the Broadcom card on a spare HD. I am trying to avoid using the Windows fix as I think it will cost $....but the fix should work as it rebalances the devices...just want to try all I can first. Wish me luck :D
15" UXGA T43P 2668H2U:

15" UXGA T42P 2373N25: Sold

First TP: T23 2647-8PU, SXGA, 1.2GHz, 1gig ram, 60gig 7kHD , Intel 2915ABG, custom internal antennas, CDRW/DVD....Sold

LPC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:20 pm
Location: Bonaire, Georgia

#6 Post by LPC » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:47 pm

Ok, Heres what happened tonight.

uninstalled modem and Ethernet and cleaned registry with CCleaner. I reinstalled Broadcom card. No fix

I tried to test the card with PC doctor, but it was not able to detect it under Wireless Lan test....N/A.

I was given an Atheros AR5213A-00 802.11g Wireless card to try. I put it in and........no resource conflict!......but I got an other problem... see this thread for the details. Sorry I was not able to find the answer Speeder.DK maybe you could try the windows fix? :?
15" UXGA T43P 2668H2U:

15" UXGA T42P 2373N25: Sold

First TP: T23 2647-8PU, SXGA, 1.2GHz, 1gig ram, 60gig 7kHD , Intel 2915ABG, custom internal antennas, CDRW/DVD....Sold

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T2x & T3x Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests