Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

PCMCIA cards showing up as MTD-0002

X2/X3/X4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
DaddyLongLegs
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:59 am
Location: Brooklyn NY

PCMCIA cards showing up as MTD-0002

#1 Post by DaddyLongLegs » Sun Apr 27, 2008 4:54 pm

Hey guys, I searched google for this for a while but couldn't find a solution on IBM laptops, so I am posting here.

Any PCMCIA card I put into my X24 shows up as MTD-0002 and won't install. This is after a format. The device in question is a Verizon Wireless internet card, but this happens with anything plugged in. There is obviously no driver for MTD-0002 so I'd appreciate some help.

I am running XP by the way. Thanks.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10131
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

#2 Post by rkawakami » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:21 pm

I looked into this problem a few months ago and then again last week. Any PCMCIA flash memory card adapter that I plug into the bottom slot of one of my WinXPP SP2 T23s gives me that MTD-0002 device error. However, if I install the adapter in the top slot it works fine. My guess would be that there's something wrong with the PCMCIA interface on the motherboard or a registry (software) problem. The bottom slot used to work before so that's the only things that I can thing of which might cause this problem. Since I have a slot which does work, I haven't spent too much time trying to figure it out (trying a different OS, moving the HD into another system, etc.). Seeing as your X24 only has one PCMCIA slot, then I understand your position. According to Microsoft, the MTD-0002 error means that the card is being enumerated as a memory card:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;319326

but I don't know if any of the fixes outlined there will help. I've also seen advice saying to check the BIOS boot order and make sure the HD is set before any PCMCIA slot but I don't think that applies in my case (my order is external floppy, CDROM, HD).
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

DaddyLongLegs
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:59 am
Location: Brooklyn NY

#3 Post by DaddyLongLegs » Sun Apr 27, 2008 7:20 pm

Thanks for the reply. After some further googling, I went into the BIOS and noticed all the IRQs were set to 11. So I changed them all to another number/auto detect and it fixed the problem, however...

My Wi-Fi card is acting crazy. I don't know if it's IRQ or driver related but it's near impossible to connect via Wi-Fi. If I am lucky it will connect to a single website then give up. If I load up the lousy Actiontec program, it will work a little better. This is NOT related to my router because everything else wireless works fine. I am assuming this is driver related since before the format it worked okay. I'd really appreciate any help!

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

#4 Post by Raceboy » Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:04 pm

It's a bit weird that BIOS default settings put all the PCI IRQ's to use IRQ11. I've always put them to "auto select" and never had any problem with any hardware. At least no conflicts (though miniPCI wifi card in X20/21 means power/CPU temp problems).
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

DaddyLongLegs
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:59 am
Location: Brooklyn NY

#5 Post by DaddyLongLegs » Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:38 pm

Yeah, I updated the BIOS and it set everything to 11 for some reason.

I seem to have fixed my long, ongoing problem with the built in Wi-Fi card. I downloaded the drivers from IBM and had nothing but insane problems. Anyway, after much trouble shooting, I tried the Win2k drivers instead of XP and all seems well. The odd milisecond freezes I'd get and the huge connection problems I had seem to go right out the window.

I'm surprised I was the only one with this problem.

DaddyLongLegs
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:59 am
Location: Brooklyn NY

#6 Post by DaddyLongLegs » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:10 am

Actually, just to post this for anyone who ever had this problem...

I bought my X24 a while ago and always had a problem connecting to my University's wi-fi. I also noticed when anything happened requiring wi-fi, such as connecting to an access point, the mouse would freeze up for a few seconds.

I formatted the X24 the other day and had extreme problems getting the wi-fi to work in XP (as mentioned above). I tried the Win2k drivers after much hair-pulling and that didn't work *but* I noticed that with the Win2k drivers when I went into the Wireless LAN Settings in control panel, two new tabs were there that weren't there with the XP drivers. One of the tabs was configuration, and after changing the transmit rate to Auto 1 or 2 Mb, everything worked perfect.

I have no idea why any of this is but after doing all the troubleshooting and finding I had to install 2k's drivers and not XP's then change the configuration, I figured posting this may help someone else some day.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X2/X3/X4x Series incl. X41 Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests