The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
bhtooefr
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1371
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Newark, Ohio
Contact:

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#91 Post by bhtooefr » Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:07 pm

One thing that I'll note is, after quite a lot of use, and some abuse due to buggy Win7 beta video drivers (they would forget to turn the backlight off), my display gets a pink tint when the backlight isn't warmed up - and when the backlight is turned down, it cools down enough to go into the pink tint.

However, I've converted everything to a T61p mobo yesterday (so, so much faster, although it's also a fresh Windows install - but the reason I did it was to get 8 gigs of RAM (and the faster CPU didn't hurt), because my main bottlenecks on the T60p were the 3 gig RAM ceiling, and then the slow CPU), and the display still functions (other than the pink issue) perfectly.

Also, Mr. Coffee, 92P6684 is a valid P/N for the QXGA. Some of the part vendors have the wrong description, though, although eBay isn't the cheapest place.
Current: X201 (i5-540M, 8 GiB, 160 GB), 365XD (120 MHz, 72 MiB, 6.4 GB, 4x CD-ROM, 10.4" TFT)
Past: T61p 15.0" QXGA, T60p 15.0" QXGA, X61 Tablet SXGA+, R51e 14.1" XGA, X21

Mr. Coffee
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 2:26 pm
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#92 Post by Mr. Coffee » Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:17 pm

bhtooefr wrote:Also, Mr. Coffee, 92P6684 is a valid P/N for the QXGA. Some of the part vendors have the wrong description, though, although eBay isn't the cheapest place.
This is what I would like to think but everyone I've called was quite adamant about the UXGA-ness of their screens. Their actual inventory may be right but unless I can convince them check their stock to sell a single item I don't want to drop several hundred dollars.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#93 Post by ajkula66 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:44 pm

Mr.Coffee wrote:
This is what I would like to think but everyone I've called was quite adamant about the UXGA-ness of their screens.
You do understand that at least half of the people you've spoken to had never seen an QXGA panel in their life... :roll:
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

bwsb
Freshman Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread (*Prio)

#94 Post by bwsb » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:39 am

Hi guys, I'd love to buy two IAQX10N (or IAQX10*) panels, the newer the better. Do you have any advice where I could get this?

For purchase to the USA or Europe, pay via Paypal and so on. Thanks! Mikael

electron73
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: Corona, CA

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#95 Post by electron73 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:22 pm

I just came across this whole thread, have two modded T60p's myself. LOVE the QXGA! I really hope one manufacturer or another will bring that (or better WQXGA) back one day!

I found one on ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0823527572

Hope this helps!

Cheers!
Silence of the Thinkpads! http://tpfc.mywo.org

bgalakazam
Freshman Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Contact:

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#96 Post by bgalakazam » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:21 am

That T61p going around is way too overpriced. A brand new Sandry Bridge T420 can be bought for $750+.

On the topic, I hunted down my QXGA for maybe half an year, even more. They do appear every now and then on feebay in the $120-$150 range, so just be prepared when you see one. I think now that the T61 motherboards are cheaper I can finally upgrade my T60. I have a broken T61 with NVS 140M sitting that only works with external...
15" Macbook Pro, T400 for car diagnostics
previous: T60p -> X60 -> T61 QXGA -> X220 -> W510

bbq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 7:29 pm

LG Philips LP154WT1 (SJ) (A1)

#97 Post by bbq » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:02 pm

I found someone selling this 15.4" 2880 x 1800 screen for less than 250 bucks here:

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=18278952079

Granted it came from Retina Macbook Pro with crazy high resolutions. Could that possibly be compatible with widescreen T6x by any chance?

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook- ... own/9493/1

http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/9281 ... 0x1800+LCD

TuuS
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1982
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: LG Philips LP154WT1 (SJ) (A1)

#98 Post by TuuS » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:56 pm

bbq wrote:I found someone selling this 15.4" 2880 x 1800 screen for less than 250 bucks here:
Could that possibly be compatible with widescreen T6x by any chance?
No, the T61 series is designed to power a CCFL backlit LCD, if you used an LED backlit display you'd need proper control circuitry to run it. The only LED backlit screens in this size that I'm aware of are on some T500 models that have 1280x800 wxga screens, and they seem to be very rare as every T500 I've ever seen with wxga has CCFL.

The 510 series introduced LED backlit screens upto 1920x1080, but they are a different size and aspect ratio, and even if they weren't, I doubt apple would make anything without assuring that ONLY official parts will work in them... hence the reason so many people refuse to buy anything they make, myself included.

onix
Freshman Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:32 pm

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#99 Post by onix » Wed Aug 29, 2012 2:21 pm

Newbie questions --
  • Is it possible to get a 14.1" QXGA screen for my 14.1" 4:3 T61p, and follow the associated mods described herein?
  • Are there similar mods for improving resolutions on the newer (widescreen, e.g. 16:9) 14" T4xx-series?
  • What about on the 15" T5xx-series?
Thanks!

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#100 Post by ajkula66 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:44 pm

onix wrote:Newbie questions --
  • Is it possible to get a 14.1" QXGA screen for my 14.1" 4:3 T61p, and follow the associated mods described herein?
I'm not aware that a 14" QXGA panel was ever introduced by any manufacturer. Let's face it, UXGA on a 14" is difficult to read for most people, QXGA would be next to impossible.
[*]Are there similar mods for improving resolutions on the newer (widescreen, e.g. 16:9) 14" T4xx-series?
[*]What about on the 15" T5xx-series?[/list]

Thanks!
No.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Dinnesch
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:13 am
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#101 Post by Dinnesch » Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:29 am

I'm trying to upgrade my SXGA+ T60 (GMA950 video) to a QXGA IAQX10N panel, but having no luck so far. The backlights turn on, but the screen stays completely black except for the stuck pixel it has.

Trying to flash the EDID with Powerstrip results in an error telling me the EEPROM is write protected (the panel shows up as LEN4040, by the way). Tried spamming Fn+F7 in POST because some people reported that helped, but no luck with that either.

I suspect the reason for this trouble is that I have a XGA inverter(42T0078 instead of the UXGA/SXGA+ 42T0079. However, my inverter contains both numbers. The label says:
P/N: 42T0078 FRU: 42T0079
Which of these numbers should I look at to determine which inverter I have? P/N or FRU?

Any thoughts would be really appreciated!

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18077
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#102 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:51 am

Welcome to the forum.
The deciding number is always the FRU, so your inverter is the 42T0079 which is SXGA+/UXGA and also QXGA capable.
As to flashing the EDID with Powerstrip: a trial version of that program does not work.
I've done the flashing only once (about a year ago) and got initially confused.
Once Powerstrip finds EEPROMS you will notice that there are several.
Just in case, I am telling this from memory so I may not be exact!
#1 and #2 are internal laptop GPU out, #3 is the EDID you want to flash, and #4 is the external monitor.
Or maybe it was: #1 = laptop, #2 = EDID, #3 is external monitor.
Try flashing the 2nd or 3rd EEPROM, as long as it is not the external monitor.
And I find that Powerstrip runs best under Windows XP (probably depends on which program version you have).
If all else fails, there is always the Powerstrip-forum: http://forums.entechtaiwan.com
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#103 Post by Raceboy » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:13 am

You cannot run EDID flash on Intel or nVidia equipped T6x laptop, I have only managed to flash EDID on T60/p V5200 and Radeon X1300/1400 equipped machines.
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

Frobe70
Freshman Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Jørpeland, Norway

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#104 Post by Frobe70 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:52 pm

I am not sure if it has been mentioned earlier, but it is not necessary to flash EDID if you are using QXGA on a T61 with Intel graphics. All modes works, plug'n play except for Thinklight cable too short.
The same panel on a T60 with Intel Graphics only display rubbish during booting until Windows desktop is displayed perfectly.
IBM X20, X40, X41T, X60s, X61s, R52, T40, T42-IPS, T43, T60, T60p-IPS, T61, T61 QXGA-IPS (T60 body + T9500, Intel GPU, 250GB SSD, 8GB, Win 10 Pro)
Lenovo X230-IPS, X301, T420s, T430s-IPS, T440s-IPS, W500, T520, Slate Tablet

Non-TP: Google Chromebook Pixel 2013, Surface 4 Pro

Dinnesch
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:13 am
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#105 Post by Dinnesch » Sun Apr 28, 2013 10:40 am

Thanks for the help guys. The reason I was unable to flash my QXGA panel with PowerStrip was indeed the Intel graphics card.

First I gave it a shot with the DIY flashing circuit + PonyProg. It wouldn't do anything and I had no clue of how to diagnose this problem, so I ordered a X1300-equipped mainboard instead.(turns out the X1300 handles Aero better than the Intel 945 as well :) )

A little warning for those doing the DIY circuit method: Be really careful not to melt the plastic around the pins of the connector. When I accidentally broke a pin, I wasn't able to resolder it because the molten plastic was covering its remainder.

With the X1300 mainboard installed, I hooked up an external monitor. For PowerStrip to find the laptop panel I had to use the "expand displays" setting in Windows. The EDID ID was #2 for me.

Here are some of my findings of the screen:
  • The text size at 100% Windows DPI is comfortable for me as a person who has no eye problems.
  • I was worried about the 150 nits brightness of the screen. I thought the minimum I was comfortable with was 200. But compared to the typical cheap 200nits TN panels found in most laptops, I find it to be one of the more legible screens because of the good contrast & color reproduction. It's a non-issue for me except when working in direct sunlight.
  • The gamma slider in Windows calibration had to be lowered a little to get correct colors. If you don't do this it will look a bit washed-out.
  • (with a 1.6 C2D and X1300) Chrome struggles to smoothly scroll or play YouTube when maximized to the mad resolution. Half-screen it becomes better but still not perfect. Both scrolling and Youtube got MUCH smoother when I switched to Firefox.
  • To save lots of time spent managing all the windows you can fit on this screen, get WinSplit Revolution.

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#106 Post by crashnburn » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:30 am

Nice App :)
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#107 Post by Akimitsui » Sat Apr 08, 2017 2:50 am

Hello... I know this is an old thread... but I recently acquired a T60 for this screen upgrade. I have the LCD panel already, and my T60 has been upgraded with a T61 motherboard.

But, the problem I am facing is how do I flash the LCD panel so that it works on my T60? PowerStrip is no longer available as it is no longer developed by the creators, I emailed them to ask if I am able to purchase a copy still but no luck.

So how can I flash the panel? And how do I make the qxga.dat file with the EDID data that is given in the original post? Any help would be greatly appreciated... I have never flashed a panel before, and am building this laptop for all my essay writing in university.

FryPpy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#108 Post by FryPpy » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:33 am

Akimitsui wrote: So how can I flash the panel?
Do it Linux way.
First of all - read ThinkWiki article.
Then get Ubuntu liveCD or USB. Boot -> connect to the net -> apt-get install i2c-tools and flash EDID.
I don't remember what i have used for this job - intel or ATI motherboard but i have done this work on Ubuntu well.

qxga.dat -> Just copy contents of "code" section from 1st post of this thread and paste in single text file. It should become 553 bytes.

Seggybop
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:39 pm
Location: Syracuse, New York

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#109 Post by Seggybop » Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:19 pm

in the OP, it says:
If you have an XGA machine, I would recommend buying the SXGA+/UXGA inverter for your model.
Key word being "recommend" in the above. So is this actually required? Maybe sometimes but not consistently? Or is there some other unmentioned deleterious effect that will appear if the XGA inverter is used?

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#110 Post by Akimitsui » Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:06 am

FryPpy wrote:
Akimitsui wrote: So how can I flash the panel?
Do it Linux way.
First of all - read ThinkWiki article.
Then get Ubuntu liveCD or USB. Boot -> connect to the net -> apt-get install i2c-tools and flash EDID.
I don't remember what i have used for this job - intel or ATI motherboard but i have done this work on Ubuntu well.

qxga.dat -> Just copy contents of "code" section from 1st post of this thread and paste in single text file. It should become 553 bytes.
Okay thanks for the help, I'll install Ubuntu soon and try this out. Currently, the T61 motherboard in my T60 has the Nvidia chip, but I also have a 2 spare T60's with the ATI chip and another with Intel (Bought a couple T60's as a lot to save some money). So flashing compatibility should not be an issue thankfully.

When using i2c-tools, how do I know which monitor to flash just so I don't flash my external monitor by accident?

FryPpy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#111 Post by FryPpy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:59 am

Akimitsui wrote: When using i2c-tools, how do I know which monitor to flash just so I don't flash my external monitor by accident?
In my case - i have connected QXGA to thinkpad and booted Ubuntu from liveCD.... initially there was garbage on the screen, but when XWindows (desktop environment) started up - all shown on QXGA correctly - so i didn't used external monitor.

How to double check. First of all you need to check which bank contains EDID by reading it (i2cdump -r 0-127 2 0x50'). After that you can decode EDID.
1. You can read /var/log/Xorg.0.log and search for EDID blocks and names of monitors and compare with i2cdump-ed EDID. it is hard way.
2. You can manually read EDID. Use ASCII table and convert bytes from last line of EDID block. All data in EDID block in Hex (not decimal) notation.
For example look for QXGA EDID. Last line is 00 49 41 51 58 31 30 4E 20...
00 - is nothing - so skip it.
49 - is 'I' <- actually the name is started from 2nd byte.
41 - is 'A'
51 - is 'Q'
58 - is 'X'
31 - is '1'
30 - is '0'
4E - is 'N'
20 - is ' ' (space symbol)
...
And it is true for our QXGA IAQX10N ;)

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#112 Post by Akimitsui » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:53 am

Okay, so I installed Ubuntu, and i2c-tools. But how do I use i2c-tools? Sorry... my experience with linux is really limited...

FryPpy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#113 Post by FryPpy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:23 am

Akimitsui wrote:Okay, so I installed Ubuntu, and i2c-tools. But how do I use i2c-tools? Sorry... my experience with linux is really limited...
Ok. Let's start from beginning - reading ThinkWiki (the link in my previous post).
Then try to read EDID from current (working) LCD.
Start terminal and input commands (With '##' symbol i'll write comment - so you need not to input them).
## we need root - so switch user
sudo bash
## load i2c driver (kernel module)
modprobe i2c_dev
## try to read EDID from 1st bank
i2cdump -r 0-127 1 0x50
## if no luck - let's try to read from 2nd bank
i2cdump -r 0-127 2 0x50

## You can save current EDID to file using output redirection like this:
i2cdump -r 0-127 2 0x50 > myOldEDID.dat

## If ok - we know which bank connected to EDID from our LCD.
## To write EDID - we need python script (programm) from ThinkWiki.
## We need to tune it - check line 22...'sudo i2cset -y 2 0x50'... and correct 2 to your bank number
## Then delete line 23 (it is like a FUSE to prevent misuse of the script)
## rename qxga.dat to edidRom.txt
## And its time to change LCD to QXGA

##First of all try to boot Ubuntu with QXGA and without external DISPLAY - if not working - try with
## external display.
## Then try to read EDID from QXGA. If ok - you can write it with script. Just start it with command
python ./script.py
## I assume that you saved script from ThinkWiki in file `script.py`

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#114 Post by Akimitsui » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:19 pm

FryPpy wrote:
Akimitsui wrote: So how can I flash the panel?
qxga.dat -> Just copy contents of "code" section from 1st post of this thread and paste in single text file. It should become 553 bytes.
So, I have attempted to flash my panel with the qxga.dat file that I made but I was unsuccessful.

The qxga.dat file that I made became 551 bytes, so that may be the issue. I am wondering if anyone would be able to make the qxga.dat file available for download? It was available in the first post but unfortunately, that link is long dead.

FryPpy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#115 Post by FryPpy » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:47 am

Akimitsui wrote: So, I have attempted to flash my panel with the qxga.dat file that I made but I was unsuccessful.

The qxga.dat file that I made became 551 bytes, so that may be the issue. I am wondering if anyone would be able to make the qxga.dat file available for download? It was available in the first post but unfortunately, that link is long dead.
Ok - i've uploaded it to pastebin.com. But if you download it - it became 551 bytes. I've checked them and found that pastebin have cut last "new line".

But this is NOT the issue.
What error (messaged) have reported running script.
Have you read old EDID from LCD - and what it was (you can use pastebin to share it)?
Have you edited script (change the bank number and remove the line 23)?

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#116 Post by Akimitsui » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:31 am

FryPpy wrote:
Akimitsui wrote: So, I have attempted to flash my panel with the qxga.dat file that I made but I was unsuccessful.

The qxga.dat file that I made became 551 bytes, so that may be the issue. I am wondering if anyone would be able to make the qxga.dat file available for download? It was available in the first post but unfortunately, that link is long dead.
Ok - i've uploaded it to pastebin.com. But if you download it - it became 551 bytes. I've checked them and found that pastebin have cut last "new line".

But this is NOT the issue.
What error (messaged) have reported running script.
Have you read old EDID from LCD - and what it was (you can use pastebin to share it)?
Have you edited script (change the bank number and remove the line 23)?
First, thank you for all of your help, I greatly appreciate it!

I found out exactly what the issue is. It turns out that this panel I got the backlight itself does not work. If you shine light on the screen you can see the Thinkpad logo, and it booting into Windows.
I plugged in the backlight from the original screen while the QXGA LCD was hooked up, and the backlight worked while the screen was displaying stuff. So that is confirmed the issue.

Here is a picture of what I'm talking about:
http://imgur.com/a/f2fRN

Someone on Youtube already posted how to do this for a T40, looks roughly the same for a T60:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr_trXGEYT4

I will be swapping the backlight right now, will keep you all posted on my results!

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#117 Post by Akimitsui » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:22 am

It works! The backlight bulb was shattered, which I guess is the consequence of having this panel shipped twice to get to me (first to my friend in China, and then to me).

The shattered bulb:
http://imgur.com/a/TdxYQ

The laptop working with the swapped bulb:
http://imgur.com/a/TyBf6
http://imgur.com/a/jXRCJ

It's a bummer I had to replace the bulb though, I was looking to sell the original 1440x1050 panel to make up some of the cost of this upgrade.

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#118 Post by Akimitsui » Sun Apr 30, 2017 12:54 am

Here is the link to buy the screen from the Chinese website Taobao, since I am getting a few pm's about this I'll just post it here:

https://world.taobao.com/item/262374760 ... SSx#detail

I had my friend in China order it for me, and then he shipped it to me after.
PM me if you want his contact details, or you can use an online agency to purchase it and ship it to you.

ilakast
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: North London, England

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#119 Post by ilakast » Sun Apr 30, 2017 6:24 pm

Akimitsui wrote: The laptop working with the swapped bulb:
http://imgur.com/a/TyBf6
http://imgur.com/a/jXRCJ
Why do you get 1920x1440 and not 2048×1536 ?
4:3 T61 SXGA+, R61i 4:3 15'', X41T

Akimitsui
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: The Complete 6x-series QXGA Thread

#120 Post by Akimitsui » Mon May 01, 2017 12:35 am

Because that version of Windows XP was on a drive pulled from another T60 with an ATI chip, while mine has a Nvidia chip. It had ATI drivers on it, so that was the max resolution it went to for some reason.

But I did a clean install of Windows 10 on my T601F and as you see here in the screenshot the resolution is back to 2048x1536:

http://imgur.com/a/wuXKi

At the moment I only have one 2.5" drive free, I'm waiting for my mSATA to SATA adapter enclosure to come in so I can use one of my mSATA SSD's on this T601F. So that drive with Windows XP was being swapped around computers for a bit.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests