Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
Post Reply
Message
Author
sbjoe
Freshman Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 4:22 pm
Location: San Bruno, CA

Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#1 Post by sbjoe » Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:40 am

Installed the latest version on my T42p yesterday. Since then and persistently shortly after launch I get the following error: "Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." Took a while to get the error report sent. Anyone else had this issue?
Thx, -joe T42p (T2373C96); T60p (T8743FKE5)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18061
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:23 pm

Check this: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkVantag ... 5481#M8600
The toolbox seems to be nothing else but a variety of PC-Doctor.
Uninstall it if you don't need/like it.
The previous (PC-Doctor) version is available separately and can be burned onto a CD, if you need it.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

sbjoe
Freshman Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 4:22 pm
Location: San Bruno, CA

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#3 Post by sbjoe » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:18 pm

Thx. I don't use it a lot so I'm not real concerned. It does make finding updated bits pretty easy though. If they don't come up with a fix I'll probably uninstall it at some point. The T60p that's over at Mom's was having a different problem also recently. That turned out to be a bug in the Toolkit version on that machine as well. -joe
Thx, -joe T42p (T2373C96); T60p (T8743FKE5)

mjm987
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:11 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#4 Post by mjm987 » Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:17 am

Has anybody managed to get a fix for this. I installed the latest version and then started getting error that Thinkvantage Toolbox "has stopped working". I then try to uninstall it using contral panel and got the same error. I try to install again and ge into the same loop.

Is there a previous version I can install?

I have an SL410 with Win7

thanks

mjm987
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:11 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#5 Post by mjm987 » Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:48 pm

now I get Err:-999 when I try to install any updates. Having a Lenovo really hasn't been a good experience

keithsketchley
Sophomore Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Location: Saanich B.C. Canada

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#6 Post by keithsketchley » Sun May 27, 2012 7:40 pm

Both the Thinkpad design (which is still done by IBM) and Lenvo software has not met my expectations for the premium price.

It is good that Lenovo provides driver and SW updates.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18061
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Error with latest Thinkvantage toolbox install

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 27, 2012 8:42 pm

PC Doctor is no longer available, Lenovo stopped its contract withe the company.
Apart from that, the Lenove laptops still have a way better value than the competition...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad - General HARDWARE/SOFTWARE questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests