thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 18  Next

Successful Installation Reports (with this Guide):
X60t 22%  22%  [ 15 ]
X60s 22%  22%  [ 15 ]
T60 36%  36%  [ 25 ]
Other ... 20%  20%  [ 14 ]
Total votes : 69
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:54 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Whenever I try to install Snow Leopard, I get a "No such AHCI .kext available" or something like that. Even in safe boot. Same when I try with BIOS set to capability.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:17 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Charlie.Brown wrote:
Whenever I try to install Snow Leopard, I get a "No such AHCI .kext available" or something like that. Even in safe boot. Same when I try with BIOS set to capability.


Native AHCI suport is handled by DSDT (see silencer's thread). I never had an error like this one ... can you be more precise : is it kernel panic on boot ?

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:54 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Exactly. It is a kernel panic on boot whenever I use your package, the modified iBoot, and the insert the vanilla Snow Leopard DVD. I have tried using the -x & -v -F -f modifiers to no avail. I have also tried nearly every BIOS setting combination possible. I have been able to get Snow Leopard to install before using iAnteres but I don't remeber what settings I chose to get a correctly booting system so since then I haven't been able to re-produce the successful install. Today, god willing, I am going to try and use iPortable Snow, and if that doesn't work iAtkos S3. If those don't work I do have a last resort but so far a hackintosh on this T60 seems impossible. I have been able to get OSX 10.5.x running nearly perfectly. Whenver I try to full screen a flash video, nothing appears, do you have this problem? Otherwise it runs perfect except for the sleep giving me a jumbled screen. But I do know how to fix that, I'm just being lazy.

SIDE question: Do I have to use AresBLN to use the /E/E folder or will any bootloader handle it? Or is it a Operating System thing?

If you were curious as to the hardware I have, it is this model

2008-VEP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Can you be more precise about the KP (boot -v and take a picture ...)

Charlie.Brown wrote:
If you were curious as to the hardware I have, it is this model 2008-VEP


According to Lenovo's website your config is VERY close from Silencer's ... You should use his /Extra folder instead of mine (juste replace it in my package, and then you can go on with my guide).

Charlie.Brown wrote:
SIDE question: Do I have to use AresBLN to use the /E/E folder or will any bootloader handle it? Or is it a Operating System thing?


/Extra is related to Chameleon Bootloader : it picks up files necessary for the boot sequence in this folder by default.

The kext in /Extra/Extensions are seen as if they were in /S/L/E and if there are the same kexts in /S/L/E, they "override" them. This folder is NEVER altered by MacOSX even during updates, and this point is VERY convenient.

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:54 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Oh crap! I forgot to mention, I am not able to get a successful boot using AresBLN 1.1.9, or any version for that matter when using a .pkg file, which should be fool-proof. What I get instead is a a bootscreen with jumbled numbers and obscure ASCII characters.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:31 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Charlie.Brown wrote:
Oh crap! I forgot to mention, I am not able to get a successful boot using AresBLN 1.1.9, or any version for that matter when using a .pkg file, which should be fool-proof. What I get instead is a a bootscreen with jumbled numbers and obscure ASCII characters.

:? Very strange ... you should definitely take a picture of that too ! :P

Just try again this guide with Silencer's ./Extra ... and see what happens ...

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:54 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Boulder, Colorado
NEVER MIND! I figured it all out. Vanilla OSX. Working 100%

I love you Sebinhouse, Silencer. <3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:28 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Sebinouse wrote:
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/1691/bild1r.jpg

It wont install!

X61s core2duo L7500 1.6gHz GM965 GMA X3100 2x1gb, have DSDT and more to have a look at.

You are the second one to report faulty USB detection, so I updated the files for the X61 and you can now try the new version : http://www.mediafire.com/?f72l12mfua4rnj8
[/quote]

You are the MAN! It works great! But some small problems
1. Display is 1024x768x32@85Hz and higher Hz, and i tried to force it in boot.plist to 50Hz and it works oftenly but not always.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
   <key>Boot Graphics</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
   <key>Kernel</key>
   <string>mach_kernel</string>
   <key>Kernel Flags</key>
   <string>arch=i386</string>
   <key>Theme</key>
   <string>Default</string>
   <key>Timeout</key>
   <string>3</string>
   <key>Wait</key>
   <string>No</string>
   <key>system-type</key>
   <string>2</string>
   <key>Graphics Mode</key>
   <string>1024x768x32@50</string>
</dict>
</plist>


2. No sound, Audio ID: 0

My DSDT and outer BIN and full info of my computer
http://www.mediafire.com/?d6a0bttvvcadb2c


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:25 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1498
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
Charlie.Brown wrote:
NEVER MIND! I figured it all out. Vanilla OSX. Working 100%

I love you Sebinhouse, Silencer. <3


Do post if there was any variation to how you got it all "figured out" :)

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:59 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 140
Location: Moscow, Russia
I've got a small, but very annoying issue. After sleep/wake the sound is being played with noise on top of it. Seems like some bug in VoodooHDA. Does anybody experience the same?

_________________
Mac OS X 10.6.7, 10.6.8 and 10.7.2 Lion on X61 7767 tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:46 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Paterson, New Jersey
Two people said all is working or 100% working....do you mean everything is working? I have no Gigabit Ethernet and no sound. The VoodooHDA kext mentioned earlier on by sebinouse kind of works but there's crackling sound when I got to youtube and it makes the video stutter. Without the audio the video plays fine. How are people getting the audio to work and Ethernet port? I'm not even bothered about sleep but if anyone can give guidance for audio and ethernet port I would appreciate it.

_________________
X61s Type:7666-AG6, 2GB RAM, 100GB HD, Apple AR5BXB72 Mini PCI-e 802.11N Wireless Wifi Card in WAN slot with Modded Bios 2.21.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:02 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 140
Location: Moscow, Russia
thinkpad4me wrote:
Two people said all is working or 100% working....do you mean everything is working? I have no Gigabit Ethernet and no sound. The VoodooHDA kext mentioned earlier on by sebinouse kind of works but there's crackling sound when I got to youtube and it makes the video stutter. Without the audio the video plays fine. How are people getting the audio to work and Ethernet port? I'm not even bothered about sleep but if anyone can give guidance for audio and ethernet port I would appreciate it.


As about me, it seems like 98% :) Cardbus, Sleep/wake, Sound, SDHC card, USB ports, tablet buttons, tablet pen portion, Intel C/P SpeedStep states, Bluetooth, external monitor, fingerprint, trackpoint, temperature with iStat, WiFi.
I didn't try finger touch (answered you here about it), and I have a gigabit driver (Intel82566M) that reports that it works OK, but I didn't have a chance to test it. All other peripherals are working cool - except I'm having bad sound when woke up from sleep. Need to experiment with VoodooHDA.
And about sound - try deleting AppleHDA.kext and install VoodooHDA.kext with VoodooHDA pref pane that will allow you to
tune the volume/mic levels.

_________________
Mac OS X 10.6.7, 10.6.8 and 10.7.2 Lion on X61 7767 tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:46 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Paterson, New Jersey
Anastasius wrote:

As about me, it seems like 98% :) Cardbus, Sleep/wake, Sound, SDHC card, USB ports, tablet buttons, tablet pen portion, Intel C/P SpeedStep states, Bluetooth, external monitor, fingerprint, trackpoint, temperature with iStat, WiFi.
I didn't try finger touch (answered you here about it), and I have a gigabit driver (Intel82566M) that reports that it works OK, but I didn't have a chance to test it. All other peripherals are working cool - except I'm having bad sound when woke up from sleep. Need to experiment with VoodooHDA.
And about sound - try deleting AppleHDA.kext and install VoodooHDA.kext with VoodooHDA pref pane that will allow you to
tune the volume/mic levels.


The finger touch question...it was someone else, similar name I guess lol. Anyway, for Gigabit driver? Did you install it yourself or it just worked out of the box? If you installed it? where did you install to? /E/E or /S/L/E? was it a kext file or a package you ran? Where is this ApplieHDA.kext file i should try and delete? /S/L/E? And finally which version VoodhooHDA.kext are you using and where did you install it to?

_________________
X61s Type:7666-AG6, 2GB RAM, 100GB HD, Apple AR5BXB72 Mini PCI-e 802.11N Wireless Wifi Card in WAN slot with Modded Bios 2.21.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 140
Location: Moscow, Russia
Ooops. I'm very sorry :roll:

I took Gigabit package from this post: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index. ... opic=87574 (Sorry, can't upload it anywhere, got problems with Internet).
You can use VoodooHDA package from here: http://code.google.com/p/voodoohda/
It automatically installs and deletes all necessary files - except the sound starts cracking after sleep. But it's a known issue and it seems they're working on it.

_________________
Mac OS X 10.6.7, 10.6.8 and 10.7.2 Lion on X61 7767 tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 1:11 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 140
Location: Moscow, Russia
I'm experiencing the same issue :(
After 1-2hrs of heavy load (Parallels, Safari, iTunes), the system freezes. No messages in log.
Music continues playing, cursors turns into "colourful pizza" and no interface element responds

_________________
Mac OS X 10.6.7, 10.6.8 and 10.7.2 Lion on X61 7767 tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:01 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
I've just found out that X60 and X61 don't have the same sound card ! :? ...
X60 : AD1981HD
X61 : AD1984

That explains why my solution doesn't work for you !!! So forget about custom plist in VoodooHDA v256 ... it will never work for your X61.

As Anastasius said, VoodooHDA v272 support AD1984 (Accoding http://code.google.com/p/voodoohda). Distortions have been reported after wake up (issue 4).

Has anyone tried to unload VoodooHDA.kext (v272) on sleep (with rc.sleep), and load it again on wakeup (with rc.wakeup) ?
Does it change anything ?

Anastasius wrote:
As about me, it seems like 98% :) Cardbus, Sleep/wake, Sound, SDHC card, USB ports, tablet buttons, tablet pen portion, Intel C/P SpeedStep states, Bluetooth, external monitor, fingerprint, trackpoint, temperature with iStat, WiFi.
I didn't try finger touch (answered you here about it), and I have a gigabit driver (Intel82566M) that reports that it works OK, but I didn't have a chance to test it. All other peripherals are working cool - except I'm having bad sound when woke up from sleep. Need to experiment with VoodooHDA.
And about sound - try deleting AppleHDA.kext and install VoodooHDA.kext with VoodooHDA pref pane that will allow you to
tune the volume/mic levels.


Can you share your files, to include them in the package instead of my buggy ones ? :roll:

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Durham, NC
after install, it appears to be working but I notice my core 2 duo + GMA950 tends to hang after hour of usage due to the heat problem (the core temp is around 70 C), then I found from Activity monitor that there is a process called kernel_task is constantly using 90% of one core... I switched back to another snow leopard install from iatkos v3, it didn't have this problem... so what can I do to fix this excessive kernel_task usage and get my osx into stable state? ( I tried the DSDTstable.aml, no change)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:58 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
twinkiestar wrote:
after install, it appears to be working but I notice my core 2 duo + GMA950 tends to hang after hour of usage due to the heat problem (the core temp is around 70 C), then I found from Activity monitor that there is a process called kernel_task is constantly using 90% of one core... I switched back to another snow leopard install from iatkos v3, it didn't have this problem... so what can I do to fix this excessive kernel_task usage and get my osx into stable state? ( I tried the DSDTstable.aml, no change)

Did you check if power management is enabled ? (P States and C States, see the first post to do so ...).

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Durham, NC
thanks for the tip.. I used the ioreg command and it seems p state and c state are both enabled... but I'd agree with you this must be something related to the power management....

I noticed the LegacyX60T mket was not loaded when I search via kextstat command, and I saw the /Extra/Extensions folder shows that mket highlighted as orange (while none of other mket was orange), should I expect to see it is loaded?

Sebinouse wrote:
Did you check if power management is enabled ? (P States and C States, see the first post to do so ...).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:59 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
twinkiestar wrote:
thanks for the tip.. I used the ioreg command and it seems p state and c state are both enabled... but I'd agree with you this must be something related to the power management....

I noticed the LegacyX60T mket was not loaded when I search via kextstat command, and I saw the /Extra/Extensions folder shows that mket highlighted as orange (while none of other mket was orange), should I expect to see it is loaded?


Yes 70°C is way too much ... you should get 50°C max.

LegacyX60T.kext does not appear in kextstat because it is a "legacy" kext which mean it doesn't contain any driver but a plist file that modifies other plist files located in /S/L/E.

The color of the kext doesn't matter, it is a reminder for me ... feel free to modify it !

Can you give me more details about your hardware, installation and current config ?
(attached files if possible ... no logs on the board please ... :wink: )

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Durham, NC
what I have is a t60 with t7200 c2d (2Ghz, 667 front bus), GMA950, 1400x1050, 2G RAM, Atheros wireless,

in terms of install, I followed the top post, things appear to work well after the install, display/audio/wifi all work out of the box after the DSDT fix, except it hangs after 30 mins of use.

current config is vanilla 12-16 package, no modification whats so ever :) not sure what files you would prefer, like ACPI dump?

Sebinouse wrote:

Yes 70°C is way too much ... you should get 50°C max.

LegacyX60T.kext does not appear in kextstat because it is a "legacy" kext which mean it doesn't contain any driver but a plist file that modifies other plist files located in /S/L/E.

The color of the kext doesn't matter, it is a reminder for me ... feel free to modify it !

Can you give me more details about your hardware, installation and current config ?
(attached files if possible ... no logs on the board please ... :wink: )


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:05 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
If you can get ACPI dump, you can get DSDT. Then you can apply Silencer's guide with a macbook 2.1 profile ...

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:13 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 140
Location: Moscow, Russia
Sebinouse wrote:

Can you share your files, to include them in the package instead of my buggy ones ? :roll:



Yep :lol:
Just give me a little bit more time - I fixed Fn+keys with updated DSDT, need some more testing - some of them work, some of them don't.
I also was able to communicate to ACPI and VoodooPS2Keyboard in order to modify keyboard mappings on the fly. Now multimedia keys (and many others) work and could be remapped to any action within Preferences. I'll put these files soon to public.

Edit: I redownloaded VoodooHDA sources from googlecode and compiled it. It solved the crackles/loud beeep on start. But Mic stopped working and VoodooHDA.prefPane crashes with an error.
VoodooHDA is the most amazing driver of all.

Edit2: OK, I found the correct version of VoodooHDA, recompiled it from scratch and injected a temporal workaround for sound problems. Now VoodooHDA works for me without any glitches!

_________________
Mac OS X 10.6.7, 10.6.8 and 10.7.2 Lion on X61 7767 tablet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:05 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Sugar Land, TX
I just somewhat successfully loaded SL on my x61. My specs:

7673-Y3S
core 2 duo t7500
Intel X3100
8GB RAM
Airlink 101 Wireless N 150 (since my Intel card won't work)
AD1984HD sound

SL installs successfully but I am unable to boot directly despite installing Chameleon - I have to use my USB drive to boot. I'm actually on my third installation attempt but it's not looking good.

I followed the same steps that I used to install on my X60s & T60 so I don't know what can be going wrong. The only thing I can think of is the way I've partitioned my disk. On the X60 & T60 I have Win7 as the primary/active partion and OS-X an another primary partion. On my x61 I have the OS-X loaded on an extended partition. If this latest installation attempt doesn't work I'll try to move SL to a primary partition.

Besides not being able to boot the only other thing that I've found not working is sound and sleep. I can easily live without both since I really don't use the Mac side that much; I just pop in and out to figure how to do things for my clients.

Any help on the booting side would be greatly appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:16 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Looks like my original partitioning scheme was the problem. I duplicated the partition order that I used on my X60s and all is working fine now - sound, too.

Triple booting with Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, SL, and Ubuntu with no problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:01 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 71
Sebinouse,

Thank you very much for the informative guide. It looks like it has helped many people avoiding the frustrations of installing osx86

As a osx86 newbie, I would like to install sl on my x60s. Having read your guide and the thread, I still have some questions that I hope you can clarify (hopefully you can add it to the update)

1. Which steps of the installation is done on a Mac vs. On the thinkpad?
2. When is Hdd snow used in an USB enclosure vs. Being installed in the thinkpad?
3. When you say boot from USB key, that is done on the think pad right?
4. As most would like to also run windows also, can you expand a bit on dual boot options? And also steps to get it working? E.g. Do you have to wipe out existing windows installs?
5. Can you use bootcamp to handle dual boot?
6. Can you clarify the wifi issue? For newbies, should they just buy a compatible wifi card for the install to save the headache? I have the intel abg card right now.


Thanks for all your help. I hope my "newbie" perspectives will expand the audience of your guide!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:43 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Pennstate wrote:
1. Which steps of the installation is done on a Mac vs. On the thinkpad?
2. When is Hdd snow used in an USB enclosure vs. Being installed in the thinkpad?
3. When you say boot from USB key, that is done on the think pad right?
4. As most would like to also run windows also, can you expand a bit on dual boot options? And also steps to get it working? E.g. Do you have to wipe out existing windows installs?
5. Can you use bootcamp to handle dual boot?
6. Can you clarify the wifi issue? For newbies, should they just buy a compatible wifi card for the install to save the headache? I have the intel abg card right now.


1. Every step with "On "MacOSX" "
2. whenever you want, for me there is not difference ...
3. Yes
4. I have only done a dual boot with WinXP : for that you must a MBR partition table, you install Snow and use chameleon to handle dual boot. You can keep your windows install if you can add a HFS+ partition on your disk (with MBR partition table)
5. Use chameleon instead
6. Intel Wifi Cards don't work on MacOSX (an will never work properly). The best solution is to switch your card for a compatible one.

Hope that helped and that next time you post with your hack :D !

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:46 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
xene wrote:
Looks like my original partitioning scheme was the problem. I duplicated the partition order that I used on my X60s and all is working fine now - sound, too.

Triple booting with Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, SL, and Ubuntu with no problems.


Glad you found a solution !

Can you share information about your triple boot ? ( installation, boot, GRUB or chameleon )
Many people ask about Win7 and I don't know what to answer ... I only need WinXP !
Thanks

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:48 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Anastasius wrote:
Yep :lol:
Just give me a little bit more time - I fixed Fn+keys with updated DSDT, need some more testing - some of them work, some of them don't.
I also was able to communicate to ACPI and VoodooPS2Keyboard in order to modify keyboard mappings on the fly. Now multimedia keys (and many others) work and could be remapped to any action within Preferences. I'll put these files soon to public.

I can't wait to try that !!!

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:52 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Sebinouse wrote:
Can you share information about your triple boot ? ( installation, boot, GRUB or chameleon )
Many people ask about Win7 and I don't know what to answer ... I only need WinXP !
Thanks

Glad to help out:
  1. Install or start with Windows as the primary OS
  2. Create & format partitions for OS-X and Ubuntu. I name my OS-X partition Hackintosh or something similar to make it easier to find when installing SL
  3. Follow the instructions in the original post to install OS-X to the Hackintosh partition
  4. After installing OS-X you will not be able to boot into any OS until you repair the Windows boot record.
    1. Boot the laptop with the Windows installation disk
    2. After selecting region info, click on Repair
    3. Select first option and then Command prompt
    4. In Command Prompt type
    • diskpart
    • select disk 0 (or whatever disk Windows is installed on)
    • select partition 1 (or whatever partition Windows is installed on)
    • active
  5. Reboot and Windows 7 should once again boot
  6. Install EasyBCD. I use and old version 1.7.2 because I've had problems with the newer versions.
  7. Add Mac to boot menu
  8. Add the following string to the registry to fix the time. When you boot into OS-X and then back to Windows the time in Windows will be 6 hours fast due to OS-X's use of a different time standard (UTC? Can't remember).
    • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\TimeZoneInformation
    • Add dword "RealTimeIsUniversal" = 1
  9. Reboot into Windows and time should now be correct.
  10. Download and install Ubuntu. I use the Ubuntu Windows Installer (wubi.exe) to install to the Ubuntu partition that I created in step 2. It will automatically add Ubuntu to the Windows boot menu

Hope this makes sense.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group