thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 5:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:40 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I've got a T60 with a T2300 in it presently (Core Duo, 667 MHz FSB) and I've got this T5200 Core 2 Duo processor just sitting here, same socket, but it's designed for a 533 MHz FSB. After doing some research at the Intel site I'm led to believe I should be able to just do a chip swap without issues in this situation, and the 945GM chipset will handle the 533 MHz FSB without a problem, but I thought I'd drop the question here since you folks are infinitely more knowledgeable about this sort of thing.

I don't mind the slight drop in the FSB since it's an actual Core 2 Duo which will make up some of that because it's a more powerful processor than the original Core Duo CPU it's hopefully going to replace. Most likely I'll end up with exactly the same performance in the long run but, a few more crunched numbers in less time is always beneficial.

If anyone can say "Yes, it'll work just fine and the 945GM chipset will handle the T5200 just fine" or "No, don't even bother 'cause it's not going to work" I'd appreciate it.

Note: I'm not looking for someone to say whether I should or should not do this; the question is a technical one only: can this T60 support the T5200, yes or no.

Thanks for your time, and have fun, always...

(and yes I did several searches here but T5200 only comes up in maybe 3 threads total so, apparently it's just not a popular CPU I suppose, who knows, but none of the threads were T60 related)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:39 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12782
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Welcome to the forum!

It's not going to work. You need a T5500 or T5600 for that generation of ThinkPads, and they're dime a dozen nowadays.

Of course, you could always go with T7200/7400/7600, but their prices are higher by quite a margin.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:31 am 
Offline
Moderator1
Moderator1

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Welcome to the forum!

A couple of key issues here, because I believe the following may be of your interest, and may also be in the interest of other readers on this forum (and regardless of your "technical question" only relating to whether the T5200 will fit in a T60 or not):

1. If you really want a noticably speed increase, I'd certainly suggest that you get a solid-state drive (SSD) first, e.g. an Intel X25-M, rather than upgrading your CPU. See e.g. the thread SSD Upgrade for T60p How-to? Need suggestions. If you have the energy and interest to learn more about SSD's in ThinkPad's, I'd suggest that you search this forum for information about peoples experience with upgrading from a standard mechanical hard disk drive (HDD) to a SSD, compared to the speed increase if upgrading the CPU to a (in your case: Slightly) faster type.

2. Before upgrading your CPU, verify that your motherboard is Rev. 3; use e.g. the free program CPU-Z. Check the revision number in the "Mainboard" tab in CPU-Z.

3. Be sure to upgrade your BIOS to the latest version supporting Core 2 Duo's before you swap your old Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo. You will find all T60 downloads at Drivers and software - ThinkPad T60, T60p.

4. Consider swapping your fan if upgrading your CPU to a higher TDP model (Thermal Design Power) – about replacing a T60 fan see the thread Fan for T60 2007-CTO and especially this post. Get the T60 HMM (”Hardware Maintenance Manuel”) as decribed in that post, and also see the various videos etc.

As to what ”speed increase” you can expect if upgrading a T60 from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo CPU, I suggest you read the following threads: T60: Planning on swapping out my T2400 for a T7600...help? and Upgrade processor to Core 2 Duo and Thinking about Duo 2 Core upgrade on Z61m? and T60: Upgrade Core Duo to Core 2 Duo? and Big difference between Core Duo and Core 2 Duo? and T60 Core Duo --> Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Duo Upgrade and Mobile CPU Wars: Core 2 Duo vs. Core Duo.

Again, I hope the above may be of some use for you, although you didn't ask about all I explained above! Good luck! :thumbs-UP:

Johan

_________________
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:34 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 474
Location: Los Angeles, CA
On a T60P 2623DDU wouldn't I have to upgrade to Windows 7 to utilize an SSD?

What's the best CPU upgrade possible on my machine?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:52 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12782
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
T7600 and you can run XP on SSD

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:59 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 474
Location: Los Angeles, CA
ajkula66 wrote:
T7600 and you can run XP on SSD

Thanks, George.

Is it that TRIM only really works on 7?

Is the T7600 worth it, and would I have to flash the BIOS if I were to install it?

Boe Hydis, signing off...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group