Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

Work/comment area for scripts and utilities like TP Fan, 2-finger scrolling, etc
Post Reply
Message
Author
badley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:52 am
Location: Tampa, FL

thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#1 Post by badley » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:02 am

Hi,
I am new Lenovo products. I have a Macbook Pro for personal use and it has a "Work in multiple spaces" feature that I find would be very useful on my work Thinkpad. I was wondering if a feature like this exists on the Thinkpad and if so how do I use it?? Thanks for any help

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7547
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#2 Post by dr_st » Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:14 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum. :)

I am not familiar with this feature. What does it do?
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

badley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:52 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#3 Post by badley » Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:45 am

dr_st wrote:Hello and welcome to the forum. :)

I am not familiar with this feature. What does it do?
Hi thanks for the response! Its hard to explain. It allows me to separate multiple things in different desktop views. An example where i used it often was for my college courses. i would have websites and word documents on one view then would swipe to the next desktop view for another class and open up other documents and websites. This would allow me to swipe back and forth between classes without having to cluster up one screen for multiple classes.

Ill try and find a better term for the feature.

badley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:52 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#4 Post by badley » Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:48 am


Saucey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:22 pm
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Re: thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#5 Post by Saucey » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:25 am

For windows its not standard, actually I've never seen it on Windows ever!
Its a OSX or Linux thing, I know Linux Mint and Ubuntu had this feature, but I don't use Linux as a power user much. Linux calls them workspaces, fun feature if I'm trying to 'hide' something.

There are a few 3rd party applications to get Virtual Dimension, VirtuaWin, Dexpot to name a few (I just searched this, Ill try one out soon 8) ) so that it would be enabled for Windows, some aren't free I think.

I am not sure that if they are easy to use like on OSX.
I fins it quite handy on Linux on the few times I use workspaces, I like how its built in.
I think I was having trouble on Windows 8 where it had programs running in the desktop view, yet had a different set running in its buttons screen.
I found it annoying because I had to switch them to stop programs from running.
Coffee, ThinkPads & Nikon Fan.

Current: PixelBook, Y50-70, T430
Collected: A31p, T43p, 2521
Past: W700ds, X1C3, 701C

badley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:52 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: thinkpad "Work in multiple spaces" feature??

#6 Post by badley » Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:01 am

Thanks you so much for your help! Ill do some research on those. just wanted to make sure there wasn't that feature already on my thinkpad.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Utility Work Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests