Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

T20-T23 Series and T30 specific matters only. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
olex126
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#1 Post by olex126 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:52 pm

Hi Gang.

I just inherited a lovely-condition T23 (2648-4MU). P3 1.13 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 30 Gb HD, no WiFi, but I can work on that later. The problem is that it has a very DIM/yellow 14.1" LCD XGA Panel.

Rather than replace the CCFL, which would give me a BRIGHT/yellow screen, I'd rather replace the screen. On hand I have new SXGA panel (long-ago-IBM-sent-under-warranty, never installed). As well as a requiring a new SXGA cable & inverter, can anyone experienced in panel swapping verify that the new T30 SXGA screen would work with the T23?

Present T23 screen: FRU: 05K9567 Panel LG 141X6 A1 IB

New T30 screen: FRU: 11P8295 Panel LG LP141E04

Same Panelook 20-pin interface.

SO:

1. Will this T30 SXGA Screen work?

2.Does the T23 SXGA inverter drive this T30 screen?

Any input is greatly appreciated. I don't mind spending some dollars on a T23 SXGA cable if it will give me the ability to use the T30 SXGA screen.

Thanks. Regards.

Dave
Previous & Collection Thinkpads: 701C A22m A30/A31p T23p x2 T30 T41 X31 various 750's 760's & 390's.

DD's & Test Benches: X41T, X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x200 x201 x220T x230 T520 W530 T601F LED (X9000/8Gb/250SSD/W7 U)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#2 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:49 pm

Pretty sure the new LCD cable is needed for the T23.
The inverter should drive all of these 14.1" ThinkPad screens (even the T4x ones) without problems since there are no IPS ones with extra brightness to worry about.
Pretty sure you can also mod the cable for T23 to work with SXGA+ by cutting and soldering a few traces like on the T4x series but I have only dived into the T4x series for that matter and not these.
Before doing any hassle installing though, you can try to verify if your NOS screen still lights up like you would expect. You can plug in the backlight without connecting the LCD connector and see how the screen looks under a pure white image. These things can develop dusting and dead backlights even without a single hour of usage if not stored properly
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

olex126
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#3 Post by olex126 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:47 pm

Kfzhu1229....Thanks for the tips!

Tomorrow I'll check the screen as you suggest, and although it has been unboxed for ten years and only moved once, it wouldn't hurt to verify its' intergity before I begin the rest of the odyssey!

I totally forgot about the good work you had done with the T4x XGA-to-UXGA cable conversion, I will check into that as well.

Thanks again. :bow: Regards.

Dave
Previous & Collection Thinkpads: 701C A22m A30/A31p T23p x2 T30 T41 X31 various 750's 760's & 390's.

DD's & Test Benches: X41T, X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x200 x201 x220T x230 T520 W530 T601F LED (X9000/8Gb/250SSD/W7 U)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:25 am

I know that 14.1" XGA R30 screens work in a T23.
But I have never tried a T30 screen in a T23 (or v.v.).
T23 XGA and SXGA+ need different LCD cables but use the same inverters.
Before you try T30 in T23, you should look up the Datasheets from both SXGA+ screens and do a pinout-comparison.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:42 am

Well I also know the screen from A30 14.1" is EXACTLY the same crappy Samsung one from a XGA T2x so I don't expect the T30 SXGA+ screen to be incompatible. Moreover I also got 14.1" SXGA+ T4x screen running on a A31 with SXGA+ cable with the cable hinge plastic removed due to length problems.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

olex126
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#6 Post by olex126 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:32 am

Just a short update to the project.

I came across a known good XGA panel in my stash... a Hyundi HT14X14-101 from a previous T23, so I thought I'd try that...

HA! No Go. :BAAAD!:. It turns out the input connector is 2/10" SMALLER on this Hyundi panel than the end of the T23 XGA cable.

Panelook confirms...2 completely different input connectors for each panel.....Grrrrrrr....!

Awaiting arrival of an SXGA cable & inverter to continue the project.

Regards.

Dave
Previous & Collection Thinkpads: 701C A22m A30/A31p T23p x2 T30 T41 X31 various 750's 760's & 390's.

DD's & Test Benches: X41T, X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x200 x201 x220T x230 T520 W530 T601F LED (X9000/8Gb/250SSD/W7 U)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#7 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:23 pm

olex126 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:32 am
Just a short update to the project.

I came across a known good XGA panel in my stash... a Hyundi HT14X14-101 from a previous T23, so I thought I'd try that...
HA! No Go.
I think you have the problem of a 20pin vs a 30pin connector. T2x uses 20pin and only 15" T/A3x screens use 30pin
Wait... you say the hyundai panel is smaller and having a look on panelook it is definitely 20pin, so does your cable have a 30pin connector? A 30pin male connector on the cable has the golden fingers exposed while a 20pin one doesn't
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#8 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:26 pm

olex126 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:32 am

Awaiting arrival of an SXGA cable & inverter to continue the project.
I'm reasonably certain that all T30 panels were proprietary for that model and not interchangeable with what was found in T2x. You may want to compare the pinouts before actually installing the screen.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#9 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:43 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:26 pm
I'm reasonably certain that all T30 panels were proprietary for that model and not interchangeable with what was found in T2x. You may want to compare the pinouts before actually installing the screen.

Good luck.
Wait so you cannot use a screen from a 14.1" A3x on a T30 and vice versa? I know for a fact that my 14.1" A30 came with a Samsung screen identical in FRU to the T22 and T23's I have before I converted that to A30p UXGA.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#10 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:43 pm

Wait so you cannot use a screen from a 14.1" A3x on a T30 and vice versa?
That is my understanding.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T30 SXGA Screen Into An XGA T23??

#11 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 3:35 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm
That is my understanding.
Okay seems like you are right. Having a closer look at the LTN141XE SXGA+ screen from a T30, the connector is unfortunately, higher up compared to a T2x or A3x 14.1". Its' like the same kind of problem between a 15" A3x screen and a 15" T4x/R5x screen.
Alas that means short of a 20 pin CCFL LVDS extender cable you won't be able to fit a T30 screen on a T2x or A3x but the other way around might be possible.
I have had the same problem between an Inspiron 2650 (Also connector higher up) and a Latitude C600 (screen compatible with a T2x) and I ended up fitting a T2x Samsung screen in the C600 to fix its broken screen. Here I thought Dell was just trolling with proprietary screen fittings on the Inspiron but unfortunately it isn't the only one.
But I know for a fact that that Inspiron 2650 works perfectly with the same Samsung screen with adjustment of its cable length.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T20-T23 & T30 Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests