Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
cjedwa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:17 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#1 Post by cjedwa » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:40 pm

Hi All.

I read that you can upgrade the T61 CPU to the Intel T9500 CPU and purchased one. According to comparisons it looks like you get around a 40-45% bump. I want to replace the thermal paste anyway so I figured I'd also upgrade the CPU when I did that. I was just curious if there are any gotchas about upgrading the CPU? I'm thinking unexpected cooling issues or battery life decrease. Has anyone done this upgrade and can you speak to whether you had any issues?

I have already flashed the middleton bios.

Thanks!

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#2 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:44 pm

Many people have done this upgrade. It's well worth it. You've already flash Middleton's BIOS so you're all set. Do it, give it a clean and new thermal paste while you're at it and never look back.

cjedwa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:17 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#3 Post by cjedwa » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:50 pm

Awesome! I'm sure it'll go well. I'm still waiting for the new CPU to ship but I'll update this post once I get it in. I'm sure plenty of people have posted benchmarks and stats but I'll try to throw a couple up for before and after.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#4 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:58 pm

Benchmark and stats means nothing to me. Normal everyday usage and experience is more meaningful. Back in the day I used to be a hardcore overclocker and was really into the benchmark points, timing, speed, etc, etc. Then one day the law of diminishing return won me over. For example, upgrade from a HDD to SSD was significant. Spending more on a faster SSD? Nope.

cjedwa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:17 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#5 Post by cjedwa » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:07 pm

I'm with you there. I'm not a big benchmark person myself but I know a lot of people are into that. I've been exclusively a Linux person for the past decade and while I hear it's gotten better, I've never really been a gamer since the options were so limited on Linux. I mostly use my laptop for work, browsing and youtube/podcasts. As long as my computer is fast enough for that, I mostly just want stability, a comfortable keyboard and decent battery life.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#6 Post by MikalE » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:09 pm

Any reason why you did not choose the T9600, or is it not compatible?
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

cjedwa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:17 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#7 Post by cjedwa » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:14 pm

It's my understanding that the 1066 MHz FSB makes it not compatible. I think the max is 800MHz. Maybe someone else can chime in to verify though because I'm not 100% on that.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#8 Post by MikalE » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:16 pm

I didn't know if that would make a difference or if the memory would just run at the slower speed.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#9 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:17 pm

A T9600 is not compatible though some have installed a 1066 FSB CPU with a pin mod. Not worth it in my books but some have done it.

wujstefan
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#10 Post by wujstefan » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:19 am

Cigarguy wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:17 pm
A T9600 is not compatible though some have installed a 1066 FSB CPU with a pin mod. Not worth it in my books but some have done it.
Nope, it's not compatible.
Yes, it can become compatible with the pin-mod. RAM needs to be SPD-odified.
No, I don't agree it's not worth it. Easy upgrade that lets you use quadcore CPUs (Q9100, QX9300), go for more power efficient / cooler options (P9700 etc.) or pure power (X9100). (but, this is written by someone that tries to prolong his 4:3 system life ;))

Brought to you by FSB-modded R61i.
Dailies:
X201s - travel / garage
HP Elitebook 8770w (FHD IPS, SSD, Q4000M, 16Gb) - daily
Collectibles:
T43 (LED Flexview UXGA), Z60t, G41, R30, R50e, R61i
Under construction:
A31, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30, Z61m

Screamer
Sophomore Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#11 Post by Screamer » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:55 am

Installing a T9600 with a simple pin-mod, that consists of a wire which transfers voltage from any VCC pin to BSEL1, is not worth it. I believe this is what Cigarguy meant. If you perform the pin-mod alone, you would get a T9600 that operates on the slower front-side bus speed of 800MT/s. This means that the T9600 will operate at approximately ~2.1GHz, which is slower than its stock rated clock speed of ~2.8GHz. Adding that with the locked multiplier on the T9600, you will just get a T8100 with 6MB of L2 cache instead.

This simple pin-mod does not require the RAM's SPD to be modified though, it only applies if the chipset is running at 1066MT/s.

Forcing the GM965 or the PM965 chipset to use a front-side bus speed of 1066MT/s, requires you to cut 1 tiny trace and solder a wire to connect a resistor and a capacitor together (this is how it looks like). After this modification, the RAM will be operating at a significantly higher clock speed. This is when the SPD modification is required; to downclock the RAM for stability.

Remember, this modification is only for running 1066MT/s dual-core Penryn processors, not 1066MT/s quad-core Penryn processors. The quad-cores on the other hand, requires another wire soldered to form a connection from D22 to AD26. All of these modifications, excluding the pin-mod, requires soldering with a steady hand. Plus, not a lot of RAM manufacturers have their SPD EEPROMs unlocked.

It makes sense that some people view it as something that is not feasible, or not being worth it at all. Though, the pin-mod does benefit the X9100 or the QX9300 (needs the quad-core modification to operate), or any processor with an unlocked multiplier. The processors with an unlocked multiplier can easily regain their speed loss by raising their clock multiplier, which negates the disadvantage of the pin-mod. An additional advantage with this combination, is that the SPD EEPROM does not need to be modified (it is still operating on the 800MT/s front-side bus speed after all).

storm-chaser
Sophomore Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Schenectady, NY

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#12 Post by storm-chaser » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:05 pm

Thanks for the clarification. I always here about the pin mod recommendation without the backstory.

IMO not practical for even 99% of enthusiasts after talking about the logistical nightmare created when going with the 1066 mod.

I'm happy with my T61p X9000 at 3.4Ghz. I have another Lenovo in mind for the QX9300 :)
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
AMD Phenom II 960T @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
Lenovo T61p 15.4" - Core 2 extreme X9000 CPU @ 3.4Ghz, SSD
Toshiba Satellite A505D - 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 80GB SSD

pm23885
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#13 Post by pm23885 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:19 am

I apologize and don't mean to hijack this thread. Very much a noob when it comes to the T61. I plan to upgrade from T7100 -> T9300. Already flashed Middleton and wanted to know about the error is suppresses - thermal sensors. Is this safe to do? Will a merom board still keep the CPU cool? Will it be better if I stick with merom cpu's like the t7700? Thanks in advanced.
x61 x220 x230 t61 t420 t430 a475

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#14 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:26 am

An upgrade to a T9300 is while worth the effort. It will run faster and cooler than a T7700. While you are at it, take the opportunity to give everything a good clean. Apply good thermal paste on the CPU. It's not that difficult to do. Take your time and follow the maintenance manual. It's fairly straight forward.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#15 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:28 am

Welcome to the forum!
pm23885 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:19 am
I apologize and don't mean to hijack this thread. Very much a noob when it comes to the T61. I plan to upgrade from T7100 -> T9300. Already flashed Middleton and wanted to know about the error is suppresses - thermal sensors. Is this safe to do? Will a merom board still keep the CPU cool? Will it be better if I stick with merom cpu's like the t7700? Thanks in advanced.
It's perfectly fine to run a Penryn on a Merom board that was flashed with Middleton's BIOS. Some of us have been doing it for years.

T7700 is a much hotter-running CPU than a T9300. The latter wins in all respects any day of the week and any hour of the day.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

pm23885
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#16 Post by pm23885 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:38 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:28 am
Welcome to the forum!
pm23885 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:19 am
I apologize and don't mean to hijack this thread. Very much a noob when it comes to the T61. I plan to upgrade from T7100 -> T9300. Already flashed Middleton and wanted to know about the error is suppresses - thermal sensors. Is this safe to do? Will a merom board still keep the CPU cool? Will it be better if I stick with merom cpu's like the t7700? Thanks in advanced.
It's perfectly fine to run a Penryn on a Merom board that was flashed with Middleton's BIOS. Some of us have been doing it for years.

T7700 is a much hotter-running CPU than a T9300. The latter wins in all respects any day of the week and any hour of the day.
Fantastic. Thanks so much. You guys are amazing.
x61 x220 x230 t61 t420 t430 a475

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#17 Post by MikalE » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:26 pm

That's why they make the big bucks!
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19442
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#18 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:40 pm

Daily haul...
Image

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#19 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:57 pm

MikalE wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:26 pm
That's why they make the big bucks!
Well, I don't know...in 12 years that I've been living here in NEPA I haven't hit a big buck yet, just two regular deer... :twisted:
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

wujstefan
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#20 Post by wujstefan » Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:51 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:57 pm
Well, I don't know...in 12 years that I've been living here in NEPA I haven't hit a big buck yet, just two regular deer... :twisted:
You'd be forced pay big bucks for that in Europe. This is what the "eco-nonsense" mean. I've been fined heavily last year after hitting a boar with my car on the road - it just jumped out of the forest directly under my wheels. $300 for car fix, and another $350 I've been fined for poaching (!). And still I was not allowed to take it and turn into kielbasa ;)

Sorry for offtop :)
Dailies:
X201s - travel / garage
HP Elitebook 8770w (FHD IPS, SSD, Q4000M, 16Gb) - daily
Collectibles:
T43 (LED Flexview UXGA), Z60t, G41, R30, R50e, R61i
Under construction:
A31, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30, Z61m

Sydney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#21 Post by Sydney » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 am

Poaching ??? LOL. So if you collide with a bison and die, are they as politically correct and charge it with murder ?

storm-chaser
Sophomore Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Schenectady, NY

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#22 Post by storm-chaser » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:34 am

BTW once you get your T9500 up and running you can use ThrottleStop to force dual IDA mode and go from 2.6 to 2.8Ghz, roughly a 13% performance increase. I've heard that the middleton BIOS will force IDA mode as well but I've always used ThrottleStop to achieve the higher clock speed. You can also your TS to undervolt. You should be able to run 2.8Ghz @ 1.0875 vcore, or thereabouts.
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
AMD Phenom II 960T @ 4.1Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD
Lenovo T61p 15.4" - Core 2 extreme X9000 CPU @ 3.4Ghz, SSD
Toshiba Satellite A505D - 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 80GB SSD

Sydney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: T61 CPU upgrade T7300 -> T9500

#23 Post by Sydney » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:57 am


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests