Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

SL510 upgrade to ssd

SL300/SL400/SL500, L400-L420 and L500-L520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Doctor9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

SL510 upgrade to ssd

#1 Post by Doctor9 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:21 pm

From what I've read, the SL510 *can* be upgraded to an SSD. I just did a clean install of windows 7 64 bit, cloned the drive with macrium reflect to a Kingston A400 SSD - I can see everything on the drive if I plug it into a usb-SATA adapter. However, the bios refuses to see it. It lists HDD0, but there is no name beside it, and if I try to boot from it, it just doesn't acknowledge it. The drivers for the intel chipset are updated, the bios is updated - it's as if it doesn't exist.

I'm trying to upgrade this laptop for somone - I've done other Lenovo laptops, but no luck on this one.

Any Ideas?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20216
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: SL510 upgrade to ssd

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:35 am

Depending on SATA settings in BIOS, change it from Compatible to AHCI.
Did you clone the boot partitions as well?
If not, redo the cloning including those partitions.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Doctor9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: SL510 upgrade to ssd

#3 Post by Doctor9 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:34 am

It was already AHCI. I did a full clone - as I've always done before - this isn't my first rodeo. I don't know if it's something to do with the Kingston A400 SSD (I've tried *2* of them). I can see everything on them when in a an external enclosure, but plug them into the drive bay and *poof* nothing. The Bios doesn't see them. The Windows install CD *sees* them, but can't install because the bios doesn't see them.

Khavvie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:36 pm
Location: Faringdon, Oxfordshire, UK

Re: SL510 upgrade to ssd

#4 Post by Khavvie » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:55 pm

Did it pick up the original hard drive?
Asus G752VT - MAIN
Lenovo ThinkPad X230 (GONE)
Lenovo ThinkPad X131e (8GB RAM, 250GB SSD, Windows 7 Pro)
HP Elitebook 8470p (Core i5 3320m, 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD, Win 10 Edu x64)
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 - Win7Pro 64bit
LOOKING: M4800 or M6700 Precisions!

Doctor9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: SL510 upgrade to ssd

#5 Post by Doctor9 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:20 am

Oh, it does that no problem - slap it back in, and it reboots perfectly. I'm starting to wonder if it's the Kingston A400 line that 's the issue.

Kind of annoying if it is, means I need to buy another drive :(

Doctor9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: SL510 upgrade to ssd

#6 Post by Doctor9 » Thu Aug 29, 2019 12:14 pm

Yup....the SL510 doesn't get the drive ID info from the Kingston A400 - I just bought a Crucial MX500. First thing I did was slap it in, boot up to bios - and there it is, an identified drive.

The A400 was fine in some newer models - I guess it just can't talk to the older hardware :(

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad SL and L Series until L420/L520”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests