Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Windows Vista 64 bit versus 32 Bit.

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Lenovoate
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:51 pm
Location: Eugene, OR

Windows Vista 64 bit versus 32 Bit.

#1 Post by Lenovoate » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:23 am

Hi, I'm considering buying a w500 in the next few months and am looking to take full advantage of the 4GB memory option.

From what I'm hearing here, that means I'd have to choose the 64 bit edition of Vista.

Am worried about how big an issue backwards compatibility with X86 software is?

I have a t42 now with 32mg of dedicated graphics, and am looking forward to playing some great x86 games released over the past few years that I can't play now.

Would things like Age of Empires 3, Half Life 2, Bioshock, and the like work on a 64 bit system?

Thanks!

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5865
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

#2 Post by jdhurst » Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:02 am

This is a difficult question that only you can answer for yourself. I moved to Vista Business 64-bit, and I have had to replace a lot of software (a bigger change than from 9x to NT some years back). The deeper software goes into the internals, the less likely legacy software will run on a 64-bit machine.

So: Symantec Corporate Security, CommView, SafeNet SoftRemote, most of the IBM drivers (no issue - came with machine), Fax software, iPass software, Blackberry software, VMware and so on all had to be replaced and a number of the upgrades cost.

Then, having said all that, I see no point whatever to a premium machine or in Vista unless the whole thing is 64-bit. It is too late in the game to buy all new and stay 32-bt. ... JDH

Wendy
Freshman Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: Central CT

#3 Post by Wendy » Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:09 pm

I am running Vista Home Premium 64 Bit and have had very few issues with my software. The only things that does not work is the Adobe PDF writer. I have gotten round that by using CutePDF. Once the PDF is created, Acrobat 8 Pro will work it. Here is a partial list of my apps:

Office Ultimate 2007
Adobe CS3 Suiite for Web
Adobe Premium Elements 4
Printshop 23
iTunes (64 ver.)
Quickbooks 2003 (amazed it works better in non-compatibility mode)

I don't run any games but I can check with my son....I gave him my quad core desktop with Vista 64 Ultimate on it when I got my W500.

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.”
Arthur C. Clarke

dhanchi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA

brightness

#4 Post by dhanchi » Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:34 am

can you tell me if the screen is bright - can you give comparisons? - can you see this fine in the sunlight outdoors? - the NIT brightness and contrast ratio do not tell me too much.

MTWIZARD
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

#5 Post by MTWIZARD » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:06 am

I use Vista 64 on both my W700 and my X300. I also use Vista 32 on my X300 sometimes. Vista 64 is faster and more stable.

MTWIZARD
W510
X201t
T410s
TransNote

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5865
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

#6 Post by jdhurst » Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:35 pm

I also am finding Vista 64-bit to be very stable. Since my XP machines **never** crash (not ever), then nothing can be "more" stable. Time will tell how stable Vista 64-bit is, but it looks good from here.
... JD

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests