Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

R51 Motherboard Swap?

R30/R40, A30/A31, G40/G50 and Z60/Z61 Series. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
SAIYAN48
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 10:20 pm
Location: Hamilton, Canada

R51 Motherboard Swap?

#1 Post by SAIYAN48 » Fri Jan 01, 2021 10:21 pm

Hello!

I have an R51 with max RAM and a dualboot with XP and LXLE. Now I love this thing but it's not too powerful anymore. In theory, with case modding, what Motherboard could I put into the chassis? I do want to keep the classic keyboard since I had an x131 for high school and hated the modern keyboard. Any ideas/advice is appreaciated.

Thanks!

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17117
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Fri Jan 01, 2021 11:57 pm

Welcome to the forum!

Sadly, there's not much of an improvement path if one want to utilize the R5x chassis. None of the significantly newer boards will fit.

You could hang on to the "classic" keyboard all the way into T/W 420/520 series which would provide immensely more power than your current ThinkPad.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21827
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Jan 02, 2021 2:36 am

Without case modding, the best you could do is put a T43p mobo in there.
You'd also need a new CPU, a new fan and new RAM with that, but the rest of R51 you can reuse.
However, you are still limited to max. 2GB RAM.

Ajkula66's advice is indeed your better/best bet.
Still NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown until Easter 2021!
Covid-19: Stay safe, so Mask it or Casket!

SAIYAN48
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 10:20 pm
Location: Hamilton, Canada

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#4 Post by SAIYAN48 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:38 pm

Any non Thinkpad boards that might do the trick (as a last resort)

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17117
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#5 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:41 pm

SAIYAN48 wrote:
Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:38 pm
Any non Thinkpad boards that might do the trick (as a last resort)
No
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Ogog10002
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:54 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#6 Post by Ogog10002 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:58 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat Jan 02, 2021 2:36 am
Without case modding, the best you could do is put a T43p mobo in there.
You'd also need a new CPU, a new fan and new RAM with that, but the rest of R51 you can reuse.
However, you are still limited to max. 2GB RAM.

Ajkula66's advice is indeed your better/best bet.
Am I to understand that any T43 motherboard will fit the case with all the screws in place? How about the display I'm guessing one would probably have to change it too(inverter and cable as well, but will the T43 display cable and inverter fit in the R51 case?)
Thanks

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21827
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:32 pm

Any T43/T43p (and its sister R52) mobo will fit.
If it is a 15" screen with UXGA, or a 14.1" screen with SXGA+, then you will need a mobo with ATI graphics.
LCDs will also fit between models.
BUT, you will need an R5x LCD-cable and inverter, they are different from T4x.
Get the manuals from the HMM link above, and compare parts.
Still NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown until Easter 2021!
Covid-19: Stay safe, so Mask it or Casket!

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1928
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: R51 Motherboard Swap?

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:48 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat Jan 02, 2021 2:36 am
You'd also need a new CPU, a new fan and new RAM with that, but the rest of R51 you can reuse.
However, you are still limited to max. 2GB RAM.
Uh I believe that is not true as the PCMCIA cage between T42 and T43 is completely different, and T42 cage is completely electrically compatible with R51. Using these cages on a T43 results in firstly the connector not plugging in and also weirdly enough, sleep function gets screwy.
I believe the safest option is really to get a T43 unit entirely (or even better, go to a newer machine like the T520) and then sell your R51.
If you still want to keep the R51 guts, then you just need a T43/p motherboard (preferably ATi based as the non-ATI based one is likely slower than your R51), R52 PCMCIA cage, CPU heatsink, 533mhz Dothan Sonoma generation Pentium M CPU (although your existing 400mhz one will work too but defeats the point, providing it's not a Banias core), DDR2 RAM sticks, and a different bluetooth card if that's something you want.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests