Couple issues with Lenovo E530 after upgrade

Edge / E-Series
topperdude

Couple issues with Lenovo E530 after upgrade

#1 Post by topperdude » Sat Oct 14, 2023 8:40 pm

Hello,

I am posting this for a neighbor / friend who owns the Lenovo E530. They are an older / retired couple that uses this laptop sparingly.
I am a software engineer and help them out with computer related things as much as possible.
Recently, I swapped the old / original spinning 5400rpm hard drive that came with the laptop with a Western Digital Blue SSD.
As expected, this boosted the performance of the laptop that it was acceptable for how much they use it.

It also appeared that although the laptop was updated to Windows 10 by some technician in their home state before they moved to our area, the drivers, BIOS etc. were outdated. For example, the BIOS was the original one and many of the other drivers were from between 2011 or so.
I went to the official Lenovo website and downloaded the most recent drivers for the hardware components in their E530.
I also found the most recent BIOS on the website and updated it using the BIOS update utility on the Lenovo website.

The issues:
1. This laptop has the RTL8188CE Wi-Fi card. Even though I have updated this laptop with the most recent driver from Lenovo's website, they are having issues seeing and connecting to their Wi-Fi as I have detailed over here. I am not sure why the laptop can see and connect to my Eero Wi-Fi network but not to their Eero Wi-Fi network. All other devices in their house (including some 2.4Ghz only switches) connect to their Eero Wifi network without issues.