Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Boe Hydis LED UXGA HV150UX2-100 into T60 issues.

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Qing Dao
Sophomore Member

Boe Hydis LED UXGA HV150UX2-100 into T60 issues.

#1 Post by Qing Dao » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:59 am

I bought a 15" XGA T60 last year but it has mostly been collecting dust while I use my T500 and X61. A few weeks ago I ordered one of these UXGA LED screens just to try it out. I know it was a lot of money and there were modifications needed, but I figured why not? I modified the inverter to connect to the LED backlight and I soldered on a reversed connector to the panel. I was super careful and checked and double checked everything with my multimeter and macro photos. I'm not a professional solderer by any means, but I think I did a good job and it all seemed to check out perfectly.

The backlight worked perfectly fine, but the picture on the screen was messed up. It looks like the resolution is stuck on 1024x768. Windows could not identify the monitor and let me increase the resolution. Another problem which is worse, is that the image is displayed twice, one on top of the other, both being squashed vertically / stretched horizontally. The top image shows the full 768 pixel height, but the bottom image has the bottom third cut off. In addition, sometimes the colors go crazy to the point of not being able to identify what is on the screen. I wish I could take a picture to show what it looks like but my camera's battery died last night and I can't find the charger. If I swap the panel with the original XGA, everything works perfectly fine (no backlight, but it looks fine with my flashlight).