Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
jiopsi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Salo, Finland

T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#1 Post by jiopsi » Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:55 pm

Has anyone tried if SATA SSD works fine with T40, T41 or T42 and with SATA->IDE caddy? Max. r/w would be capped ofcourse to ~100MBps (IDE100) but that's fine, is there anything else that could be a problem?

My setup would be, T40 with IBM branded Sata->IDE bridge caddy and A-data XPG 32GB SATAII 2.5" 170/100MBps SSD.
T40 -> T40 -> T40 -> T41 -> X40 -> X41 -> T40 -> X60 -> X30 -> R40 -> T61

jiopsi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Salo, Finland

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#2 Post by jiopsi » Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:50 am

Nobody tried?
T40 -> T40 -> T40 -> T41 -> X40 -> X41 -> T40 -> X60 -> X30 -> R40 -> T61

lophiomys
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:50 am
Location: Austria, EU

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#3 Post by lophiomys » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:44 pm

Looking at the 1.8" Intel X18-M I have tried to find an IDE 44-pin adapter,
but couldn't find one.
I've contacted several manufacturers about this and did not get any positive answer.

Some links to what I was looking so far:
http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/2sahadrtoide.html .... so we see its possible but too big for the 2.5" pata laptop slot
http://en.esskabel.de/adapter/datasheet ... 25-case/77 ... that would be it, but has the wrong (zif) plug inside
http://www.raidsonic.de/en/pages/produc ... ectID=5409 ... again, but CF inside

the problem so far is, getting the sata-ide bridge inside the PATA slot
an option would be to take the smaller 1.8" SSD and build the sata-ide bridge around it,
the other option would be to buy a Transcen/SuperTalent/Mtron SSD with PATA interface.

I personally would stronly prefer the Intel SATA SSDs X18/X25 because those combine the best energy efficency
with best performance (especially IPOS), whereby offering at least 80GB.

Maybe you could also send a candiate manufacturer of your joice an email,
so that they know that there would actually be a market worth producing for.

The very last option for me would be that Lenovo would build an
T62p or X300 or T400 or T500 with an IPS/Flexview LCD in 4:3 format,
comprising a classic keyboard without Windows keys,
non sticking out long lasting battery and
no audio jacks at the front.
SCNR :P
Lophiomys
Thinkpads with 15inch 4:3 UXGA 133DPI IPS/Flexview: 2x T43p SATA Mod., 3x T42p (dying by Flexing), 2x T60p (1xATI, 1xIntel/new BoeHydis);
R51 SXGA+; X31; X41T; X41 Sata Mod; all Made in China; 570E, 701C; MBP15c3UB non-glossy mid09 / formerly 600X, 760E

aaa
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:36 pm

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#4 Post by aaa » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:47 pm

I think he's talking about the far simpler Ultrabay solution, which should work easily. There is a post or two where people used the SATA Ultrabay HD caddy with T42 and before, I believe there is just some piece of plastic sticking out that has to be removed for it to fit.

lophiomys
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:50 am
Location: Austria, EU

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#5 Post by lophiomys » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:53 pm

ooops. caught too much in my own thoughts.
Lophiomys
Thinkpads with 15inch 4:3 UXGA 133DPI IPS/Flexview: 2x T43p SATA Mod., 3x T42p (dying by Flexing), 2x T60p (1xATI, 1xIntel/new BoeHydis);
R51 SXGA+; X31; X41T; X41 Sata Mod; all Made in China; 570E, 701C; MBP15c3UB non-glossy mid09 / formerly 600X, 760E

jiopsi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Salo, Finland

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#6 Post by jiopsi » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:37 pm

Yeah, I was talking about the Ultrabay solution, I have IBM branded caddy. And the question was more like, is there somekind of issues, with SATA->IDE bridge and SSD, like corrupting etc.

I don't really need cutting edge SSD or big capacity (about 8GB is fine). Just would like to get rid of my 22MBps and super noisy 40GN drive. =D And batterylife also wouldn't hurt.
T40 -> T40 -> T40 -> T41 -> X40 -> X41 -> T40 -> X60 -> X30 -> R40 -> T61

Binh
Sophomore Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:49 am
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam.

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#7 Post by Binh » Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:52 pm

I am interesting in this question too. I have a SATA caddy (Chinese OEM) and it works fine with SATA harddrive in my T41, T42p. And I am wondering if there is any problem to set SSD drive in it.
Compaq 386SX > AST 486SX-25 > TP 390E > Compaq N410C > T41 2373-9U5 > T42p 2378-RVU UXGA 1.7@2.45GHz > T60p UXGA modded to T61 8889-ACG with T8300 OCed to 3.2Ghz@1.20V, undervolted to 1.6Ghz@0.775v, Nvidia NVS-140M undervolted to 0.9v, PCI-E ASPM enabled, 11W power in idle.

ninjaronin18
Sophomore Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:39 am
Location: Pullman, Washington

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#8 Post by ninjaronin18 » Sat May 01, 2010 1:58 am

Really interested in this question too. It sounds like I want to do the same thing as you. Put a SSD drive inside a t40. How would one do it using the ultrabay adapter option?
Lenovo/IBM T61p 6459-CTO
Intel C2D T9300 | Samsung 15.4" WSXGA+ | Quadro FX570m (256mb) | Crucial 4GB PC2-5300 DDR2-667 |WD Scorpio Blue 500 GB 5400 rpms | DVD/CD Recordable | Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG | Bluetooth | 6-cell | XP Pro 32-bit
Thinkcentre A51p
Thinkvision L220x

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#9 Post by sjthinkpader » Sat May 01, 2010 11:22 am

There is no reason why it would not work. The question is really why do you want to do that after spending $200+ on a SSD.

If you are interested in a SSD, then it may be time to update to a T60. You will get proper support for Windows7 and TRIM.
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

eyestrain
Sophomore Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Plano TX

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#10 Post by eyestrain » Sun May 02, 2010 11:38 pm

SSD can be had for under $100 sometimes. Even the Kingston SSDnow, I've seen as low as around $75 after rebate.

I can understand not wanting to move from T4x to T6x. I'm typing this from a T60p, with a pretty nice keyboard. But I prefer my R51, similar to a T42. The old Thai keyboard and mouse (trackpoint) are so much better, that it is just a better experience overall.

Someone who wants to keep their T4x might be happy to spend $100+ to upgrade it, even if a T60 could be had for less than that!


I'm using CF-IDE adapters in ultrabays in most of my thinkpads instead of hard drives. "Real" SSD are faster, will eventually get around to using them, at least in one or two computers.
Moved to Chrome OS, so... SK-8855 USB Keyboard

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#11 Post by sjthinkpader » Mon May 03, 2010 3:42 pm

That is if you don't need more that 30GB, Windows7 TRIM support and all the elements of a real SSD. Many of the SSDs with JMICRON controllers could be less than $100 but why would you want one? Just look at reports of stuttering, slow writes, early failures.
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

eyestrain
Sophomore Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Plano TX

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#12 Post by eyestrain » Mon May 03, 2010 8:42 pm

Kingston SSDnow is a rebranded Intel.

Also there was a good deal on an OCZ recently which people said had good performance, even without supporting Trim, or having the latest controller.

A quick search on Froogle shows "SSDnow" can be had under $150 easily in US for 64GB. With patience and effort, especially if willing to go smaller, then can be cheaper, without having to ever consider Jmicron.

I don't recall, but something like 16 or even 8 gb I think might be enough for a win7 os drive, if you have a second drive available for data and maybe apps. I go much smaller than that, but don't do 7 yet.

During install need 30gig available IIRC, but not to run.
Moved to Chrome OS, so... SK-8855 USB Keyboard

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#13 Post by sjthinkpader » Tue May 04, 2010 11:03 am

Only the intel G2, Kingston V+ and later Samsung SSDs support Windows 7 TRIM at this point. They are not being discounted yet. Without TRIM, the SSD will only get slower and slower as it gets filled up with dirty free space. (see Oct 17 post):
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=750

There is really no point in getting a fast SSD and waste it on a IDE-SATA bridge. A T60 is only a little over $200 now. For a T4x, a Transcend PATA SSD works fine (see Apr 15 post below) and they are generally available around $100 or so. I picked up my copy at $75 without rebate:
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 1&start=60
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

eyestrain
Sophomore Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Plano TX

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#14 Post by eyestrain » Fri May 14, 2010 10:04 am

Here's the kind of thing I'm talking about:

http://www.frys.com/product/6195949
Kingston part# SNV125-S2BD/30GB
SSDNow V Series Drive
***bundle includes: Acronis® True Image HD™ system cloning software, USB enclosure and cable. Desktop bundle includes Acronis® True Image HD™ system cloning software, mounting brackets and cables
Price: $ 99.99
After Rebate: $69.99
For 30gb that's $70+less than $10 shipping, after rebate, in U.S., and they even throw in a version of Acronis, and a USB enclosure. It's a desktop bundle, but it's a 2.5" drive, so you should be OK, but please check first. Maybe you just get extra unneeded parts to convert 2.5 to 3.5.

This drive was/maybe still is made by Intel, and had/probably still has good performance. (pls research before buying) I would guess, better than any existing Pata ssd, even if you put it through the bridge. And best of all, if you ever do decide to "upgrade" from your beloved and supposedly obsolete computer ;) you can take the SSD with you.

I haven't looked into the problem yet of degrading performance as a drive fills, but I'm sure there's workarounds, such as storing most data elsewhere, using compression, etc, so don't need to use much of the drive. There's even ways to avoid having to write to the drive often... but would be nice to not have to use too many tricks like that.

My setups are primitive CF and I just go to the extreme of avoiding writes on the main drive much as I can.
Moved to Chrome OS, so... SK-8855 USB Keyboard

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#15 Post by sjthinkpader » Fri May 14, 2010 11:36 am

SNV425 supports TRIM and not SNV125. 30GB is only enough for a browser machine today. That's why it is on sale.

Don't get me wrong. I have plenty of 32GB SSDs without TRIM support in use, but not in main machines. I think at least 64GB will be needed. That's what we buy in our new X200s' for the office.
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

jihe
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:01 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#16 Post by jihe » Tue Jun 29, 2010 1:10 am

sjthinkpader wrote:Only the intel G2, Kingston V+ and later Samsung SSDs support Windows 7 TRIM at this point. They are not being discounted yet. Without TRIM, the SSD will only get slower and slower as it gets filled up with dirty free space. (see Oct 17 post):
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=750

There is really no point in getting a fast SSD and waste it on a IDE-SATA bridge. A T60 is only a little over $200 now. For a T4x, a Transcend PATA SSD works fine (see Apr 15 post below) and they are generally available around $100 or so. I picked up my copy at $75 without rebate:
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 1&start=60
I thought the indilinx drives also has trim?
X200T enhanced multitouch, SL9400, 4Gb, Intel X25-M 160G

4ckatro
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:04 am
Location: London, sw20 England

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#17 Post by 4ckatro » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:08 am

Hi!
i want to buy an sata hdd to my T42. And i found this on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWAX:IT

Does it works with t42?
Cos someone write HDD adapter For ThinkPad T60 doesnt work with t42, but the seller write in the discription it will work.
So?

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#18 Post by lukee » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:47 am

4ckatro: I am not sure if this UltraBay adapter works in T42. Dimensions will fit, but T42s hasn't SATA controller as instead T43s machines has.
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16434
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#19 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:56 am

I'll check it out when I return home (in about 16 hrs or so), never occurred to me to test it in a T42...will keep you posted....
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: TBD

Work in progress: X60T, X200s, X201s

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

bob_pendleton
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:00 pm
Location: new york, ny

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#20 Post by bob_pendleton » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:26 pm

I doubt anyone is still looking to put an SSD drive into their old T40, but on the off chance that there's another person looking to do this, here's how I just put a new Kingston 90GB SSD drive in my T40. I'm amazed at how fast and responsive this old laptop is with this new drive.

First, I purchased one of these "Mini 7+15 Pin Female SATA HDD SSD TO 2.5" Male IDE Adapter Converter For laptop" for $5.99 off of ebay.

Next, in order for the Bios (I'm running the latest T40 Bios -- 3.23 from July 2007) and the Embedded Controler (I'm running the latest version 3.04 from November 2004) to see the SSD drive you will need to remove the jumper (there's only one) from the above adapter.

Finally, I needed to make a small modification to the IDE drive bay (HDD 0) for the SATA drive and the above adapter to fit in. This involved removing the keyboard and the mouse pad to gain better access to the PATA IDE bay, bending up (and off) the metal portion of the slot, removing the top most portion of the plastic track that's inside the drive bay (the portion of the track that would be right underneath to the four direction arrows that are on the keyboard), inserting the above SATA->IDE adapter into the slot while prying back (but not breaking!) the plastic portion of the slot, and then connecting my new SATA SSD to the other side of the adapter (I probably could've done this last step once the laptop was completely reassembled, but it was much easier to do while I still had full access to the entire IDE drive bay.

At the end of all of this I now have a brand new, very fast SSD drive that sticks out about 3/4" from the original IDE drive bay. This is due to the length of the SATA-->IDE mini adapter. The SATA drive is fairly snug in the slot so I'm not worried about it slipping out. That said, I still secured it with a few well placed strips of electrical tape.

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#21 Post by Raceboy » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:04 am

If you are not worried about warranty, you could open the SSD case and see if the PCB is smaller than whole 2.5" case. That way you can use SSD without case and have the drive not sticking out.
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

Johan
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#22 Post by Johan » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:36 am

Welcome to the forum, Bob!

... and thanks for this interesting report! :thumbs-UP:

If you wish to see how a SATA SSD can be mounted in e.g. a T40 or a T42, but entirely without having to modify anything (and this mounting hence so easy, that even your mother would be able to do it!), then I invite you to have a look in the sticky (at the top of this, the T4x forum) --> GUIDE: Make your T4x *FAST* by replacing the HDD with a SSD!! pointing to especially the threads 1.8" SATA to 2.5" IDE converter? and T42 SSD Conversion Success (1.8" SATA drive + bridge board).

Personally, I'd absolutely recommend using the eBay 1.8" microSATA to 44-pin 2.5” IDE adapter, discussed in the two above-mentioned threads (and note how insanely cheap this adapter is here!) and the --> tomatenfisch caddy... as this gives a both stable and easy solution for anyone who wants a FAST SSD in their PATA ThinkPad! You will find a (very!) detailled report about my own experience with this setup in this post.

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

bob_pendleton
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:00 pm
Location: new york, ny

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#23 Post by bob_pendleton » Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:45 pm

Johan,

Thank you very much for that incredibly detailed guide in how to install an SSD in a T4x. And that tomatenfisch caddy is absolutely the perfect solution for doing the upgrade with a 1.8" SSD drive. In my case, with this particular T40, I only had an inexpensive 2.5" SSD on hand, I didn't want to lose the CD burner in my Ultrabay, and I didn't want to spend the extra $ on the Ultrabay adapter. So I guess I'll stick with the workaround that I already have in place, even if it means having the SSD drive sticking out like an old PCMCIA wireless card :)

I actually have another T40 in storage with a dead hard drive. If the 1.8" SSDs come down in price I might just consider reviving it the proper way.

Thanks again.

GACrabill
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:26 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: T40 with SATA SSD and SATA->IDE bridge anyone?

#24 Post by GACrabill » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:51 pm

bob_pendleton wrote:I actually have another T40 in storage with a dead hard drive. If the 1.8" SSDs come down in price I might just consider reviving it the proper way.
Just don't try to use an Intel X18-M gen.2 or gen.3 .... they won't work reliably.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests