Ctrl-Break key

Edge series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
PeterL777
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:25 pm
Location: Sydney, AU

Ctrl-Break key

#1 Post by PeterL777 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:27 pm

Hi
I have just bought a E520, and love it.
But there's no Pause/Break key!
How do I do a Ctrl-Break? (Ctrl-C is not enough)
Thanks
Peter

BruisedQuasar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:12 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#2 Post by BruisedQuasar » Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:50 am

Good Luck Getting An Answer to That One. I reviewed this chicklet keyboard and the Edge and other Lenovo Small Business\Consumer
class laptops shipped with the Chicklet Keyboard. I considered the absence of the Pause key and the reversal of the decals on the F keys
a major design flaw in an otherwise superior chicklet keyboard.

Someone goofy at Lenovo decided some class of user doesn't need or care about the F keys or the Pause button. I sure am not one of them.
It reminds me of when the Japanese decided Americans do not care about the AM band 25 years ago, installing cheap AM in even expensive
audio units. They still do it.

Power users want F keys that are easy to spot and do not want to have to push a Fn key to activate them. And we want a pause key. I've
tried to find out if there is a key combo that gives us pause. I called support twice and posted the question here twice and on the Linux
Boards. The two changes are a serious issue to a power Linux user. So much can be done so much faster on a GNOME or KDE desktop
with an F key combo. Three key makes the key aproach useless and not having pause stops you from reading boot code as it flashes by.

The two changes makes me wonder if Lenovo intends the $600 to $800 models to be largely toys with a good tough typing keyboard. I
ended up using a 11.6" Acer 722 (with the AMD C-50 Processor) for online instead. If the keyboard was more solid I'd say this first
laptop replacement netbook is superior to the Lenovo consumer models. The Energy Star Acer never shuts down the display of
video over HDMI, weighs only 3pounds, has a better display, 8hour battery use. Get this. I paid $200 for it at Target!

Now, with my Edge so far I had to replace the keyboard and I had to have the recovery discs sent to me as the Lenovo automatic
recovery partition failed and the DIY recovery discs are missing the Windows 7 ISO file.

I will say this. Support was excellent in both cases. The discs were free of charge and they do return to drive to exact factory state, completed with
the recovery partition. I inspected the Acer DIY discs. Perfecto. I didn't think I would ever buy a computer from Acer but given Target's return
policy, I though I would try out the AO 722 & the new AMD Fusion processor. Excellent. I bought two more for the Grand kids.

Lets say they wear out a little after out of warranty? So what? A solid years use for $200, not bad in my book, compared to a $600 Lenovo
which has a ridiculous keyboard layout, shuts down display every 15 minutes when you HDMI video and I wore out a keyboard in 9 months.
If Walmart would have had the Acer for near $200, I'd pick up two more years excellent Walmart warranty for $20, a heck of a lot cheaper than
any Lenovo 1 year extended warranty and you just return to any Walmart store.

--Bruised

PeterL777
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:25 pm
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#3 Post by PeterL777 » Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:19 am

The Fn key is solvable - in the BIOS you can swap them. But I can't see anything there for the Pause/Break key.
Scroll lock is actually there, but there's no label on the key - I found it by accident (it's Fn-C).
I've hunted for Pause/Break, to no avail.
Anyone?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6619
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#4 Post by dr_st » Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:11 am

BruisedQuasar wrote:Someone goofy at Lenovo decided some class of user doesn't need or care about the F keys or the Pause button.
Someone likes to rant and not to read posts of others, in which he was pointed out multiple times to the obvious solution to the F key problem (BIOS setting). :roll:

As far as the Pause key goes...

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Thinkpad+Edge+Pause+key
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

PeterL777
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:25 pm
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#5 Post by PeterL777 » Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:13 am

Do you have any light to shed on the Pause/Break key issue?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6619
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#6 Post by dr_st » Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:20 am

Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

SkyMage
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:26 pm
Location: jacksonville, FL

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#7 Post by SkyMage » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:33 pm

If no one else is going to answer this, I will, lol.

Fn + P = pause. (tested, works.)
Fn + CTRL + P = break. (didn't test this one.)

JoeFen
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:07 pm
Location: Newmarket, ON, Canada

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#8 Post by JoeFen » Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:10 pm

My thinkpad uses
Fn+ALt+B

ewolfoz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:51 pm
Location: Brisbane , Ausltralia

Re: Ctrl-Break key

#9 Post by ewolfoz » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:54 pm

Actually FN + B or FN + CTL B or FN ALT B all work

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Edge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests