Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

eComStation on T60?

OS/2 on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
propellen
Sophomore Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:50 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

eComStation on T60?

#1 Post by propellen » Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:02 pm

Hi,

I'm really curious on eComStation.
What is its advantages over Windows XP?
And will it run flawless on my thinkpad T60?
Is eComStation opensource, or do you have to purchase it?


:D
Thanks.
propellen
LENOVO THINKPAD T60 C2D/T5600-1.83G 320GB 2GB 14IN SXGA+ 7 ULTIMATE (UT0FUNO)
TPFanControl

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Infor on eCS

#2 Post by BigWarpGuy » Sat May 05, 2007 9:25 am

eComStation is an updated version of OS/2 Warp by IBM. eCS is uses the kernel from OS/2. http://www.ecomstation.com eCS is to OS/2 what Win95 is to Win3.1. There is a 2.0 coming that is more comparable to WinXP.

eCS is also more secure than Win. Most vyrus writers and hackers like to go after Win since there are more users of it.

I have not tried running it on a T60 but there are places one can check. I use eCS 1.2r on my Thinkpad T23 and A22m without any problems. You can check the forum at http://www.os2world.com .

eCS is not open source. One has to pay for it. I think it is a very competitive price. There is an effort to clone OS/2. http://www.osfree.org http://voyager.netlabs.org http://www.os2ecs.org/k42

I hope this helps. I also use eCS on my desktop since it is (usually) more secure than Win. 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Ted_E
Freshman Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Re: eComStation on T60?

#3 Post by Ted_E » Tue May 08, 2007 7:01 pm

[quote="propellen"]Hi,

I'm really curious on eComStation.
What is its advantages over Windows XP?
And will it run flawless on my thinkpad T60?
Is eComStation opensource, or do you have to purchase it?

I have just purchased a refurb T60 and expect it within a day or two. I plan to image and then nuke the XP and instal W2000 and eCS 1.2R.

Currently I'm running on a T23 and have two or three apps that (so far) require windows. Everything else, I do from eCS.

When I get my T60 up and running, I'll report back.

Ted
Ted E in Canada
T60, 2GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 250GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner does DL, eCS 2.0 GA
very occasionally XP

T23, 1.2GHz, 512MB RAM, 40GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner, eCS 1.2R
very occasionally W2K

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Dual Boot Win and eCS

#4 Post by BigWarpGuy » Sun May 13, 2007 5:59 pm

There is a part of the forum at http://www.os2world.com (was but it might not be there anymore since they upgraded) about using AirBoot to dual boot eCS and Windows. 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

More Help

#5 Post by BigWarpGuy » Fri May 18, 2007 6:12 pm

"
Hi

I think the answer is varying degrees of Yes, it can be done.

There is a thread about this: news.ecomstation.nl/ecomstation.support.install/T60

Hope the above is of help.

Pete
"
Copied from the forum at http://www.os2world.com (much improved site). 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

khaverblad
Freshman Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 3:46 pm
Location: Malmoe, Sweden
Contact:

Re: eComStation on T60?

#6 Post by khaverblad » Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:11 am

propellen wrote: I'm really curious on eComStation.
1. What is its advantages over Windows XP?
2. And will it run flawless on my thinkpad T60?
3. Is eComStation opensource, or do you have to purchase it?
Here is some quick answers on your 3 questions regarding the T60 and ecomstation:

1. Well, you have less software overhead since WinXP uses way more memory; depending on the configuration Windows XP will eat around 90-130mb where OS2/eCS eats around 15-25mb. Then it also is about what do you plan to use the ThinkPad for; are we talking office use and using webtools and Open Office or SmartSuite you'll be able to to do what you do today with XP.

2. No it won't run flawless out of the box when speaking of version 2.0 RC1 that I've tested to install on a T60 (2007-FRG). Graphics will run really great when using the Panorama vesa drivers instead of what currently is included in the 2.0 RC1. As far as I understand when talking to the people involved in the development the Panorama will be included in the final release. Wireless should work flawless in the next RC of eCS. The curreny version didn't include the latest wrapper drivers for the Intel cards (they are available so it's for the moment just a matter of updating yourself). Audio will not work flawless for the moment since there is no MMOS2 drivers available for the Intel SoundMax; having said that there is a driver available but it will only support one single application and that is WarpVision (that plays mp3, divx and dvd, etc).

3. No eComstation is not opensource and for the moment I think that the price tag is a bit high to attract new users since the price is around 200 euro + VAT. If you have an old version of Warp 3/4 you're able to upgrade for 120 euro. I would say that the price needs to drop down to around 100 USD to really get some interest for people to look for an alternativ OS.
Kim Haverblad
Malmö, Skåne, Sweden
http://kim.haverblad.se

Ted_E
Freshman Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Re: eComStation on T60?

#7 Post by Ted_E » Sun Aug 26, 2007 1:57 pm

khaverblad wrote:
propellen wrote: I'm really curious on eComStation.
1. What is its advantages over Windows XP?
2. And will it run flawless on my thinkpad T60?
3. Is eComStation opensource, or do you have to purchase it?
Here is some quick answers on your 3 questions regarding the T60 and ecomstation:
[snip]
Let me mention a few more things:
eCS (and OS/2 ) is a multi-threaded system. i.e. You can run more than one program at a time. I mean run no merely have open. I have, on occasion, had seven programs open, five of which were actually executing. While that is unusual, it can be handy at times. Any time I've tried running more than one at a time in Windows (W2000 pro or XP), it has crashed.

In the 10 years I have been using OS/2 and, subsequently, eCS I have only once had a crash so severe that it was necessary to "reload" the operating system. (The crash was caused by me doing something stupid after a bad piece of software hung.) However the "reload" consisted of formatting my boot drive and un-zipping my most recent backup to it. I was back up in about 15 minutes with no loss of data or software.

I currently have APL2, ZTree and SeaMonkey started and mem shows 1.3GB free of my 1.5GB total. I tried the Windows XP mem on a fresh boot and it claims there is only 610MB free. I have no idea what it is doing with the rest.

There is much else I could say but suffice it to say that after 10 years I am running the test version of eCS 2.0 and have only three applications for which I am (so far) forced to use windows.

Ted
Ted E in Canada
T60, 2GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 250GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner does DL, eCS 2.0 GA
very occasionally XP

T23, 1.2GHz, 512MB RAM, 40GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner, eCS 1.2R
very occasionally W2K

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Hoping on eCS 2.0

#8 Post by BigWarpGuy » Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:52 pm

I am hoping it won't be too long before eCS 2.0 comes out. If waiting means a better os, I can wait. 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Ted_E
Freshman Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Hoping on eCS 2.0

#9 Post by Ted_E » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:26 pm

BigWarpGuy wrote:I am hoping it won't be too long before eCS 2.0 comes out. If waiting means a better os, I can wait. 8)
Release Candidate 2 is out and is pretty impressive. I am running almost all of my apps on it now.

Ted
Ted E in Canada
T60, 2GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 250GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner does DL, eCS 2.0 GA
very occasionally XP

T23, 1.2GHz, 512MB RAM, 40GB HD, IBM CD/DVD Multi Burner, eCS 1.2R
very occasionally W2K

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Not software subcritption?

#10 Post by BigWarpGuy » Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:21 pm

I do not have a software subscription. eCS 2.0 has not - IIRC - been officially released yet. I am waiting for the 2.0 that I can buy without having to have a software subscription. 8)
h[url]ttp://www.ecomstation.com[/url] 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “OS/2 Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest