Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

X1/X1-Carbon series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
dwilsonfl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Location: Valparaiso, FL
Contact:

Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#1 Post by dwilsonfl » Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:56 pm

I have a few ancient Thinkpads that kind of work for what I need, but they are old (T60, X60) and I need to upgrade and simplify. But my budget is $300 so I was looking at the 1st Gen X1 Carbon. I found one that looks good but it has no HD and I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker. Just went through that with an HP and it was a pain. Microsoft said it was HP and HP said buy the disks again. Spending money on old laptops is what I was trying to avoid.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,

David

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:38 pm

I don't know about X1C - someone else who actually owns one is likely to chime in - but newer ThinkPads such as *10/20/30 series have a COA in the battery bay.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18077
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:05 am

I have such an X1C1 (1st Gen).
SSDs for that machine are hard to find AND very expensive.
However, I reported about an alternative here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 63#p789463 which forum member cfds installed.
The alternative is quite a bit cheaper!
Beware when you buy this machine, it has all its RAM soldered!
It is only available with 4GB or 8GB, so look for the 8GB, unless you go Linux.
Apart from that, it's a very nice machine.

As for Windows, mine came with a BIOS-built-in W8-key, but I installed W7-Pro 64-bit and activated that with a W7-COA from an X301.
I have installed Slic2.1 in that X301-BIOS, so it does not need that COA.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4496
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#4 Post by ZaZ » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:51 am

dwilsonfl wrote:I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker.
If it came with Windows 7 it should have a COA sticker, but Windows 8 and up have the key coded into the BIOS. Machines with pro versions of Windows 8 and 10 will have downgrade rights, though they don't make it easy.
ProBook 470 G3

cfds
Freshman Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Les Vosges, France

Re: Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#5 Post by cfds » Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:50 pm

ZaZ wrote:
dwilsonfl wrote:I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker.
If it came with Windows 7 it should have a COA sticker, but Windows 8 and up have the key coded into the BIOS. Machines with pro versions of Windows 8 and 10 will have downgrade rights, though they don't make it easy.
Confirmed, mine came with Win7 Pro 64 bit and has the COA sticker in the bottom...very happy with my X1C 1st gen except for the battery life, that could be better!
X1C-1, i5 3427U 1.8GHz, 8GB, Samsung mSATA 240GB SSD, Win 7 Pro 64bit
X1C-1, i7 3667U 2.0GHz, 8GB, Sandisk mSATA 240GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit
X220, i5 2520M 2.5GHz, 6GB, Crutial mSATA 120GB SSD & Samsung 256GB SSD
T420, i5 2520M 2.5GHz, 8GB, mSATA 256GB SSD + 500GB HDD

dwilsonfl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Location: Valparaiso, FL
Contact:

Re: Looking at buying a 1st Gen - but has no HD - COA problems?

#6 Post by dwilsonfl » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:23 pm

K, so I'll look for an 8 gb of RAM model

Thanks
Vocavit autem servirent

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1/X1-Carbon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests