Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Simba
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:50 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#1 Post by Simba » Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:04 pm

Hello there,

I need some assistance in deciding which cpu chip I can upgrade to. I presently have a Thinkpad T60 2623-D6U with a Intel Core Duo processor T2400 (1.83GHz) chip and ATI Radeon x1300 on motherboard. Here is my question: What is the fastest Intel chip that I can update my system to?

Will the Intel Core 2 Duo processor T7200 work with on my system?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Edit: Right now, I'm maxed out at 3 GB of RAM. If I upgrade to T7200, will I be able to install more RAM now that it's 64-bit? or does it depend on my motherboard?

lead_org
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#2 Post by lead_org » Sun Oct 30, 2011 4:02 am

the ram is set at 3 gigs regardless of CPU.

The T7200, T7400, T7600 are all compatible.
Current ThinkPad: T430u, T430s, X1 Carbon, X1, X230t, X220t, X230, X220, X201t, W520, W701ds, T500, T420 and many more

underclocker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4020
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Wash., D.C.

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#3 Post by underclocker » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:50 am

Two notes;

1) 4GB will be faster than 3GB by about 5%, since T60's use dual channel memory architecture --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-chan ... chitecture

The BIOS and some OS's will report 4GB, but as mentioned, only 3GB will be usable.

2) I've completed many T7200, T7400 and T7600 CPU upgrades. All are worthwhile upgrades from lower speed Core Duo processors. However, unless you are doing something truly CPU intensive, the performance between the three is basically indistinguishable. This is especially true if you add a SSD to the mix. A T7600 is perfect for "maxed out" bragging rights, but it's not really worth the current upgrade cost at more than double a T7200.

(In case you haven't already upgraded to an SSD, that should be your first upgrade, it will result in a greater performance increase than the other two combined.)
T510, i7-620m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 512GB Intel 545s SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T400s, C2D SP9400, Intel 4500MHD, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 14 i5-540m, Intel HD Graphics, HD, 8GB, 180GB Intel Pro 1500 SSD, Webcam, BT, red cover Music

Simba
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:50 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#4 Post by Simba » Sun Oct 30, 2011 7:46 am

Thanks for your suggestions. I'll plan on upgrading to SSD and T7200. :) I do wish I could install more RAM though.

ZaZ
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#5 Post by ZaZ » Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:44 pm

I went from a T2300 to a T7400 on my R60. Just doing normal stuff, I couldn't tell a difference. UC is quite correct that a SSD upgrade is much more likely to make a noticeable difference than doing the CPU.
ProBook 470 G5

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#6 Post by taichi » Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:56 pm

So it is worthwhile to upgrade from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo, irrespective of the three C2Duo models? I have a T60P 2623 DDU.

Is it a simple swap, or do you have to do a BIOS update?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21264
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:12 pm

Just swap.
Make sure to apply Arctic Silver 5 (AS5) properly.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#8 Post by taichi » Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:52 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:Just swap.
Make sure to apply Arctic Silver 5 (AS5) properly.
Worth the upgrade, RBS?

Johan
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#9 Post by Johan » Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:13 pm

Simba wrote:I presently have a Thinkpad T60 2623-D6U with a Intel Core Duo processor T2400 (1.83GHz) chip and ATI Radeon x1300 on motherboard. Here is my question: What is the fastest Intel chip that I can update my system to?

Will the Intel Core 2 Duo processor T7200 work with on my system?
I believe that you will need a Revision 3 motherboard to upgrade from your present Core Duo CPU to a Core 2 Duo CPU... see e.g. the threads Upgrade T60 Processor? (Pic) or Upgrade processor to Core 2 Duo or T60 Core Duo CPU Upgrade Question or T60 CPU upgrade - currently a T2300 CD, can a T5200 C2D work.

As to what actual real-life speed increase you may expect from upgrading from the T2400 to e.g. a T7200, see e.g. this post.

I will absolutely recommend upgrading your present slow mechanical HDD to a superfast SSD; see e.g. the thread Windows 7, 32-bit ATI X1400 driver - and especially this post - for a user report about the speed increase when upgrading to a SSD.

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21264
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#10 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Oct 30, 2011 5:44 pm

If you need to go 64-bit, then a T5500 or T5600 is already enough, otherwise the T7200. Any higher is not worth the money.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16861
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#11 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:08 pm

While I generally agree with the idea of a SSD upgrade, I'd also advise caution in the respect of backing your data more often than you'd do with a mechanical hard drive, and storing these backups *elsewhere*...

SSDs still have a significantly higher failure rate than conventional rotational drives.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

wackyD
Sophomore Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: Atlanta/Barnesville, GA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#12 Post by wackyD » Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:17 pm

I replaced a T2400 with a T5600 tonight.

Nice and easy - always nice to have a clean boot first time!

I doubt I will see much improvement, but I am sending this machine to the accountant for the mission group I help support in Honduras. I had the T5600 lying around and I wanted to ensure the CPU paste was in good shape before sending it out, so the swap just made sense.

Good luck!

Daniel
Daniel
T420 (4236-BR7) Win 10
X201 (3626-GQ1) Win 7
X301 (2774-CTO) Win 7

X200 (7458-WA2) Win 7 (needs to go)
X61 (7673-4NU) Win 7 (needs to go)
Parts pile of T60/T61

Easy Wind
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#13 Post by Easy Wind » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:12 am

if you have a 64bit operating system, then you can upgrade to 4gigs of RAM. Or at least Windows will recognize that you have 4 gigs in there.

Now as to performance boost you might see, that has already been explained and I just wanted to point it out that if you are running a 32 bit OS, then a 4GIG ram upgrade isn't going to do you any good as Windows will not see that extra memory, but a 64bit OS will (I learned from experience on that one).
T42 (type 2373)
T43 (type 2668) x2
T60 (type 2007)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21264
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#14 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:31 am

Don't start telling FUD please, this has already been discussed to death!
T60/R60/X60/Z61 can ONLY use between 3GB and ~3.25GB RAM out of 4GB, regardless of OS!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#15 Post by taichi » Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:51 am

ajkula66 wrote:...SSDs still have a significantly higher failure rate than conventional rotational drives.
Is there some hard evidence of that? I'm still using a conventional drive...a 500GB Scorpio Black, which is a great drive.

richk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#16 Post by richk » Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:32 pm

Everything I have read seems to indicate that SSDs are at least as reliable as traditional disks. It is still a good idea to backup whatever you are using

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#17 Post by taichi » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:09 pm

ajkula66 wrote:While I generally agree with the idea of a SSD upgrade, I'd also advise caution in the respect of backing your data more often than you'd do with a mechanical hard drive, and storing these backups *elsewhere*...

SSDs still have a significantly higher failure rate than conventional rotational drives.
Apropos of what you said, George:

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/storage/ssds- ... rives/1483

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16861
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#18 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:32 pm

Here's the way I look at SSD vs. HDD personally...

Do I own SSDs ? Yes.

Do I store anything valuable on them ? Absolutely not.

That being said, I'd encourage anyone looking into getting a SSD to do a *ton* of research on particular drive that they're interested in...

In most reviews that I've read, Intel was top-rated reliability-wise....

As always, YMMV.

My $0.02 only...
Last edited by ajkula66 on Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

ZaZ
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#19 Post by ZaZ » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:47 pm

I see SSD as good for boot drives. My desktops have small 40GB SSDs as boot drives. My X220i has the mSATA and my R60e uses only a SSD, but that's mainly an internet machine. They're too expensive unless you've a specific need for them. Platter based drives are good for storage where speed isn't as necessary. It's like Rich said, always have good back up. That's the key.
ProBook 470 G5

underclocker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4020
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Wash., D.C.

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#20 Post by underclocker » Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:09 am

richk wrote:It is still a good idea to backup whatever you are using.
Amen.

FYI, Intel has supposedly upped the reliabilty of their third generation (320 Series) drives. They have also upped the warranty to 5 years on all 320 Series drives, even those that sold when only a 3 year warranty was included. Whether it's marketing or not, at least your expensive SSD will be replaced for 5 years if it fails.
Direct from the Intel Newsroom wrote:Confident in the enhanced reliability features of its recently introduced third-generation solid-state drive (SSD), Intel announced it has extended its limited warranty for the Intel® SSD 320 Series from three years to five years. The extended warranty term will apply to all Intel SSD 320 Series drives, including those already purchased. Additional limitations apply to enterprise usage levels. See full warranty for details.
T510, i7-620m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 512GB Intel 545s SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T400s, C2D SP9400, Intel 4500MHD, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 14 i5-540m, Intel HD Graphics, HD, 8GB, 180GB Intel Pro 1500 SSD, Webcam, BT, red cover Music

HalliHallo
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:39 am
Location: Denmark, Aarhus

Re: Need advice on CPU upgrade for T60 2623-D6U

#21 Post by HalliHallo » Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:06 am

Hi there
Just did a similar upgrade from a t2500 to a t7200 and from a HDD to an SDD and from win xp to win 7.

I described my ventures here:
http://turbohjelm.blogspot.com/2011/10/ ... grade.html

I must say going from 3½ minutes startup to ½ minute startup is very nice!
I recommend it :-D (if you know what you're doing)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests